We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cat Village Houtong”

Cat Village Houtong
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Full-Day Tour: Houtong Cycling and Jiufen
Ranked #10 of 528 things to do in Xinbei
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Cat Village Houtong”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My wife, daughter and I visited Houtong on 26 March 2013.
At 0745 hrs we took mrt from Zhongxiao Dunhua station to Nangang station and walked to TRA platform to catch TRA 4154 which arrive at 0836 hrs. You can use easycard or buy tickets at counters. This train is free seating. You must get in fast because it depart in 15 seconds. At 0919 hrs, we arrived at Houtong. Go up bridge to walk to front station where you will find a shop selling cat souveniers. Toilets is nearby. walk out of station front to shops and visitors centre. You will find many cute and friendly cats roaming around, sleeping on windows, walls, tables etc. We had a great time taking photos. We walked to the river, cross the bridge toward the temple to take more photo of scenery and flowers.
We walked back to station, up another old bridge to cat village on hill slope. New bridge will be ready soon with shelfs/ledges for cats to sleep. There are at least 1 - 2 cats outside each house.
Amazingly, paths and roads were very clean. I did not see any cat poops around.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    127
    83
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Interesting place.”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

The cat village is an interesting place. The cats are really tamed. Everything in this village features around cat.
The surrounding is peaceful and its a nice place to take photos.
I will recommend this place to those who have some time to spare. Please note that the train are not frequent so you need to plan your trip. The train schedule on Pingxi line can be obtained from Ruefang station.

Helpful?
4 Thank 10PiPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Must visit for cat lovers!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Cats lovers, drop by this station for 1-2 hours if you are on the Pingsi line. Little quiet villages with tame cats roaming freely around. Nearby the station, there are also some old style noodle stalls aside the cats. :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nnantasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
325 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Feline Utopia”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Imagine a town where cats are the celebrities and people from all over come to photograph them, feed them, play with them, and be photographed with them. Welcome to Houtong!
There are oodles of photo opportunities for cat lovers to catch their favorite feline in a domestic / natural setting.
Sunny days are obviously better than rainy ones, but cloudy days are good, too. Though it is quite touristy, this is kind of the best place in the world to be a cat, and I appreciate that. They are fun, friendly, and are the kings of the world in Houtong.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Asoupcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A cat lover's paradise”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This was our 2nd stop on the Pingxi Line after Jiufen. It is possible to take a train from Ruifang Station to Houtong Station since it is only a distance of one stop but we took the taxi since we did not want to wait for the train that comes about every hour or so. We read about the Cat Village from online blogs and news sources before coming there so we were quite curious to know about what it was all about.

Here, the Cat Village will definitely have more of a local feel and less tourist-like, as the cats have only starting to appear only in the last few years and therefore are less well-known compared to others such as Jiufen or Shifen. We got to see quite a couple of local photo enthusiasts taking pictures of the cats at the Cat VIllage.

It is easy to get to the Cat Village from the train station as it is just beside it. From the entrance, we got to see an orange Persian cat which was undoubtedly the superstar there as it had the lion's share of the visitors' attention. Of course, there are also so many other cats of different species which looked just so cute and lovely with round faces! The few dogs in the village seems to get along well with the many cats.

There's also a few stalls selling cat souvenirs that help to pay for the cats' food and upkeep. The villagers seem to have gotten used to the increased attention, and it was here that we managed to get a rare view of daily life in rural town areas. Overall, we spent around 1 to 2 hours at this place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
15 Thank Dickson90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cat Village Houtong also viewed

 

Been to Cat Village Houtong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing