We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice time at the ranch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Death Valley
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Pool, AC and coooold beer in the middle of death valley... couldn't have been happier.
Beautiful scenery, great location, amazing pool
only complaint: 124f ... a tad hot :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gl0betr0ttinbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,672 - 2,676 of 5,559 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed here two nights in July. The reception was friendly and inviting. Our room was clean, spacious, inviting and far more homely than we'd been expecting. yes, of course it was too hot, even at night, to sit on those wonderful rocking chairs.....but, hey, this is Death Valley. Don''t go to Death Valley in July and August expecting to sit out at night on rocking chairs! after reading some reviews we thought that this would feel like a rip-off.....quite the opposite! It's a privilege to be able to stay in Death Valley....but to have such a nice hotel to stay in, too, makes it all the better. we would not hesitate to go again....and we are very picky!

Room Tip: We chose an upstairs room because we had read reviews that they were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cantrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I wasn’t expecting much of a place with ‘Ranch’ in the title, but this was actually pretty nice. I had a little bungalow/cabin and could’ve parked my car beside my room if some big lummox in a 4×4 hadn’t parked across both spaces. As it was, the car park was about 1 minute away, a walk I did twice and lost about 8 pounds both times due to the oppresive heat in DV. The bar, restaurants and shop seemed to be in good shape, I only tried the bar for food and had no complaints – the beer was cold and the barman was ho- wait. I was half expecting to be fleeced considering their location, but pricing on all fronts seemed reasonable to me. I didn’t really get to see much of the area, as it was too hot to move, never mind explore, but I’m lead to believe the pool is quite nice.

The room was a good size with a quiet aircon and a ceiling fan that did nothing really. Good shower and the frequently-used ice machine was just around the corner, but bring a flashlight. All in all, no complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psychokilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

one of the highlights of our honeymoon, we so wish we had stayed longer. checkin/out good and efficient. the rooms are quite basic but perfectly adequate (with facilities we could actually use, like a fridge, unlike our hotel in Las Vegas). good range of options for food and drink. swimming pool was good. LOVED IT!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PaulCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I spent two nights in a cabin style room at the Furnace Creek Ranch. As we were passing through the area and didn't want to rush it we decided to book in at the Ranch. Yes its hot, yes food etc is a little more expensive out there, what do you expect - its Death Valley!! Our cabin was spacious and we had plenty of water in the shower which we didn't expect. We also didn't expect the ranch to have a pool, which was very pleasant and refreshing after a day exploring. We ate dinner at the Corkscrew Saloon one night and at the 49er cafe the next, breakfast was the buffet. The food was pretty good considering where they are located. As an overseas visitor it was actually helpful to have the tip already included in the bill but as other reviewers have pointed out this doesn't allow for poor or unfriendly service. All in all, it was a comfortable stay in a very uncomfortable area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
32.5 km away
The Ranch at Death Valley
The Ranch at Death Valley
#6 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
321 reviews
27.2 km away
Panamint Springs Resort
Panamint Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
694 reviews
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,840 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Death Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Death Valley

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328 (Formerly Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort)
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: $319 - $769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Death Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis at Death, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Death Valley and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Death Valley. The Inn at Death Valley offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Death Valley has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Death Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Death Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing