We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
146
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubguest houseoutdoor bednational parkjoshua treequichecan't wait to go backthree nightsfantastic hostsprivate patiogourmet breakfasthigh desertliving roomfull kitchengranoladifferent wayslovely furnishings
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Oh, how we loved our stay at Sacred Sands. We booked the one bedroom in the guest house, for three of us, mid March. Owners warned us that three would be tight. It was: our teenage daughter had a slim but comfortable bed set up in the living room. There's so much to like about this place, especially after a full day hiking and exploring astonishing Joshua Tree landscape. (Sacred Sands is a 5 minute drive to park entrance.) Hot tub is hot and soothing. Outdoor bed a romantic wonder. Full kitchen, so we could cook dinner. Pebble floor in shower. Bedding, furnishings, art, lighting: tasteful, high quality, and just right for desert setting. We appreciated refrigerator stocked for breakfast: quiche, granola, fruit, coffee, half & half, muffins. Clean, ultra-comfortable, views. We travel a lot; highly recommend.

Room Tip: One bedroom is best for a couple.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annieurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We stayed in the studio during a very cold period in Feb. The room itself is nice, with a great view of hills and rocks, and the bed is very comfortable. However, the breakfast, left in the refrigerator, was underwhelming. Although the 2 muffins were delicious, the 8 slices of a quiche like substance were barely edible. We opted to go out the second morning rather than eat the same, not-very-good thing two days in a row. While I'm sure this was a fluke, the water went off when I was in the middle of a shower covered with soap! When I go to a place that is this expensive that is not in an expensive city, I expect things to be pretty perfect. I'm sure they can charge this much because of the access to Joshua Tree National Park, but I felt kind of ripped off.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank annewrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We discovered Sacred Sands on TripAdvisor and whilst it is expensive we decided to treat ourselves. This is a truly wonderful place in which to base a visit to Joshua Tree National Park and surroundings. Steve and Scott have established a veritable oasis in the desert and everything about this place exudes quality and style. We had the most enjoyable stay here and S&C's dining recommendations in the town itself also were good. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are sensational.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the guest house and it was truly one of the nicest places we've ever stayed. Everything was tasteful and comfortable and clean and inviting. The furnishings, the view, the quiet, the hosts were all impeccable. Pretty much everything we needed was provided including delicious breakfasts, coffee, well equipped kitchen, lovely furnishings - inside and out. We stayed three nights so we could hike in the park, which is one mile away. Recommended hikes are Barker Dam, Willow Hole, Ryan Mountain, and 49 Palms. Recommended restaurants are Joshua Tree Saloon (grass fed burgers) and Natural Sisters Cafe.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FatherMckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We stayed here at the end of May. We rented half of the guest house. It was phenomenal in every way. The decor is perfect; modern and comfortable. We hiked in Joshua Tree National Park every day and returned to enjoy beautiful sunsets from the patio. We cooked on the grill every night. We used the jacuzzi to relax before bed. The swing bed is the perfect spot to nap. We loved every minute of our stay and even added an extra night because we didn't want to leave. Steve & Scott are great guys and fantastic hosts! We can't wait to go back to Sacred Sands!

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank michwalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews