We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Mauro(Moyogalpa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Ibesa(Moyogalpa)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Casa de Gio(Moyogalpa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hostel Coco's(Moyogalpa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Nicaraus(Moyogalpa)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
368
95
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
95
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonor systemgreat placelaid backminute walkstayed longerbreakfast was deliciousfive nightsomeletteplace to staybeautiful spotlarge cabinhighly recommend this placelots of spacein townnew ownersclean roomsshared bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Hospedaje Somo was a please surprise. I have stayed in Moyogalpa twice before and learned to moderate my expectations. However, the new owners genuinely care about the property and are making significant upgrades (like a pool) to make this truely a great place to stay. As things stand now, they are head and shoulders above their competition. Great location to explore Ometepe, climb Conception or explore Moyogalpa. Tour guides, motobikes... can be arranged by the management and deliver to your door.

Room Tip: cabins seem like best option
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

We had been traveling through Central America on our motorcycle since the end of December. This was the most unusual experience for us... as Dave was riding the motorcycle off the ferry, a dog ran out in front of him causing him to fall. He injured his left shoulder, but toughed it out to Soma which was about 10 blocks away. On arrival, we were quickly greeted by Sarah and Javier. We shared our dilemma with Sarah and Javier. Sarah immediately told us not to worry, that we could stay longer than our 3 day reservation. After learning about Dave's injury, Javier told us there was an orthopedic specialist on the island. Javier called the doctor and arranged an appointment for Dave. Then the entire staff all grabbed our luggage and helped to get it to our room. The appointment was after Javier was supposed to be off work, but he stayed late in order to drive us to the doctor, interpret for us and then brought us back to Soma. The doctor wanted X-rays of Dave's shoulder (the Xray machine was in Rivas), so Javier arranged a tuk-tuk for us in the morning, and also arranged a car and driver to meet us when the ferry arrived in Rivas and explained to the driver Dave's situation so he could relay the information in Spanish to the clinic in Rivas. The driver knew to wait for us; and to return us to the ferry dock for our return trip back to Ometepe, all thanks to Javier. This was such a BIG help to us. On the 17th, Javier also stayed after work to drive us to Dave's 2nd doctor appointment, and interpret for us, then brought us back to Soma. Dave ended up with a shoulder separation and broken collar bone and was unable to ride the motorcycle for the remainder of our trip. We ended up staying at Soma for 2 weeks waiting for our insurance company to pick up the motorcycle to be shipped back to the states. But not knowing WHEN the bike was to be picked up, Sarah and Michele graciously let us extend our stay every 2 days. They made sure we never had to move from our original cabin. We felt like the entire staff went way above and beyond to help us. That being said, Soma was a wonderful place for us to stay. We stayed in Cabin #1 and felt like we had found a perfect piece of paradise. The cabin has air conditioning and HOT water!!! (If it fits in your budget, it is well worth the extra cost). The room was extremely clean and the housekeeping was excellent all through our stay. The staff did our laundry several times which was so convenient for us. Also the included breakfasts were very delicious and the servings were very plentiful. You can choose from 4 or 5 different breakfast dishes. The 3 gals who cook also are the housekeepers and do the laundry.....we got to know them very well during our stay also....they were helpful, friendly and always had smiles on their faces.....and also always concerned about Dave's shoulder and how he was doing. The grounds are lush with blooming plants and greenery. We just can't say enough good things about Soma, the owners, and each and every one of the staff members. Even Marlen who was designing signs for Soma was a huge help to us when our bike finally did get picked up.....he helped interpret for us as it was Javier's day off; he helped to load the bike and then quickly got a tuk-tuk for us when we were needed at the ferry dock before the bike was loaded on the ferry. When it was time for us to leave, our ride to the ferry, a car and driver in Rivas to take us to the Costa Rica border were all arranged for us. Because we stayed at Soma and because of the very caring staff, what could have been a very stressful, bad experience for us actually was made to be better than we ever expected. We HIGHLY recommend Soma for your stay on Ometepe. Look no farther......Soma is THE BEST; each and everyone on the staff is THE BEST; and Soma will be the highlight of your stay on Ometepe.

Room Tip: Cabins have A/C and HOT water. Big plus
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnmax80439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We stayed in one of the cabins and the room was extremely clean and comfortable. The air conditioning was top notch as well. It actually cooled the room to nearly an unpleasant level of cold if left on all night. The honor system for wine and cocktails was a pleasant touch, more so because service was rather lacking. The owners were pleasant and friendly, the local staff slow and not so pleasant to deal with. The manager of the front desk, Javier, was more annoying and grating than helpful or efficient. I did not care for his attitude.

Room Tip: The cabins are nice and quiet
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seascape100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Really nice and quite place, good location, just 10 minutes walking from the ferry.
Extremely helpful and friendly staff: they'll give you all the info you need.
Atmosphere was really nice!
You can socialise, but you can also relax in the huge communal areas.
Rooms and bathrooms are clean.
Bed was comfortable.
The dorm was really big, there is lots of space and the beds are not packed!
Breakfast was great: huge, fresh and with lots of choice.
The only problem is that you can't really use the kitchen. You can only warm food or make cold food in a small kitchenette.
I definitively recommend this place for your stay in Ometepe! I planned to stay only a couple of nights and I stayed 5 nights!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank CriNuNu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Everything was clean and the rooms were huge and comfortable. The staff is super friendly and the information they offer is really helpful to explore the island (with scooters or ATV or walking up volcanos). Thank you very much for such a great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews