We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Restaurant Great setting”

The Waterline Restaurant & Beach Bar
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Polynesian, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Casual beach dining with all the frills.Open Tues-Sun for lunch and dinner. Enjoy one of our tasty cocktails and the breathtaking sunset before dining on Pacific style international cuisine. We have one of Raro's most extensive wine lists available.We can host both your wedding ceremony and reception on site either on the beach or our sunset deck.Experience romantic Rarotonga the Waterline way.Live music Wednesday and Friday nights by our popular resident musician Bryan Rodelas. Also Garth Young on the piano Sunday evenings. Bookings essential.
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

A lovely restaurant great service excellent food and a beautiful setting. I would recommend here if your looking for a romantic setting Thanks Anthony and Linda

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Anthony_Irish1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2018

Went there for dinner early in our holiday - great night, food was nice and fresh, scallops amazing and food was excellent. Told friends how great it was so a few days later we all turned for dinner again - this time we did not have a reservation. We were told we would have a wait as they would serve diners who had reserved before us, about 90% of the restaurant. We waited and waited, at times the staff were quite rude (even when we asked for a menu). Never had a second drinks order taken - all rather poor and our entire group vowed never to return. Food was ok the second time but we were just over the experience when we received it. So ok if you reserve a table, but not if you walk in and I think this is rather poor customer service.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LesleySnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akisi M, Owner at The Waterline Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

I apologize for the staff rudeness and that your second dining experience wasn't great.
You are implying though that only those that make a booking gets good service but I will have to disagree. We get walk ins every day and as best as we can give every one the same service and it all works out in the end. When guests walk in on busy nights we explain that as long as they are happy to have a drink and wait we can accommodate them. Often it's not a problem but some start to make demands and get a bit pushy about their food orders. One can always see that the restaurant is full and busy so my suggestion is if you are hungry and in a hurry it's best to go somewhere else and book at The Waterline another night. We don't push for walk ins to stay but give them that choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Saturday night and nearly empty.
Nice setting but really that was the best part.
Wine, you would think that if you are out of the per glass Pintot Gris you would substitute one of the other 2 you stocked but no. We're told they only had one of the 3. Back and forwards we go, finally found they did have two to choose from by the bottle. What an exercise!

The menu is limited but the food is nice. Prices are up there though.
We ordered an entree to share, no extra plates!
We ordered the entree then ordered the main after we finished that, otherwise you'll be out in an hour! Fast food.
The fish of the day was OK (but not a patch on the lunch at a cafe the day before), the pork was good, not dry.

I don't think we will come back again

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank WayneK160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Loved our lunch here. Beautiful setting and great atmosphere. Food was fresh and service was friendly and welcoming

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank jennylizg2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

This is the third time that we have returned to the Waterline, and were not disappointed this time either. Very enjoyable meal and delicious cocktails! Its always a great atmosphere at Waterline.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waterline Restaurant & Beach Bar also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Waterline Restaurant & Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing