We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Horn Of Plenty
Nearby Hotels
The Harvest Home(Gulworthy)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Duke of Tavistock(Tavistock)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Endsleigh(Milton Abbot)
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$111
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Woodovis Park(Gulworthy)
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
542
110
45
23
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
542
110
45
23
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstamar valleythe main housetasting menufine diningamuse bouchelarge balconyspecial occasioncountry hotelmichelin starcoach houselobsterduckdrawing roombirthday treatstunning viewssuperior roompetit fours
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely welcome and some great treats left out for our dog. Very nice bedroom & the hotel had pretty grounds that you can walk around. The breakfast was delicious & the staff were happy and attentive. Very satisfied with our stay here & would recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Colette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Colette L
Thank you for positing such a lovely review of your recent stay at the Horn of Plenty. We are so pleased to read that you found the staff, decor and breakfast so enjoyable. We do love to add the extra touch for those travelling with their four legged friends!
We hope to welcome you all back again soon.
Kindest regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We had our wedding here in may, what a fantastic venue, nothing was too much trouble from start to finish, it was exactly what we both wanted and met all our demands! Julue and her staff were amazing on the day! Even managing to bring our meal forward an hour! The house and gardens are amazing for taking photos, would seriously recommed to everyone who is thinking of getting married!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank pipandmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear pipandmax,
Thank you very much for your fantastic review.
I am just so pleased that we were able to help create the perfect day for you both.
I hope that you and your guests will be returning to the Horn of Plenty again soon as we would love to hear how married life is treating you.

Thank you again for your recommendation and high praise.
Best Regards

Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

In one of the best rooms in the Coach House there are splendid views over the Tamar valley either from the bed or sitting out on the balcony. There is a good menu for breakfast and the evening meals are exceptional. The staff were all very attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 15 for excellent views and spacious bedroom and bathroom
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We travelled a long way to get here and it was certainly worth it. We had one of the special offer 3 night gourmet events and I was expecting this to be a good stay. We've stayed in quite a few country house hotels over the years but until now, nothing as good as this. I'll finish this in short bullet points because I'm stabbing fingers on an iPhone.

POSITIVES
• arrived to prosecco and cream tea in the dining room overlooking that superb view of the Tamar valley. We had hoped to do this on our balcony but the weather was not good enough.

• Room 4 was amazing, spacious, very clean and a huge bathroom. The bed was 8ft wide - we measured it! Just what I needed as I lie like a starfish in bed.

• as expected the food was excellent on all 3 nights. The second night tasting menu was particularly good and the chef arranged for my wife to have special veggie courses for everything. Much appreciated. Wine list was very comprehensive and there were several of reasonable price and wines by the glass. So you wouldn't have to pay a fortune, unless you wanted to.

• extremely friendly and courteous staff at all levels; at reception and checking in, helpful staff with settling in, very polite and attentive waiting staff, with good knowledge of the day's menu and alternatives to some courses. Also very smartly turned out - that makes a difference.

• breakfast choices were wide and excellent. Very good eggs benedict and florentine.

NEGATIVES
• all staff were great but we couldn't identify those who were particularly helpful because no one wore name badges. This would be useful.

Overall then, a wonderful experience which we will certainly repeat. The Horn of Plenty is one of the rare shining lights among the pale flickering candles of so-called luxury country house hotels and restaurants that we have visited over the years.

Reading this, some may think the review is a bit over the top! Let me assure you that this is not the case and further, that we have no connection, family or business, with this place and we were not commissioned to write a review, nor did we receive any free meals/drinks.

We recommend that you try it for yourself and you'll find this review to be quite accurate!


Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gastrobods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Gastrobods,
What a wonderful review to read, and one which I will certainly enjoy sharing with the entire team.
Thank you for taking the time to post such positive and detailed feedback - The photos of the room and views are just fab!
Your recommendation to others is very much appreciated and we do hope you find the opportunity to visit us again soon, despite the long journey, as we would all very much like to welcome you back!
Warm Regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

The Horn of Plenty is situated with elevated wide ranging views of the River Tamar to Bodmin Moor. The house had a lovely comfortable air with fabulous fine paintings available from the fine art gallery for those with deep pockets. The bright and airy dining room has great views over the garden and countryside. We visited with friends on a special birthday. They printed a special menu and the petits fours were delivered on a slate with Happy Birthday written in toffee.
The food was exquisite and superbly cooked and presented. The staff were attentive, friendly and never intrusive. We left feeling we had been somewhere really special. Well done Horn of Plenty.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear john o,

Thank you for sharing such a kind and complimentary review of your recent lunch with us at the Horn of Plenty. We are so pleased to read that we were able to help make your special birthday celebration so memorable and thrilled to have left such a great impression!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews