We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset drink”

Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Shipwreck Hut is an awesome little beach bar situated right on the sand at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, overlooking the beautiful lagoon. Perfectly positioned to enjoy the sunning sunsets while sipping one of the famous "jam-jar cocktails". We also offer cold beer, wine, spirits, soft drinks and "home cooked" bar meals. We serve our bar meals from 5:00pm until 8:00pm (but not on BBQ nights). Saturday - Beach BBQ 6:00 pm with live music with Steve (your host), booking is essential. (BBQ's are number dependant.) Tuesday - Live music 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm with Ian & Anania aka The Rockin' Jandals. Thursday - Live music with Rio & Anania from 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm. The Shipwreck Hut is exactly what you would expect from a fun loving little beach bar in the South Pacific. Come and see us. :-)
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Great guitarist and fabulous sunset location but cocktails were watery and not great value compared to others on the island , with only one nip and no happy hour. Have a wine or beer rather than a cocktail and enjoy the sunset with great music I think which is on Tuesday and Thursday

Thank SueC3543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your great review. In respect to our cocktails, the Long Island Ice Tea has 2.5 shots, the Mai Tai has 2 shots so it really depends on what you order.

Thank you for the compliment for the music, we have live music on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays for our awesome beach BBQ.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Meitaki,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2018

we went here for dinner and to watch the sunset. had a nice Pina Colada too.
the staff were fun and friendly, the location was great right on the beach with many people coming to watch the sunset. The food we had was yummy and cheap. We had Butter Chicken and Chilli. The dog was adorable <3

Thank MistyJewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your great review, very happy that you enjoyed the Pina Colada and our home cooked food. :-)

My dog, Dexter, is very cool, everyone loves Dexter.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Meitaki,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Went for the beach BBQ, weather was really settled where we staying on the island so didn’t take a coat but arrived and it was extremely windy at the bar (like food blew off our plates windy). Unfortunately this bar wasn’t at all set up for this like the other bars on the island are, there were no blankets, wind breaks or heaters so we froze. Also v disappointed by lack of alcohol free choices, no sparkling water, tea or coffee - I was offered soda water as an alternative and it was flat : (

1  Thank dereknelsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Kia Orana,

Don't really know what to say apart from - this review is really unfair.... you gave us a poor review because it was windy and you didn't bring a coat....

If you were not happy with the weather you could have gone at any time, no-one forced you to stay.

Lack of alcohol free choices. We have water, soda water (aka sparkling water), ginger ale, tonic water, orange juice, pineapple juice, cranberry juice, tomato juice, ruby red grapefruit juice, coke, coke zero, sprite, milk and ginger beer. For a small beach bar we offer an excellent choice - that is 14 different options not including mocktails etc.. With respect, how much choice do you want?

If you were not happy with your soda water, why didn't you say? Of course we would have replaced it but instead you chose to criticise on an anonymous public forum website. If we don't know we can't fix it.

We have never been asked for blankets or heaters!!! We are a small casual beach bar on a South Pacific island in the Tropics, not an inner city bar somewhere cold.

You stated, as a fact, that other bars were set up for this one off weather event. I'm sure that you didn't visit every other bar on Rarotonga on this particular evening, therefore, you cannot possibly know if they were, or were not.

As I said, I think that your review was extremely unfair. Instead of criticising, our staff should have been applauded for the way we handled the situation. We had approximately 30 people dining that evening at our beach BBQ, we had no other complaints in fact quite the opposite. Interestingly, at the end of the evening you specifically went to speak to our chef to tell her that you really enjoyed the BBQ and then, for some reason, you chose to criticise us over something that we had no control.... the weather.

We hope that you had a lovely holiday on Rarotonga.

Kia manuia,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Shout out to Alone who made us feel very welcome. We took our children along to the BBQ night. Seriously the best views for sunset on the island! Right on the beach on the west side so you can see the sun disappear beyond the horizon. Only wish we found out about the place prior to our last night!

Thank EricaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Kia Orana,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, very happy that Alone and our amazing team made you feel welcome. I will pass your comments on to Alone.

We hope to see you back again.

Meitaki ma'ata,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Wednesday night, live music was great and was enjoyable evening sitting listening to the music with a couple of drinks. Beautiful setting on the beach, basic bar meal

Thank Deanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your great review, your comments are much appreciated.

Very happy that you enjoyed the live music, it must have been a Tuesday or Thursday evening when you visited as we don't have live music on Wednesdays. :-)

Hope to see you back again soon.

Meitaki,

Steve, Geraldine and the A team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing