We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveller rating
249
414
205
76
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
414
205
76
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa coffee bar menu ferry port plenty of free parking reception area petrol station pleasant stay overnight stop would stay again minute drive one night stay early morning ferry double room tea and coffee night's sleep from france biscuits
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

After Ramada did not want to honour their decision to cancel my booking, without a penalty, I arrived reluctantly on Saturday afternoon. The duty manager then informed us that they have a big wedding, I asked why we were not informed and was told to read the fine print on booking.com. The music opposite our room carried on loudly till 12pm that was not the end as the drunk guests kept as awake till 3am , from a couple having loud sex, screaming kids at 5.30am I can honestly say my worst night ever in a hotel. Apart from this this hotel is tired and should not have a four start status. The linen and pillows were really uncomfortable not good quality at all . I was charged in full for the worst night I have ever had in a hotel. Ramada honour your commitment to booking.com and when your guests phone ( non function guests have have the honestly to tell them.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager15814, Manager at Ramada Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Lynette F,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are very sorry to see you did not enjoy the stay.

As you have mentioned correctly you did book through booking.com on 'advance purchase, non refundable, non amndable' basis.
This is the terms and condition you have booked under and I am sure you are well aware of it before booking it.
Unfortunately you have 'missed' to mention that the hotel has changed the arrival date several times and cancelled first night stay which hotel had kindly horned and refunded in full even though it is against your reservations's T&C.
It is regrettable to see after the hotel gone extra mile to help with your reservation only left with this review.

However, we greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction and we hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Nothing wrong with this hotel, it’s ok, but it’s nothing to rave about either!

Family room for overnight before ferry to France.

Relatively clean (dusty), bit dated, and very very warm. Hot days in the UK are a rarity and I don’t blame the hotel for this, just be aware the rooms can be stuffy even with the fan on if it’s a warm day.

Mini gym.....a fairly accurate description. Guess not a huge demand here so token effort to tick a facilities box. My luggage was heavier than the array of equipment in a windowless room that was stifling.

Didn’t eat or drink at the hotel so cannot comment.

In short, reasonable overnight stay before early ferry. Little overpriced for what is on offer but not excessively so in my opinion.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager15814, Manager at Ramada Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Martin K,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are happy to see you had a reasonable overnight stay with us.
Further, we are sorry to see you did not enjoy the stay as it should be.
However, we are politely disagree with your heading 'Don’t believe the 5* reviews' as all reviews are genuine not fake!
Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We stopped overnight at this hotel both going to and coming from France. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. The hotel grounds are very quiet and we got a good nights sleep. We went to the bar where we ordered food and the food is absolutely superb. On both occasions we had the pie of the day. The first was chicken and mushroom and the second was beef and mushroom. Real home made and cooked to perfection and when served was absolutely piping hot. The breakfast in the morning was buffet style but unlike other buffet breakfasts that I've experienced, the food was not dried out, again cooked to perfection with a great choice. A chef is in attendance and makes your eggs fresh as you want them e.g fried/poached etc. I'd go back to this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank scotsrover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager15814, Manager at Ramada Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear scotsrover1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a positive review of your stay.
Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that!
We are really happy see you had positive experience during the stay specially the food.
There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you will return on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Purchased meal via groupon. This was the third time we have done this and the quality has remained constant . Excellent meals on all occasions and would thoroughly recommend the restaurant. Good value and good service.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Paul57032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager15814, Manager at Ramada Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Paul57032,

Thank you very much for dine with us again.
We appreciate your repeat business and pleased to see you enjoyed the meal.
Thank you for recommending the restaurant and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Great location after landing at the ferry port. Room clean and comfortable with good facilities. One fault with the room, a tatty armchair which needs to be replaced. The restaurant is excellent and the staff are very good. Our dining experience was a little spoiled by a large party of elderly German tourists who were extremely noisy and quite rude to the staff. However, when they left the room, we were able to enjoy a lovely dinner. The restaurant and bar staff deserved medals.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Explore809648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager15814, Manager at Ramada Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Maggie&Vinnie,

Thank you very much for choosing Ramada Dover.
It is a pleasure to see you enjoyed the cleanliness, facilities and comfortableness.
Sorry to see that the dinner was disturbed by the other guests and we have shared your comments on our valued staff.
Look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews