We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unusual and enjoyable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Ranked #8 of 23 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2017

A group of 4 of us spent 3 nights in two of the bush cabins. These are not your usual hotel rooms requiring quite a walk with heavy cases (a trolley is available to help) between the bushes down an unmade track. The result however is that the individual cabins are secluded and private with excellent views across the citrus farm to the mountains.

The cabins are very rustic but small and functional and apart from waking up with my face pressed against the mosquito net, were comfortable. Our shower and toilet were at the back of the cabin necessitating a short walk and the WC for a 6foot 2 inch male required some manoeuvring to get under the thatched canopy, but it was all part of the unique experience. The shower was very basic but with instant hot water and good pressure.

Our hosts were very welcoming and Rod's half day safari trip into Addo Ephant Park particularly enjoyable. He was full of interesting information and made a real effort to make it memorable including an additional 20 minute drive around the citrus groves upon our return.

Be warned that the Internet is flaky, but what do you expect in such an isolated location. It is all about the experience and less about the facilities.

We would certainly recommend the stay - particularly combined with the safari and Rod and Magdalena are to be commended for the effort they put into their business. Thanks both for an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BJY2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the addo dung beetle farm in one of the bush suites. The design was really cool and definitive an experience worth it. If you have great weather then you can enjoy a stunning view over the landscape.
Beside from the cool design, the suite was not very practical for us (if you shower normal, you set quickly the bathroom under water, no door between bathroom and the room, long walking distance from the lobby up to the cabin so best use backpacks, no wifi at the room, no complimentary water, minibar is quite expensive, one light at the bed was not working, the room is small so if you open two suitcases then the room is stuffed, cleaning of the room was not good as they just made the bed and changed towels but cups and bathroom were not considered). Besides of that the staff was very friendly and breakfast was nice - small buffett and a choice of some hot breakfast. We would recommend it as a two to three star hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We each rented a beautiful chalet which were spacious and lovely with beautiful views of the grounds and valley. It's a perfect place to stay while visiting Addo Elephant Park. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfasts were delicious and with a lot of variety. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPTRAVELER33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We loved everything about this place. Unplugged and away from all the chaos. Beautifully designed bungalow with outdoor shower was a total added bonus. We didn't want to leave.

We've had the best time of our lives. Just as you entered the farm, the welcoming scent from beautiful orange trees and the big tall pine tree along the side of the entrance brought instant joy and happiness. We are certainly staying there again!

Room Tip: Bungalow is the only way to go!
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Moe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We stayed two nights at the Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm. We had booked the Dung Beetle Bungalow. From the images posted on Booking it wasn't clear that this bungalo was actually located in the middle of a field of narrowly spaced thorn bushes. No one helped us with the luggage and no one actually made us aware of the presence of a carriage which would have madeit easier to get our 4 pieces of luggage to our accomodation. The smell in the accomdation was rather moldy given that the bathroom's floor was inclined such that the water could not drain and the height of the water level almost reached the wooden floor of the sleeping area when taking a shower. Besides, the ventilation was dirty as well. It was impossible to not wet the toilet and the rest of the bathroom niche. Instead of having one single large bed, there where to small single beds put together. We had no internet connection in the bungalow but only at the main house where the breakfast was served and there only at the second floor. Besides, the internet per day was limited to a certain amount of MBs. The breakfast was quite disappointing and even the frequent offer of drip coffee refill couldn't change this. To sum up, the price we paid was not worth what we got.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank corneliaarcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
addodungbeetlegf, Owner at Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Cornelia,

Thank you for your stay.
Unfortunately on Sundays our gentlemen who helps with luggage to do work, we do not advertise porters. Guest bookings that are booked via Booking.com or any other sites we do not change and guest book what they selected.
We do send all extra information when guest make the bookings and it states the following "The Dung Beetle suites are situated in the succulent valley bushveld vegetation with no view as dung beetle are always hidden, thus leading to a beautiful tranquil surprise in the bush. Walking distance from the main lodge and parking area. Not really suitable for those with walking difficulties"
Management and Owners are present at breakfast, any problems that we know of we can try and solve.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addo hotels
14 km away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
6.7 km away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#7 of 23 in Addo
327 reviews
9.8 km away
Addo African Home
Addo African Home
#5 of 11 in Addo
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
18.7 km away
Addo Afrique Estate
Addo Afrique Estate
#16 of 23 in Addo
170 reviews
10.1 km away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm

Address: Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm | Coerny Valley, Off the R335, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range: S$69 - S$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm is situated 4 km from the Main Gate of the Addo Elephant National Park on a working Citrus Farm. The Citrus part of the Farm is approximately 250ha with an estimated 151 000 individual trees. We have 5 luxury chalets – B&B, then 3 Rustic Bush Cabins with Self-Catering facilities and 4 inspired Dung Beetle Suites – B&B. We are ideal for couples, parent-breakaways, honeymooners and also for small group of 10 people sharing. In our Thatched Roof Lapa we prepare traditional South African mouthwatering set meals on the fire while you enjoy a sundowner with us. We only serve in-house dining on Mondays, Wednesdays and Friday; booking 2 weeks prior to arrival date is essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing