We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good ”

Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A great quirky casual dining experience. Opened since 1979 it still has the same owners and the same name. It is a mix of eclectic and local island decor. The walls feature an array of photos of events, people and things. The ceilings are a collage of various types of posters etc. The Tumunu Garden Restaurant also features the "largest little notebook" on the island. Come visit us! A fun place for children too with a garden and "dancing laser fire flys"
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We ate here and were very very disappointed prawns came out cold and then flashed under the grill and tasted like rubber when they came back out. The dish should have cooked fresh and not put back under the grill my wife had the scallops and she felt unwell later. Not very good !

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Anthony_Irish1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We passed Tumunu one night and were drawn to the lights, so inviting on a warm island evening, we thought it would be nice to have dinner here, under the stars and with the lights.
When we arrived for dinner, we were shown to a table in a windowless dining area which was a real disappointment .
We did overhear other diners on arrival saying they just had to come back, they had enjoyed their dinner so much - we were very hopeful that we had made a good decision .
My choice for mains was the fish, Marlin, pan fried and served with an odd sauce and an a weird salad, nothing that I had tasted before . Portion size is generous .
Steve chose the steak, but it was over sauced, not being able to see the steak at all. We only ordered main course.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank heathersY2583ZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Love this place. We have eaten here on a number of occassions and have never been disappointed. The place is very eclectic with lots of different decorations from lighting to posters, pictures and flags. The music is great and the service/staff awesome.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TwinkD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Wow, what a shock to the eyesight. The internal decor is a mixture of everything. Flags, photos, banners, posters all over the walls and ceiling. Then to top it off a yellow floor with blue stencilled palm trees. A bit much for our eyes, however the food was OK.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Had a very good seafood steak dish. Loved the potatoes. Very friendly staff great service . Would go back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank cafeboy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing