We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn Penn Yan(Penn Yan)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites(Penn Yan)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$106
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Knight Inn and Suites(Rock Stream)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel(Hammondsport)(Great Value!)
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chieftain Motel(Watkins Glen)
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Lakeside Resort(Watkins Glen)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cedar Lodge(Canandaigua)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Longhouse Lodge Motel(Watkins Glen)
Book now, pay at stay
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
63
23
34
21
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
23
34
21
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Had lunch at a Buffalo restaurant today & met the roofing contractor who just replaced the roof of the Mansion (within 1 week ago). I lived in the Penn Yan area in 1994 & would frequently take rides by the Mansion, pulling off to the roadside to take in the spectacular view of East/West braches of Keuka Lake, from Bluff Point. The estate was a winery, then an upscale restaurant. Apparently, it has (once again) fallen into disrepair. The roofing crew mentioned they got information to the effect that Esperanza was to become sot of an "assisted living" residence.
Far from its former glory days, this diamond in the rough will need lots of TLC from someone with very "deep pockets"; I'm guess-timating about $1.5-3.0 million to restore

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We won a trip to Esperanza Inn. On arrival, we found out that the restaurant was closed for the season. We were directed to an outdoor entrance room as the mansion was also closed. The room smelled very musty. There was an old container of fruit in the refrigerator. The toilet was running continuously. A very nice young lady agreed to move us to a similar room with a working toilet. This room also had a bad odor and the air conditioner had only one speed - high. Carpeting was worn and stained. Thankfully we were busy enjoying Keuka Lake during the day so we did not spend a great deal of time in the room. In the morning there was a satisfactory continental breakfast set up in the mansion: boxed cereal, yogurt, mini muffins and coffee and tea. The second evening we asked if we could use the veranda on the mansion. We were reminded that the kitchen and bar were closed (no problem - we brought our own wine and cheese and crackers). The view from the veranda is spectacular. The wrought iron tables and chairs were covered with spider webs but we cleaned them off and enjoyed a wonderful evening on a gorgeous veranda overlooking the lake. We were literally the only guest at the inn that night which was a little creepy. I am guessing that they will be closing after this season.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank madreRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Our room was next to the laundry room, we stayed in 117. Walls and ceilings are thin, sounded like guests above were going to fall through the floor - you hear EVERYTHING. Bathroom door was missing door knob, so we couldn't even close the door. The room smelled musty, the carpet felt damp. The doors to the room are right from outside, so you will end up with bugs flying around.
Their idea of a continental breakfast isnt worth walking over to the Mansion for, bring your own bagel and warm milk, it will save you the trip.

Room Tip: The only "VIEW" of Keuka Lake your going to get, is if you go up to the outdoor patio off the Mansion, thats it.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfk1541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

The mansion was very beautiful and offers an amazing view of the Keuka Lake. I visited for dinner and did not stay in the rooms. There is outside seating and you can request a table by the water. The food and service were fairly good. My only concern was that there were a large amount of flies during our visit in October 2015. (we were seated inside).

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank uvarobin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

My wife stayed at the E on a "girls-away weekend" trip to the Finger Lakes wine region. She had told her friends staying with her what a great place this was, as our daughter had her wedding there in 2006 and we loved the place. She was hugely disappointed, reporting nothing but problems, starting with the failure to place her and her friend in adjoining rooms as specifically requested at the time the reservation had been made. The breakfast the next morning was awful - cold and with stale, hard bagels and pancakes - the only thing edible was the pre-packaged yogurt.
The good news for the E is that it still sits on the bluff overlooking beautiful Keuka Lake and is a short drive from numerous wineries and such customer service problems can be fixed with a re-dedication to first rate customer service by a responsive management. But that had better come soon - they lost one previously loyal customer and missed an opportunity to gain several more from this trip.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ceharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews