We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in the bulbul garden.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Choosing east side of Mauritius You should be aware, that it is not a typical touristic area like north-west full of hotels, where everything is dedicated to tourists. On the east coast there are mostly fishermans houses and only few isolated resorts, kind of far from each other. Hotel Laguna hides itself in the beautiful, well- kept garden, full of birds mostly funny bulbuls. It is a place with amazing view. You can lay next to the pool, on the molo under umbrellas or on the small beach. If You like bigger beach one day before you make a reservation for a boat, which will at 1pm take you to the Ille aux Cerf, where you can stay till 4pm - this is for free (beware of "special price for you my friend" propositions... ) Every day in the week has a theme-menu so you can try mauritian food, chinese or hindu kitchen. Staff is very polite and helpful. Every day you see them working, fixing, cleaning something, becouse high humidity damages everything regulary. If you like to make a trip the best way is to take a hotel taxi. We recommend Mr Subiraj - heartfelt, organized and sincere man, who knows many interesting things about every place on the island. Evenings at the hotel there is a chance to listen really good voices during live music shows.

Room Tip: It is the best way to choose Deluxe rooms, which are bigger and located in seperate building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank CorFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017

We choose for a cheaper hotel to have money to explore the island with a rental car. Almost in everything you could see it wasn't a high class hotel. We stayed for 12 nights, which was almost to long. Few negative points:

- Tiles missing in the Swimming pool.
- Restaurant, not much variation in food, after 1 week you want to go somewhere else. Waiters are not on stand by to bring you to a table when you arrive, we had to wait quiet a few times to get something to drink and we got it after we asked for it.
- All inclusive is not that good. Drinks were only until 22.30 and there were only a few cocktails you could choose from with the all inclusive package. Quality of the cocktails were not that good, most of the times it was more ice then drinks.
- Rooms are ok, a little lack of maintenance, fungus on the ceiling in the bathroom, paint missing at the bottom of the doors, water supply at the shower wasn't good, low pressure and not always hot water, drain of the shower was hardly working.

Positive points:

-Service, that made up for a lot of the above points. Personnel was very friendly, always greeting with a smile. We asked for a late check out, our room was rented out that same day but they offered us a different room, free of charge.

We had a great holiday at Laguna Beach, but one time only.

Room Tip: Luxary rooms are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank TJS8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

I went to Laguna hotel with my husband on our honeymoon. On our arrival we were greeted with drinks and a cold hand towel which was really refeshing, since it was a 45min drive from the airport on a hot day.
We came a little early but we were given a room, where we could freshen up or take a nap until our "real" room would be ready. It was very thoughtful especially when we didn't ask for it and we were ok by sitting in the lounge. We were very glad.
After a nap in the first room we were shown our other room. It was really beautiful and had the most amazing view. I have no negative criticism on the room. It was very nice. The ac was noisy but I didn't mind at all. Turn it on and the room would get cool very fast which was perfect for me.
The hotel knew that we didn't eat meat (we're pescetarians) and they were extremely thoughtful of that. There were much to choose from the buffet and their menu. The food was really good. We also had the candlelight dinner and the seafood dinner. Both absolutely amazing. Also very romantic setting. I recommend strongly.
The best part of the hotel are the staff. We were always met by smiles and a little smalltalk and they were very sweet. A special thanks to Avisen, who was very attentive.

Before we got to the hotel, I never thought of travelling to Mauritius a second time but I think that it's very plausible and we would definitely be staying at Laguna again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Mia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. About 40 minutes drive away from the international airport, the hotel and the surroundings are just how they are in the pictures. People were very helpful and welcoming, the rooms were nice and clean, our room and i think most other rooms had a private balcony which was great. The breakfast buffet spread was also good, vegetarians had cereals, breads, fruits and a few other items to choose from.


The hotel seemed to be located in a quite fishing hamlet. The closest town was Bel Air (I think - not sure) which is about 10 min by road, where you could pick up things from the supermarket or use the ATM. The hotel is also located very close to the stunning island of Ile Aux Cerf, you can easily hire a private boat from any of the two jettys located close to the hotel, It takes about 30 min to reach the island and our boat guy charged us around 800 MUR for the to and fro trip.

Oh they also gave nice warm beach towels

Our only disappointment was the Wifi. The room we stayed (No 204) had really poor signal strength and even when the strength was good the internet was really slow. This wasn't the case with rest of the hotel and we had good connectivity as long as we were not in our room.

Overall had a great experience at the hotel and was

Room Tip: Please check the Wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

A wonderful hotel for a special holiday. On arrival our room was decorated with fresh flowers and swan towel sculpture. All the staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. The quality of the food was of a good standard with the Indian style food being exceptional. The hotel is set in a beautiful location next to a small beach and a small fishing village. The hotel provided a free shuttle boat to the island of Ile aux Cerfs, which is well worth a visit where all manner of water sports can be found.
Cannot recommend this hotel and the wonderful staff highly enough.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Jude1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grande Riviere Sud Est
37.7 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,197 reviews
44.3 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,635 reviews
39.1 km away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.5 km away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
35.6 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,895 reviews
37.7 km away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Camp des Pecheurs, Grande Riviere Sud Est, Mauritius 230
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Grande Riviere Sud Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grande Riviere Sud Est
Price Range: $160 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the scenic backdrop of the Grand-Port mountain range, the Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa is a gem in its kind; a postcard beauty with a real soul: Tropical architecture, pristine beach and the transparency of an exquisite lagoon.The Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa is located in Grand River South East, along the South East coast of the island and 30 mins drive from the airport.To discover Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa, you will have to drive through Camp des Pêcheurs (Fisherman's Cove). This tiny village unveils a different facet of Mauritius - unspoiled and authentic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Grande Riviere Sud Est
Laguna Beach Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing