We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gudbrandsgard Hotell
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a 5 day get away for skiing with the kids. The slopes are easy to moderate and not too exciting. But with kids 5 days it is ok. We booked an all inclusive. Breakfast was an ok buffe of hot and cold but really surprising that the nutella (which all kids love) only was served three out of five days. Lunch was soup and bread and butter. Ok but serving vegetables soup where 95% of the guests are families with kids is not OK. Also, dinner had no children friendly food eirher and we where not the only family who had to stuff the kids with bread and butter for dinner. Really bad given the guest clientel

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2016

Gudbrandsgard Hotel is located in the middle of Kvitfjell with easy access (Ski out/ inn) to the slopes. We have been there before, and knew the Hotel from previous visits. Nice slopes that suit all skiers with more or less ski experience. We arrived on an early Friday morning, and had time to ski before dinner. The rooms are getting a bit worn with narrow beds – but after a day in the slopes, we all slept well. Unfortunately the owners have downgrade the kitchen to the lowest level possible, and the buffet was a disaster. Breakfast was no positive surprise, with cold eggs from early morning. No fried eggs and bacon, just a mix of old fried vegetables and potatoes served with tasteless scramble eggs. So if food means something for you during a stay – steer away from this hotel or book without half board and select the costly alacart Restaurant beside the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room with wiev.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dag Omar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Stayed at the hotel for a weekend. Very average hotel, a bit aged.
Restaurant is quite good and skiing is excellent for those who like that.
Rooms and furniture are ok but no more.
You need to be seiously in to skiing to go here, nothing else to do

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Corvette8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

Stayed here over Christmas 2015 with my family (myself, wife, and adult kids aged 22, 19, 15) for a ski vacation. Were looking for a place with guaranteed snow in a reasonably priced area but wanted ski in-ski out capability. Found it here in this hotel. Overall this is a great hotel for families who do not need a lot of night life activities and are looking to ski and just spend time together. Very convenient overall setup with the hotel essentially right beside the ski rental place and right by the ski pass area. Made everything easy

We did the half-board option and thought breakfast and dinner was fine. Same hot and cold food every breakfast but a good selection of eggs and meat and breads which was more than fine to us. Dinners were fine also as we are not really picky and we enjoyed trying some Scandinavian cuisine. One nice piece was that they had reserved tables every breakfast and dinner for us so we werent fighting a crowd or having to wait or having to make reservations every night, Only negative was that there was not a coffee maker or electric kettle in the room so you couldnt make yourself a cup of coffee in the morning until the restaurant opened up and you could go in there. There was a small little area right by reception to buy coffee and hot chocolate and other warm drinks which is fine but at the same time you shouldnt have to pay for just a cup of coffee.

The rooms were fine - my wife and I got a junior suite which was nice when the kids came in and we talked and opened Xmas gifts. Had a great view of the slopes and the surrounding mountains and the river. Put all three of the kids in a room and although it was crowded it was fine for them as we either hanging out in our room or skiing or were down in the lobby at the fireplace. Heat in the rooms was fine and it had a separate heater in the bathroom which made the floor nice and toasty. Heater in kids room wasnt working so they brought up another plug in one which worked fine.

Not alot of options for "nightlife" and such but as I said we werent really looking for that. Small bar in the hotel that opened up and you were able to get some draft beers and drinks. Prices were what you would expect in Norway. We brought our own wine and spirits with us which was perfect as we would pour our own drinks and then sit down together in the area adjacent to the check in desk by the fireplace and chat. Lots of other folks seemed to do the same which made it pleasant. Pool and whirlpool looked nice but we didnt use it because everytime we wanted to go to the whirlpool there were a lot of people and kids in there. Gym was better than most as it had a good variety of dumbbells as well as the standard treadmill and stationary bikes.

Finally, thought the staff was excellent. I had several email conversations with them prior to going and they were prompt with answering and getting me the info I needed. They were also very pleasant at the desk whenever we went down and asked them for anything. Again, it is a small hotel so you see the same employees every day which is nice and allows you to strike up conversations and get to know them. Very pleasant overall and would stay here again. Really a great place for young families to go for a ski vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fej92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015

Our two night stay exceeded our expectations. While the rooms were more cabin-like than hotel rooms, they were very comfortable. The location, food, pool/hot tub were outstanding. The employees were also very helpful and accommodating - especially Hanna and Thea. Our family is already talking about planning our next ski trip there!

Room Tip: Definitely purchase the 1/2 meal plan for breakfast and dinner - the food at the lodge is great. Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank tcc1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringebu Municipality
20.1 km away
Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
17.7 km away
Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter
32.3 km away
Scandic Hafjell
Scandic Hafjell
#1 of 5 in Oyer Municipality
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Kvitfjell Hotel
Kvitfjell Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ringebu Municipality
47 reviews
7.2 km away
Frya Leir Motel
Frya Leir Motel
#3 of 6 in Ringebu Municipality
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gudbrandsgard Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gudbrandsgard Hotell

Address: Kvitfjell Mellomstasjon, 2634, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Ringebu Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ringebu Municipality
Price Range: $178 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gudbrandsgard Hotell 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gudbrandsgard Hyttegrend is located at the mid station (Mellomstasjonen) is lying close to Kvitfjell Hotel. We have 5 cottages and 6 apartments which are build as traditional Norwegian cottages the 5 cottages have a nice fireplace. From here you can put your skies on are slide into the slopes The cottage is 120 sqm with 8-10 bedplaces divided in 4 bedrooms. One with a double bed and one with a family bunkbed. Two tiled bathrooms with heatingcables, wellequipped kitchen with dishwasher, cable-TV and a booth. The apartments for 4-5 people are 60 sqm, two bedrooms and one bathroom with underfloor heating, the kitchen is open-plan kitchen/living room equipped with dishwasher and oven. The livingroom has a cable TV. Access to ski stable. Within a few minutes walk you can among others reach the crocery, pizzeria, restaurants and a sportshop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gudbrandsgard Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing