We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping in nature.......”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lodgepole Campground
Certificate of Excellence
redondo beach, california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Camping in nature.......”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Lodgepole is a wonderful place to camp. The sites are clean and large and can accommodate family's and couples alike. I stayed here for 6 nights and was busy every moment. The bear boxes are very large and we could fit 2 coolers, a dry food box, plus all personal items in it. Be warned 2 of the bathrooms were currently under construction and were closed. So no flush toliets close to camp. There seems to be construction all over,including the road up to the campsite. It takes about 1 hour to get to lodgepole from the parks s. Entrance. If you love the beauty of nature, this place is for you......

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank emk36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    39
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here in July 2011 with our 4 year old son with an RV. We had a beautiful spot along the river; best place on the whole campground we think. We saw 2 bears, deer, squirrel, visited the beautiful and not so busy (compared to Yosemite) National Park: great! Would definitely come again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SasPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My husband and I plus 4 friends stayed here for the weekend at site #102 and were very pleased with the location. We only had one neighbor and since our campsite sat lower than theirs, it felt like we had complete privacy. The river was across the road from us and, while some may prefer a site next to the water, we liked that we could see the river from our site without the louder sound of water rushing by. The bathrooms were also very close (without being TOO close) and parking was a short walk away. The tent pad fit one 6 person tent and the ground outside of the tent pad was flat enough to fit another 4 person tent. I'm not sure what the policy is on having tents outside of the designated tent pad, but a ranger came by to remind us to check-in and didn't say anything about the extra tent. The picnic bench, bear box, and fire pit are standard with each site. We also bought charcoal from the campground market (very convenient!) and after a long day of hiking to Pear Lake were happy to make use of the public showers (10 min for $3). There is also safe drinking water available within the campground, so we were able to refill the jugs we brought from home. A plus for any animal-lover is there is a lot of wildlife within the campground. We saw a mother bear with 2 cubs and my husband saw a couple of fawns. Apparently bears are very active here so we were very cautious with our food and toiletries. Anything scented was kept in the bear box.

We will definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Book months in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank leiko19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OC, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This campground is in a great location and has most of what you need for beginning campers. It's close to the Giant Forest (where you can find the General Sherman tree) and the Crystal Cave. They also have a marketplace on site in case you forget anything and large bear boxes. It's also home to a very nice and easy trail (Tokopah Falls) for families with little ones. Unfortunately, we didn't make it to the very end because a Momma bear and her little cubs stopped us short by deciding to take a trip along the trail too. There is so much beauty to take in nearby. A fork of the Kaweah river flows right through the campground. So you’ll hear the nice rush of the river. Keep in mind, there are bears around. So you have to be very cautious of how you store your food or any other scented items. They are very serious about this. You’ll have to also be careful in how you wash your dishes and dispose of food.

The campground site itself was okay (we stayed at 204 but wish we could have had spot 100). There wasn't a lot of shade in our site but they have planted new trees for visitors in the future to enjoy. The sites in most of the loops are quite a tight fit. You're awfully close to your neighbors (which can be fun if you have nice ones but not so fun when they're not courteous). The fire pits are nice and offer enough space to cook a meal on the grill and to have a nice campfire for s'mores later on. The bathrooms were especially close. This campground had two stops for the park's shuttles. They offer campfire stories in the evening on Thurs-Saturday at the Lodgepole Amphitheater. These are really neat. They do have showers near the marketplace if you need them.

The big drawback right now is the construction going on near the south entrance. There is a section where this is only one lane. So they have to stop traffic in either direction during certain times of the day. So you may get stuck on the side of the road for some time. So plan ahead.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank FamFromTheOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Very big and developed campground. Lots of water sources. Camp site we picked (#211) is nice, not too close to the woods and far away from the entrance. Highly recommended. Lots of people in the summer so have to book in early Spring.
Otherwise, an alternative will be book whatever available and move during the trip which our neighbor did. The site is a little bit small for a big tent but we had a small tent so it worked out fine. Some other sites are bigger.

Lots of trees and very cool during the day. No mosquito problem. Saw a deer walking around both days. Food had to be stored in the storage box (no bear seen but heard one guy saw a bear walking across the road).

At the visitor center, they have hot snack place, a deli and coin laundry and shower (long line after 5 so go there early, $3 for 10 mins, quarter machine outside so no need to bring that many quarters). The store has lots of stuff but very expensive.

Overall, a very pleasant stay, $20 a night, well worth and highly recommended. Bring enough jackets and blanket. Can get cold at night and early morning even in summer.

Room Tip: Book early (4+ months advance) if you are staying more than 1 night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Minami_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2.2 km away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,312 reviews
16.3 km away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
620 reviews
25.7 km away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
296 reviews
28.3 km away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
26.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodgepole Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgepole Campground

Property: Lodgepole Campground
Address: One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Region: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodgepole Campground has 214 sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lodgepole Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Lodgepole Campground Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing