We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
216
44
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
44
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush cabins guest farm outdoor shower lovely hosts luxury chalet self driving small pond open fire closest restaurant special guest house main entrance magnificent view breakfast and dinner the reserve stayed here for nights sa trip booked dinner
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the addo dung beetle farm in one of the bush suites. The design was really cool and definitive an experience worth it. If you have great weather then you can enjoy a stunning view over the landscape.
Beside from the cool design, the suite was not very practical for us (if you shower normal, you set quickly the bathroom under water, no door between bathroom and the room, long walking distance from the lobby up to the cabin so best use backpacks, no wifi at the room, no complimentary water, minibar is quite expensive, one light at the bed was not working, the room is small so if you open two suitcases then the room is stuffed, cleaning of the room was not good as they just made the bed and changed towels but cups and bathroom were not considered). Besides of that the staff was very friendly and breakfast was nice - small buffett and a choice of some hot breakfast. We would recommend it as a two to three star hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We each rented a beautiful chalet which were spacious and lovely with beautiful views of the grounds and valley. It's a perfect place to stay while visiting Addo Elephant Park. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfasts were delicious and with a lot of variety. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPTRAVELER33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We loved everything about this place. Unplugged and away from all the chaos. Beautifully designed bungalow with outdoor shower was a total added bonus. We didn't want to leave.

We've had the best time of our lives. Just as you entered the farm, the welcoming scent from beautiful orange trees and the big tall pine tree along the side of the entrance brought instant joy and happiness. We are certainly staying there again!

Room Tip: Bungalow is the only way to go!
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MoeL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We stayed two nights at the Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm. We had booked the Dung Beetle Bungalow. From the images posted on Booking it wasn't clear that this bungalo was actually located in the middle of a field of narrowly spaced thorn bushes. No one helped us with the luggage and no one actually made us aware of the presence of a carriage which would have madeit easier to get our 4 pieces of luggage to our accomodation. The smell in the accomdation was rather moldy given that the bathroom's floor was inclined such that the water could not drain and the height of the water level almost reached the wooden floor of the sleeping area when taking a shower. Besides, the ventilation was dirty as well. It was impossible to not wet the toilet and the rest of the bathroom niche. Instead of having one single large bed, there where to small single beds put together. We had no internet connection in the bungalow but only at the main house where the breakfast was served and there only at the second floor. Besides, the internet per day was limited to a certain amount of MBs. The breakfast was quite disappointing and even the frequent offer of drip coffee refill couldn't change this. To sum up, the price we paid was not worth what we got.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank corneliaarcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
addodungbeetlegf, Owner at Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Cornelia,

Thank you for your stay.
Unfortunately on Sundays our gentlemen who helps with luggage to do work, we do not advertise porters. Guest bookings that are booked via Booking.com or any other sites we do not change and guest book what they selected.
We do send all extra information when guest make the bookings and it states the following "The Dung Beetle suites are situated in the succulent valley bushveld vegetation with no view as dung beetle are always hidden, thus leading to a beautiful tranquil surprise in the bush. Walking distance from the main lodge and parking area. Not really suitable for those with walking difficulties"
Management and Owners are present at breakfast, any problems that we know of we can try and solve.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

All of us in our small group loved this place. It IS rustic with wooden cabins or little huts in the shape of a dung ball. My cabin had an outside shower and flush toilet which were very private. Each cabin is nestled in the trees and overlooks a gorgeous valley of orange groves. Breakfast and dinner was delicious and served in a spacious, lovely building. Our hosts were friendly and accommodating. Especially nice was the ability to pet their 3 friendly dogs. The only drawback was the rather rough dirt road to get there. Despite that, it was a highlight of our SA trip. It's very close to Addo park which was another plus.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank W5432LLjessicah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews