We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cabin in Birnam”
Review of Erigmore

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Birnam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Erigmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We stayed for one week in the boutique one bedroom spa lodge. Our cabin was at the beginning of the entrance which you would think would be undesirable but it had a wonderful view on the deck. The cabin was very well appointed, and the kitchen was more than I was expecting. The living room was compact but it had everything you needed and you had glass slider doors that you could open to get fresh air. This cabin had a jacuzzi, they don't empty the water out after every new guest (which I was hoping for) but they are religious and adamant about checking the water two times a day.The bed was thankfully comfortable and there was a TV in both the bedroom and the living room which is nice if there are two of you traveling. The bathroom was very large and the shower was quite impressive as it had a rain forest showerhead. Everything was very clean which I greatly appreciated. Warning there is no wifi in the cabins you have to go to the main building. This was fine for me, but annoyed my husband. As you don't want to be attached to your phone while on vacation I was fine with the setup. The main house is very comfortable with lots of seating and while we were there they had live music at least one night. The restaurant was closed down months earlier as most people bring their own food, but Howie's Bistro is downtown if you want to eat out. There are a couple of ways to get downtown from the estate. I recommend the walk along the Tay River, very beautiful and you get there in 15 minutes. The only issue I had was there was only one washer and dryer available. We were thankfully first the day we wanted to do laundry but otherwise we would have had an issue. The washer also appeared to need some maintenance as it did not remove enough water from the clothes and they were still soaked when they were removed. The front desk will give you change for the machine. Warning: there are new and old euro dollars and the machine only accepts the old one. So hoard those if you need to do laundry. The laundry facilities were my only drawback. It's a very convenient location and easy to site see using the estate as a home base. If we were staying in the area again I would stay at the estate.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bassethoundsforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017

Me and my boyfriend have stayed in one of the dog friendly highland lodges twice now. Inside they are absolutely beautiful and have everything you could possibly need for your stay there. The massive tv's in the living room and bedroom is an added bonus.

The outside hot tub is one of the main reasons why we will keep on returning as it's absolutely amazing to chill out in when the Scottish weather is its usual bleak self.

The bar on site at the main house has a very friendly and highly trained team who are always on hand to help. Their drinks and cocktail menu is excellent and is what you would expect to see in a city centre bar. There was an excellent Ed Sheeran/Paulo Nutini tribute act on when we last visited in July. He really added to the atmosphere of the place and was a huge hit with all age groups.

Keep up the good work guys. We look forward to seeing you again in 2018.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BobbyC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Had 3 days in 'Holly Lodge' which was a perfect size for us & our yorkie. Peaceful location in which to chill & enjoy the view. Lodge was lovely, stylish & spotless. Housekeeping deserves a pat on the back. They had everything you could want (we ate out all the time) but had we wanted to cook there was nothing they did not have from eggcups to a dishwasher. The riverside walks into Dunkeld were beautiful & our wee dog did not want to leave, as we were packing the car she ran back to the lodge door wanting to stay : )

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mrscolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

A couple of our friends had invited us to stay with them at Erigmore, so we travelled all the way up from the South Coast of the UK to be with them. Very impressed with the lodge, with 2 double bedrooms and a spa in the garden. The whole set up is incredibly impressive, set in woodland in the village of Birnam, 2 minutes drive from Dunkeld. The kitchen facilities are brilliant, had everything from a cooker, microwave, dishwasher to a massive fridge and freezer and second fridge. The bathrooms were also huge. LOVE the mood lighting in the showers along with the complimentary toiletries. The little lights built into the bedroom ceiling were awesome. Sadly we only had 3 nights here, but it gave us a base from which to visit the wider area. The fish and chip shop in Dunkeld is definately one to grab a fish supper from if thats your thing too. We really enjoyed our stay here, so hope to come back to Erigmore some time in the near future.

Room Tip: Grab a lodge with a spa if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galileo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Had a fantastic stay in a highland boutique lodge last week. Both my partner and I were stunned at the high quality finish of the lodge. The hot tub was wonderful and very secluded with bathrobes and slippers included. And there was a beautiful big bathroom with Arran Aromatics toiletries!

We enjoyed the forest walks around the estate and went to the main building in the evening for drinks. The staff were exceptionally friendly and the residents were warm and welcoming to us.

My only suggestion would be to add sandwiches or snacks to the options at the bar. The restaurant is unfortunately no longer open. But a few little items would make a wonderful addition to a stunning holiday location.

Room Tip: go for the lodges with the hot tub! Peaceful and very addictive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank babyainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birnam
2.7 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,375 reviews
12.0 km away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
807 reviews
1.4 km away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
36.5 km away
Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages
0.6 km away
Birnam Hotel
Birnam Hotel
#5 of 5 in Birnam
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erigmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erigmore

Address: St. Marys Road | Perthshire, Birnam PH8 0BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Birnam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Birnam
Price Range: $135 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Erigmore Hotel Birnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing