We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Death Valley
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The title says it all, our room was dirty, dust and smelly (yes we did report it, no nothing could be done!! My daughter (inside our unit) got bitten by red ants and it took us an hour or so to get them all out of our unit. The only saving grace was the food at the tavern, mind you as I type this I remember the people we were travelling with left their (very expensive) sunglasses behind and went back to get them and they had disappeared. I know there's not much around but might be worth it to keep driving.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,697 - 1,701 of 5,558 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

I stayed here for 1 night during a trip through Death Valley with my wife. It is a great location for venturing to the main sites Badwater, Zabriskie Point etc.. The resort offers excellent amenities considering the location. The rooms were basic but clean and served the purposes for exploring the local area.

We ate in the bar during our stay, the food was good quality and the cold beer were reasonably priced.

Well worth a visit and a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulW1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the Inn on our way through Death Valley from Vegas to Yosemite and were very pleased. The accommodation is comfortable and the staff very pleasant. We were only there for one night so didn't get the chance to try out the pool, but it looked great and probably very welcome in the intense desert heat!

Ate at the buffet restaurant where there was a great selection of meats along with salads, bread rolls, potatoes and the like. I would avoid the burgers and hot dogs, but all the other stuff was great. Not desperately expensive, which is welcome as you are pretty much captive.

Ranch a couple of minutes down the road has a few more facilities, which is useful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel (the Ranch) is in a fantastic location right in the middle of the amazing sights of Death Valley. The Death Valley Visitors Centre is two minutes drive away and all the sights are within easy reach.

We were due to stay in a cabin but were upgraded to a better room (905), the upgraded room was still fairly basic with two double beds, private bathroom and patio, also air conditioning, fridge, coffee maker and free wifi (two units only). The inefficient shower unit and the electrics all looked old.

There was a swimming pool (quite large but packed when we used it in the late afternoon) and there unfortunately were insufficient sunbeds available.

A number of options for food, best value was the café, there was a packed sports bar and then there was a buffet (expensive).

Summary:
Great location (very little choice elsewhere), but basic accommodation (one might say tired) that is very expensive for what it is. Use this hotel to stay one night in and break up a journey.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markwoodcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Everything you need on one site. Bar, cafe, restaurant, pool and launderette. Rooms were really nice. however there was no way of having the air-conditioning on in the room without it sounding like there was a transporter plane taking off. so we had to make the choice between boiling alive or sleeping. we opted for lack of sleep.

The bar staff were really nice and friendly. bar food was reasonably priced. beer was a little pricy though, but welcome in the 110 deg heat of the night.

Checking in was frustrating. 4 reception desks but only 2 operating with a reception area FULL of guests wanting to check in. Made more frustrating by seeing staff wandering around behind the desk rather than opening another desk and helping guests check in faster.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
32.5 km away
The Ranch at Death Valley
The Ranch at Death Valley
#6 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
317 reviews
27.2 km away
Panamint Springs Resort
Panamint Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
694 reviews
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,838 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Death Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Death Valley

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328 (Formerly Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort)
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: $256 - $766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Death Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis at Death, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Death Valley and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Death Valley. The Inn at Death Valley offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Death Valley has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Death Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Death Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing