We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for a drink, stayed for dinner”

The Waterline Restaurant & Beach Bar
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: Polynesian, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Casual beach dining with all the frills.Open Tues-Sun for lunch and dinner. Enjoy one of our tasty cocktails and the breathtaking sunset before dining on Pacific style international cuisine. We have one of Raro's most extensive wine lists available.We can host both your wedding ceremony and reception on site either on the beach or our sunset deck.Experience romantic Rarotonga the Waterline way.Live music Wednesday nights. Bookings essential.
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

Hubby and I wandered down for an arvo drink, and ended up coming back fo dinner. Beautiful place to see the sunset, have a relaxing drink and think about your day! Food was delicious, and the sunset!!!!! Mojitos were also on point!!

Thank Danica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Although the food tasted good three of our group of 19 got sick from their meal. Very hard to pay the bill as they don’t break it up between couples. Had to pay by credit card for the lot and then the eftpos wouldn’t work. Missed the last bus home and had to walk 5 kms to our resort. Not happy.

1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akisi M, Owner at The Waterline Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Sorry to hear your overall experience wasn't good.
As for those that got sick we can't take full responsibility as there's is nothing specific mentioned as to what they ate that made them sick etc. The night you came, the restaurant was very busy but no one else reported getting sick.
Re billing, this is the norm when we are busy that is one bill per table. We can be flexible and accommodating on quieter evenings. You were also instructed before being seated about not splitting bills. The other two tables in the group were fine with it.
We do apologize about the EFTPOS not working and that you missed the bus. It is frustrating as connection here in the islands is not at all consistent but we are at the mercy of the one service provider.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

We went driving one rainy night looking for a place for dinner and came across The Waterline. Thought it looked like a nice place from the outside so we gave it a go. When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly staff member and taken to our table. The place had one other group of people dining at the time. The friendly women then gave us our menus and told us the specials. She then ordered our drinks but wouldn’t leave the table. Our drinks came. She just stood at the end of the table talking non stop. She just wouldn’t leave us alone. This was very annoying. I’m not sure if she was nervous or lonely? She told us her life story but all we wanted was a nice family meal. We felt pressured to order our meal quickly while she was there commenting about every item on the menu, even while we were talking amongst ourselves about what we felt like. The menu by the way was very limited and expensive. Even after we gave her our food order and she took it to the kitchen she came back! We were out for a family dinner and had no privacy at all. Wouldn’t recommend this place at all.

1  Thank squiglepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

The staff was very friendly and spent time at our tables. They bring a chalkboard with the specials. Lunch wasn't busy so we talked with the waitress. Evening had a good view of the sunset. Atmosphere was wonderful. I probably would rate this higher but we had Thai food both times. It was very good. I would like to try other things before I rated it higher.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

After being disappointed with resort food, we went searching for somewhere different for dinner and came across Waterline.

The food is cheaper than most resort restaurants and the portions are larger. This is also done while not taking away any of the delicious flavours.

The staff are friendly and the guy playing his guitar and singing was very talented and added to the scene when the sun began to set.

On the deck or on the beach at Waterline is one of the best places to view the sunset.

Thank njf64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waterline Restaurant & Beach Bar also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Waterline Restaurant & Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing