We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Nearby Hotels
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$271
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$314/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$336/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$174
US$169
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (2,362)
Filter reviews
2,362 results
Traveller rating
823
867
440
156
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
823
867
440
156
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswestern cabinpioneer cabindining roomporter servicebright angel pointin advancegrand canyonrocking chairssun roomjacob lakegas fireplacethese cabinsdouble bedfront porchmain restaurantdinner reservationsyour luggage
Filter
Updating list...
1,809 - 1,814 of 2,362 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2010

we booked a western cabin already 5months in advance, because in summertime this place is always fully booked. travelers from all over the world come here to enjoy this unique, historic place built directly on the edge. in the main building one can breathe the charm and history of the railway era of the 30's. a lunch or a dinner at daylight at a window table with direct view on the canyon is a once in a lifetime experience and not to be missed. the walking trails and view points nearby are beautiful. bright angel point is a 10min walk. however due to its elevation of approx 8500ft one may get tired fast and walks may take longer than anticipated. bring lots of water and good shoes. furthermore the elevation may get you hungry little faster than usual. when staying for the night don't forget to stock up essentials at the town you stayed the night before! the cabins are expensive, but seen its location worth every penny. with two rocking chairs on a little terrace, two queen beds, a chair, a table and a small bath the cabins have not much to offer. the tv, refrigerator, microwave and other electronic devices must be left out on purpose to retain the charm of the early days without a swimming pool. one can find a little snackbar on the grounds, but the food is poor. bring your own. overall not a cheap night for the budget minded ( cabin + lunch + drink = usd.250 ) but an experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griswolds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

When reading a review of the "lodge" at the North Rim, you need to be careful to note the kind of accommodation reviewed. Some types are nicer than others.

We stayed in a frontier cabin. It's a small, ill-lit log cabin build in the 1920s. If you understand that's what you're getting, you won't be disappointed when you arrive. You're at the North Rim for the view, not the accommodations. There's no air conditioning. You have to keep the windows open for cooling, which would be O.K. if there weren't dozens of cabins all in close proximity. The cabins are duplexes; you can hear the folks in the other side. The beds are old, small, and uncomfortable. The cleaning staff seems inexperienced. Our coffee pot was still dirty from the previous guests.

But after a five-minute walk, you can be viewing some of the most beautiful scenery in the world. You don't want to spend time in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iambic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

we had a western rim view cabin.....and the view was outstanding. we could look out our window into the canyon. two rocking chairs on the front porch where we could sit in our rocking chairs gaze into the canyon. only sign of other people were the ones going down the trail but they were quite aways lower. room was of ample size with two very comfortable queen size beds. Nice bathroom and with bath and shower.
. i started calling about 3 weeks in advance of our trip and at first we had two motel rooms. (my husband and i were traveling with our daughter and grand daugher/ i was told to keep calling back for different cabins. after a couple of calls were we able to reserve two frontier cabins, but i kept calling for a western cabin and 3 days before our reservation we were able to reserve a rim view cabin and i was elated but even happier when i saw our cabin #306. after scoping out the rest of the rim view cabins we decided this had to be the best view. our daughter stayed in a frontier cabin, which was smaller and in amongst a lot of other cabins but they had no complaints.
we ate in the dining room . Both for dinner and breakfast we were seated by the window. a WOW view. we had reservations for dinner but not for breakfast.
Found the food to be fairly expensive ( not outrageous) but quite good for such a remote place. no complaints at all about the service. i would certainly choose to do the dining room if i visited again.
i would highly recommend calling and calling for cabins. it really paid off for us. i would not want to stay anywhere else when visiting the north rim.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank louise145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

A New Yorker such as myself does not understand why my mother would uproot us from a comfy suite at the Mirage Hotel in Las Vegas to be plopped at this how can say it nicely...dump. This place is a haven for the hippy, nature enthusiast, and european tourists who don’t know any better. However if you answered ‘no’ to all of the above I highly recommend skipping this place, hell even sleeping in your car is better than those paper-thin log cabins!
Listen, I’m a proud member of the 21st century so the fact that this place offers no TV, wifi, air conditioning, or more than one outlet per-room already should tell you the feel this place is trying to strive for (aka we’re too lazy to update this 1920’s time capsule but since we’re the only hotel in town you have to deal with it!). If this hasn’t scared you, there is of course the complimentary smell of sewage and mildew thats accumulated around the grounds.
The only reason this place place hasn’t been bulldozed to the ground is the location. Yes the views are very nice, but you could easily make a day-trip out of this place it's not like the staff are willing to guide you through the numerous tours anyway. A word for the wise, if you want to play Little House on the Prairie buy yourself some lincoln logs or camp in your backyard at least you’ll be guaranteed the basic amenities of a clean bathroom and cob webbed free rooms.
P.S. BEWARE OF THE ROLL-AWAY COTS. Every morning they are wheeled out of the rooms and left in front of a out door shed for at least 5 hours. Good only knows what type of critters your darling children will be infested with after a night in one of them.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tksmith92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My spouse, two teen sons and I visited the Grand Canyon National Park--North Rim in early August. The Grand Canyon Lodge provides the only lodging within the park's north rim and affords four types of rooms: Western Cabins, Frontier Cabins, Pioneer Cabins and motel rooms. The main lodge building, which sits perched on the canyon's rim, doesn't contain any guest rooms. It houses a dining room, lecture room, an enclosed canyon viewing room (think of a living room with comfy leather couches and the world's most spectacular views) and terraces with similarly arresting views. Branching off the main lodge are wings that contain a saloon/coffee house, gift shop and deli. Although a handful of Western Cabins have rim views, the majority of cabins and the motel building are scattered under Ponderosa pines between the main lodge building and the parking lot.

According to guide books, the Western Cabins are the roomiest of the options, and we booked one about 7 months before our trip. Our Western Cabin had two queen beds in the main room, a small bathroom and a tiny "dressing room," which served as a closet, storage area and contained a small fridge. The cabin was pretty sparse but did have a nice electric fireplace that we used every evening, good mattresses and bed linens and surprising nice toiletries. The cabin had air-conditioning, but we didn't use it because the nightime temperatures dipped into the low 50s (even though it was 108 degrees in Las Vegas at the same time).

The cabins are not free standing, but rather two or four Western Cabins constitute a single building. Our cabin shared a connecting door with one other cabin. Unfortunately, the connecting door was not very substantial, and also unfortunately our connecting neighbors weren't a nice quiet senior couple, but rather a boisterous family with young children who weren't on Pacific time. It was noisy.

We ate all of our meals in the dining room of the main lodge building and were pleased with the service and food. We had made our dinner reservations in May when the Lodge opened for the season and opted to eat when the restaurant opened for dinner at 4:45 pm and therefore were guaranteed a table along the window with canyon views. Without dinner reservations, the earliest available seating was 9:00 pm. Reservations weren't required for breakfast or lunch. The servers were from across the country and, although not the most polished wait staff, were friendly and helpful. The food was not as spectacular as the views but better than the accomodations.

Park rangers gave interesting lectures at both the camp grounds and the lodge. Our boys enjoyed lectures on the canyon's geology, bats and the indiginous people who had lived in the area. The ranger in the visitor center also assisted us in putting together a game plan for a morning drive to the north rim's Walhalla plateau.

We enjoyed three easy walks/hikes right at the Lodge: the Bright Angel Trail out to Bright Angel Point, the Transept Trail and the Bridle Trail. The Transept Trail afforded us some great private views of the sunset. Although you can't see the Colorado River from any overlook or trail at the Grand Canyon Lodge, you can see the river and some other magnificent vistas if you are willing to driving 40 minutes from the Lodge along the Walhalla Plateau, which is also on the north rim.

I can't imagine visiting the north rim without driving down the Walhalla Plateau to the Cape Royal. The views from Cape Royal Point and Angel's Window are breathtaking. We also really enjoyed the Cliff Springs Trail on the plateau which takes you into a forested ravine and under a cliff overhang. It doesn't have the sweeping vistas you expect at the Grand Canyon, but rather provides a more intimate woodsy experience. It was a nice contrast. The most amazing thing about our time on the Walhalla Plateau is that we shared our morning with at most 20 other people. We experienced most of the overlooks and hikes with no other people; it was just us and the canyon.

The Grand Canyon Lodge shouldn't be evaluated as a resort or a hotel. It's a lodge in one of the Earth's greatest natural wonders. It's all about location, and this location can't be beat.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank missprism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews