We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay”
Review of Hospedaje Soma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hospedaje Soma
Ranked #1 of 21 Moyogalpa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2017

We had been traveling through Central America on our motorcycle since the end of December. This was the most unusual experience for us... as Dave was riding the motorcycle off the ferry, a dog ran out in front of him causing him to fall. He injured his left shoulder, but toughed it out to Soma which was about 10 blocks away. On arrival, we were quickly greeted by Sarah and Javier. We shared our dilemma with Sarah and Javier. Sarah immediately told us not to worry, that we could stay longer than our 3 day reservation. After learning about Dave's injury, Javier told us there was an orthopedic specialist on the island. Javier called the doctor and arranged an appointment for Dave. Then the entire staff all grabbed our luggage and helped to get it to our room. The appointment was after Javier was supposed to be off work, but he stayed late in order to drive us to the doctor, interpret for us and then brought us back to Soma. The doctor wanted X-rays of Dave's shoulder (the Xray machine was in Rivas), so Javier arranged a tuk-tuk for us in the morning, and also arranged a car and driver to meet us when the ferry arrived in Rivas and explained to the driver Dave's situation so he could relay the information in Spanish to the clinic in Rivas. The driver knew to wait for us; and to return us to the ferry dock for our return trip back to Ometepe, all thanks to Javier. This was such a BIG help to us. On the 17th, Javier also stayed after work to drive us to Dave's 2nd doctor appointment, and interpret for us, then brought us back to Soma. Dave ended up with a shoulder separation and broken collar bone and was unable to ride the motorcycle for the remainder of our trip. We ended up staying at Soma for 2 weeks waiting for our insurance company to pick up the motorcycle to be shipped back to the states. But not knowing WHEN the bike was to be picked up, Sarah and Michele graciously let us extend our stay every 2 days. They made sure we never had to move from our original cabin. We felt like the entire staff went way above and beyond to help us. That being said, Soma was a wonderful place for us to stay. We stayed in Cabin #1 and felt like we had found a perfect piece of paradise. The cabin has air conditioning and HOT water!!! (If it fits in your budget, it is well worth the extra cost). The room was extremely clean and the housekeeping was excellent all through our stay. The staff did our laundry several times which was so convenient for us. Also the included breakfasts were very delicious and the servings were very plentiful. You can choose from 4 or 5 different breakfast dishes. The 3 gals who cook also are the housekeepers and do the laundry.....we got to know them very well during our stay also....they were helpful, friendly and always had smiles on their faces.....and also always concerned about Dave's shoulder and how he was doing. The grounds are lush with blooming plants and greenery. We just can't say enough good things about Soma, the owners, and each and every one of the staff members. Even Marlen who was designing signs for Soma was a huge help to us when our bike finally did get picked up.....he helped interpret for us as it was Javier's day off; he helped to load the bike and then quickly got a tuk-tuk for us when we were needed at the ferry dock before the bike was loaded on the ferry. When it was time for us to leave, our ride to the ferry, a car and driver in Rivas to take us to the Costa Rica border were all arranged for us. Because we stayed at Soma and because of the very caring staff, what could have been a very stressful, bad experience for us actually was made to be better than we ever expected. We HIGHLY recommend Soma for your stay on Ometepe. Look no farther......Soma is THE BEST; each and everyone on the staff is THE BEST; and Soma will be the highlight of your stay on Ometepe.

Room Tip: Cabins have A/C and HOT water. Big plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnmax80439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

29 - 33 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017

We stayed in one of the cabins and the room was extremely clean and comfortable. The air conditioning was top notch as well. It actually cooled the room to nearly an unpleasant level of cold if left on all night. The honor system for wine and cocktails was a pleasant touch, more so because service was rather lacking. The owners were pleasant and friendly, the local staff slow and not so pleasant to deal with. The manager of the front desk, Javier, was more annoying and grating than helpful or efficient. I did not care for his attitude.

Room Tip: The cabins are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seascape100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Really nice and quite place, good location, just 10 minutes walking from the ferry.
Extremely helpful and friendly staff: they'll give you all the info you need.
Atmosphere was really nice!
You can socialise, but you can also relax in the huge communal areas.
Rooms and bathrooms are clean.
Bed was comfortable.
The dorm was really big, there is lots of space and the beds are not packed!
Breakfast was great: huge, fresh and with lots of choice.
The only problem is that you can't really use the kitchen. You can only warm food or make cold food in a small kitchenette.
I definitively recommend this place for your stay in Ometepe! I planned to stay only a couple of nights and I stayed 5 nights!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank CriNuNu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Everything was clean and the rooms were huge and comfortable. The staff is super friendly and the information they offer is really helpful to explore the island (with scooters or ATV or walking up volcanos). Thank you very much for such a great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Soma is a little bit outside of the center of Moyogalpa, which is a positive if you like a more quiet and relaxed setting. The walk is safe after dark in case you're wondering, and our group walked back and forth to town in the dark every night before and after dinner. We had a 3 bed Cabana, with private bathroom. The room exceptionally clean, with nice towels and new sheets refreshed daily. The common area has a good selection of sodas, snacks, filtered water, and beer for you to choose from (and use the honor system). The included breakfast is awesome, as you get to choose between 4 options and it is served to you at your table. It was a treat to wake up to every morning, and the coffee that they serve was very tasty. They also have a laundry service that you can pay for (express option available for more $). Their wifi was relatively consistent and fast as well. It mainly works in the common area and dormitories.

Soma uses very high-quality tour operators and you rent at the same price as you would in town. They use UGO guides for Concepcion, and for Atv/scooter/moto rentals they use WIllystours. They specifically chose Willys tours based on some of the horror stories posted online about renting from other rental operators. Our group rented an ATV($50), a scooter ($20), and a 200cc moto ($20) for the day, with returnable deposit ($100per or passport). All of the machines were in great condition. The moto I rode was maintained to a much higher standard then my rental on a previous trip with another operator. Throttle and engine were smooth, no strange noises, levers and brakes (front and rear) all functioned properly, and the bike was very quick (relative to a prior 200cc moto rental).

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
16 km away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
441 reviews
16.6 km away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
388 reviews
19.4 km away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Hotel Finca del Sol
Hotel Finca del Sol
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
434 reviews
19.5 km away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#1 of 56 in Isla de Ometepe
213 reviews
14.8 km away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 10 in Altagracia
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Soma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Soma

Address: Frente del Instituto J.R. Smith, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe 00000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Moyogalpa
Price Range: $11 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership since April 2016, the new owners of Hospedaje Soma continue to provide the best possible experience for all of our guests. Located just on the edge of Moyogalpa, a short walk from the ferry, we are far enough from town to feel away from it all but close enough for guests to access the amenities the small town has to offer. Our accommodations—from private cabins (perfect for families or groups), to private rooms, to dorm beds (for the budget backpacker)—are spread out throughout our spacious garden property. Our large common area is perfect for hanging out in the evenings, and our swimming pool and hammock areas are wonderful places to relax after a day of exploring all Ometepe has to offer. Breakfast is free for all our guests and we operate an honor bar with drinks and snacks available 24/7. We also offer complimentary customized maps, travel advice and booking services for all your tour and transport needs during your stay on Ometepe. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing