We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonably priced, great food and they really try hard to make you feel welcome.”
Review of Horn of Plenty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horn of Plenty
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I rarely give 5 stars for hotels, but the Horn of Plenty deserves their score based on what we got for our money and the way in which they really try hard to make your stay great.
We had a deal for dinner, bed and breakfast and managed to get their best room in the house, Room 4, with the biggest bed we have ever slept in and an amazing bathroom!
The service is great; all the staff are obviously local and are really polite and friendly. That said, the younger staff appeared to have lacked the quality of experience you would probably get from larger hotels, though what they lacked in experience, they made up for with politeness and a willingness to help. The little things make you so welcoming like the offer of a piece of cake with your tea, entrees and complimentary starters etc.
The house and rooms are furnished to a high standard, though I thought the restaurant area and the bar were the most disappointing and they kept the lights on quite bright during dinner which was a little off-putting and unromantic!
I know I am being a bit picky here but I do get frustrated, all too often, when restaurants have very good wine lists and then serve red wine at room temperature and in small glasses. Decent red needs time to breath and the only way you can do that at restaurants is to serve it in large glasses and at the right temperature.
The food here is great, though if you have been for a long hike on Dartmoor and looking forward to a feast, then the portions are definitely on the small size; good food doesn't always have to come in small sizes! (Take extra bread!)
Overall, it is most definitely worth staying here, the service and food is great and so are the rooms and for the price you pay you can't go wrong. We were planning on staying at a 'Pig' hotel. However, here we got the best room in the house + dinner + breakfast for £50 more than the pig wanted for a just a basic room and no food! We will stay here again I am sure.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a must. I'd pay the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L1am29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at Horn of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear L1am29,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a thoughtful review of your stay with us at the Horn of Plenty.
I am delighted to learn that your first experience at our hotel was worthy of five stars and that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your recent visit.
Thank you for recommending our hotel and restaurant to others.
We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again very soon.
Best Regards

Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely welcome and some great treats left out for our dog. Very nice bedroom & the hotel had pretty grounds that you can walk around. The breakfast was delicious & the staff were happy and attentive. Very satisfied with our stay here & would recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Colette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at Horn of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Colette L
Thank you for positing such a lovely review of your recent stay at the Horn of Plenty. We are so pleased to read that you found the staff, decor and breakfast so enjoyable. We do love to add the extra touch for those travelling with their four legged friends!
We hope to welcome you all back again soon.
Kindest regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We had our wedding here in may, what a fantastic venue, nothing was too much trouble from start to finish, it was exactly what we both wanted and met all our demands! Julue and her staff were amazing on the day! Even managing to bring our meal forward an hour! The house and gardens are amazing for taking photos, would seriously recommed to everyone who is thinking of getting married!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank pipandmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at Horn of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear pipandmax,
Thank you very much for your fantastic review.
I am just so pleased that we were able to help create the perfect day for you both.
I hope that you and your guests will be returning to the Horn of Plenty again soon as we would love to hear how married life is treating you.

Thank you again for your recommendation and high praise.
Best Regards

Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

In one of the best rooms in the Coach House there are splendid views over the Tamar valley either from the bed or sitting out on the balcony. There is a good menu for breakfast and the evening meals are exceptional. The staff were all very attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 15 for excellent views and spacious bedroom and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We travelled a long way to get here and it was certainly worth it. We had one of the special offer 3 night gourmet events and I was expecting this to be a good stay. We've stayed in quite a few country house hotels over the years but until now, nothing as good as this. I'll finish this in short bullet points because I'm stabbing fingers on an iPhone.

POSITIVES
• arrived to prosecco and cream tea in the dining room overlooking that superb view of the Tamar valley. We had hoped to do this on our balcony but the weather was not good enough.

• Room 4 was amazing, spacious, very clean and a huge bathroom. The bed was 8ft wide - we measured it! Just what I needed as I lie like a starfish in bed.

• as expected the food was excellent on all 3 nights. The second night tasting menu was particularly good and the chef arranged for my wife to have special veggie courses for everything. Much appreciated. Wine list was very comprehensive and there were several of reasonable price and wines by the glass. So you wouldn't have to pay a fortune, unless you wanted to.

• extremely friendly and courteous staff at all levels; at reception and checking in, helpful staff with settling in, very polite and attentive waiting staff, with good knowledge of the day's menu and alternatives to some courses. Also very smartly turned out - that makes a difference.

• breakfast choices were wide and excellent. Very good eggs benedict and florentine.

NEGATIVES
• all staff were great but we couldn't identify those who were particularly helpful because no one wore name badges. This would be useful.

Overall then, a wonderful experience which we will certainly repeat. The Horn of Plenty is one of the rare shining lights among the pale flickering candles of so-called luxury country house hotels and restaurants that we have visited over the years.

Reading this, some may think the review is a bit over the top! Let me assure you that this is not the case and further, that we have no connection, family or business, with this place and we were not commissioned to write a review, nor did we receive any free meals/drinks.

We recommend that you try it for yourself and you'll find this review to be quite accurate!


Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gastrobods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at Horn of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Gastrobods,
What a wonderful review to read, and one which I will certainly enjoy sharing with the entire team.
Thank you for taking the time to post such positive and detailed feedback - The photos of the room and views are just fab!
Your recommendation to others is very much appreciated and we do hope you find the opportunity to visit us again soon, despite the long journey, as we would all very much like to welcome you back!
Warm Regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulworthy
27.8 km away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,145 reviews
31.0 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,426 reviews
12.9 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
346 reviews
4.1 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
527 reviews
34.0 km away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horn of Plenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horn of Plenty

Address: Gulworthy | Nr Tavistock, Devon, Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock > Gulworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Price Range: $190 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horn of Plenty 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "National Small Hotel of the Year - Silver" in Visit England's 2015 Awards for Excellence, The Horn of Plenty has been thrilling guests for 50 almost years with some of the South West's very best food, drink and accommodation. This independently owned small Country House Hotel and Restaurant has 4 AA stars and 2 AA rosettes for fine dining The hotel stands high on a hill, overlooking 5 acres of beautiful gardens and wild orchards, and beyond that, the breathtaking scenery of the Tamar Valley. 16 stylishly furnished en-suite bedrooms offer outstanding comfort and luxury. Most have balconies overlooking the valley. Food is high on the agenda here, with 90% of produce sourced locally. Service is everything you'd hope for: warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful, without a hint of stuffiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Horn of Plenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Gulworthy
Horn Of Plenty Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing