We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,518)
Filter reviews
2,518 results
Traveller rating
887
927
457
165
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
887
927
457
165
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews western cabin pioneer cabin dining room porter service bright angel point in advance grand canyon rocking chairs sun room jacob lake gas fireplace these cabins double bed front porch main restaurant dinner reservations your luggage
Filter
Updating list...
1,924 - 1,929 of 2,518 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed three nights in the cabins at the North Rim in mid-September. They were plenty large enough for the two of us with a huge bathroom with a walk-in shower. We loved that we had a fireplace and used it every night. Our only complaint is that our cabin was located near the shed that the cleaning staff used so they were noisy in the morning. Parking is not as close as it was to the cabins at Bryce, but other than that they were great. Again, these are rustic cabins, not for those who want to stay in hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Only 10% of those who visit the Grand Canyon, visit the North Rim. It is isolated, but worth the drive as the views, hiking and Lodge are worth the effort. The Lodge was beautiful, and words cannot describe the views. We checked the website daily as you normally have to book a year in advance. We got lucky and found a cancellation. The cabin was rustic, yet clean with modern amenities. (Not like any cabin I envisioned) We dined at the lodge which was wonderful. You have to remember, there is nothing else here. The next closest lodge is 15 miles away. It is remote, but breathtaking and I will go again. The mule ride is fun too! Hint to Hikers. Don't hike the same trail as the mules (just think about what you have to walk through! UGH!)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We booked the Pioneer cabin rim view for two nights. We were expecting rustic and that is what we got. The rim view was not really worth the extra money because there were so many trees in the way. the cabins were fine for two or three people, because they were two rooms with a shared 3/4 bath, but the rooms are really small. The bed was cozy, but a little too soft for me. We were in a cabin fairly close to the lodge, so we were lucky. However, the weather spoiled the stay for us, so I would have to say that the walk is a little long in the rain from the parking lot to the cabins. The power went out about an hour and a half into our stay, so after seventeen hours of no power, no heat, and no real food, we gave up and left. We would have to say that they are definitely not prepared to deal with an emergency. The generators did not work, so we had no heat or lights. Fortunately we brought flashlights and the fact that the room was meant for up to six people meant that we had extra blankets and we used all six of them. The had no idea what to do for food and were quite perplexed about the situation. Only after we questioned them about what we were going to do for food did they suggest the deli , who fortunately had soup, chili, and still had a few salads and sandwiches. .we never did get to taste the food in the dining room. I would suggest that if the weather looks bad, you might either cancel your plans or come very prepared for the worst after the experience that we had. We are good sports, but they were clearly overwhelmed by the situation, and the weather never got any better. So perhaps, guests beware. That said, we will try again and the views are absolutely spectacular.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpad108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We just finished a 3 week road trip from Utah to San Francisco, taking in 7 parks, and off all the parks, the Grand Canyon was probably the least impressive of them! That said it is impressive, but it's really all the same, we found anyway. But the lodge on the other hand was fabulous, and by far the best place we stayed when staying inside the parks. We had a Pioneer Rim view cabin for 2 nights, and it was cool, rustic, a real old cabin which I had hoped to get. The view was ok, it was close to the rim, but trees, bushes etc block some of the view. But you're only a 3 minute walk to the lodge anyway, which has incredible views.
The cabin was spacious for us, there was only two of us anyway, but I can see how it would be small for 4 people. It was basic enough, small ensuite shower area, again fine for us. Bed was fine too.
The lodge was fab though as I've said. The saloon bar great, and the bartender funny and good to chat with, and the stout really good!
The restaurant in the lodge was superb. A really grand kind of dinning room, but one where you could turn up fresh from a hike and eat, as long as you had a reservation. And the food was superb. I couldn't fault it, from the warm bread that makes it's way onto the table (I had seconds of that!) to the starters/mains/desert. It was gorgeous, and breakfast was as good!
We would stay here again just for the lodge and restaurant, even if we never ventured into the canyon!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irish_captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

It's 100+ miles from nowhere, so I wasn't expecting the Waldorf.

But the Pioneer Cabin was clean and spacious and quiet and rustic with some modern touches and I slept great. They have ultra water conserving faucets, but the shower water pressure was quite adequate, and not hard water. With the Pioneer Cabin you get two separate bedrooms (queen + bunk beds) and a bathroom occupying an entire cabin -- no shared walls with other people. That was extremely nice. I could watch Gilligan's Island DVDs on my laptop -- since there is no TV -- and not disturb the other guests. They do have an in-room phone. The cabin was not overpriced given the location.

The worst I can say is that the parking is not terribly convenient, across the road from the cabins and quite a walk if you're loaded down and not in shape and factoring in the altitude (almost 9000 feet). But they do have bellmen who can drive you and your luggage from your car to your cabin.

The lodge is a *GREAT* place to relax and enjoy the view, ahhhh that's great. Free wi-fi is available at the campground general store a short drive down the road -- woohoo!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tooluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews