We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNDRINKABLE DRINKS AND SOAPY TASTING FOOD”
Review of Bumbu Bali

Bumbu Bali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$55
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Serving Bali's flavorful cuisine: Recognized as the leading Balinese Restaurant on the island and the recipient of numerous awards, Bumbu Bali is your guide into the many culinary treasures our island paradise has on offer. Our daily fish and vegetable market visits are a guarantee that we serve you only the finest ingredients found on Bali
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ordered virgin pina coladas, virgin margaritas and the dinner meal for two, which consisted of many grilled items.

I am not the type who returns meals, but our drinks were undrinkable. We returned them and asked for sodas instead.

Our meals came quickly and with much fanfare. However, sad to say, each dish was consistently bad. Meat and seafood were overcooked and chewy and smothered in lemongrass to the point that it was like we were chewing on a bar of soap. We hardly finished our meal and left disappointed and hungry.

Why are there so many great reviews? What am I missing here? I was told later by friends and relatives who go to Bali often that we should have eaten street food, but there weren't any where we were staying. I hardly had one decent meal during our 3 day stay in Bali.

Here's a curious question: In the US, how come there are so many Thai restaurants, Japanese restaurants, Korean, Malaysian, Filipino, but never an Indonesian restaurant? If Bumbu Bali is any indication, the reason is as plain as the lemongrass drowning your meals. I wish, I wish, I wish, it were good, and that I were writing a good review. Sigh.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Saintlars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 3,076 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We loved our meal here. We tried the duck and seafood satays. Both were delicious and felt authentic. There are a bunch of sides that come with as well. The only negative is it is outside and there are a bunch of lil ponds running through the restaurant. She started getting attacked by mosquitoes and so as soon as we finished we ran out. Def we bug spray and cover up. The food is delicious and so it's worth a stop.

Thank Marsh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rumahb4li, Manager at Bumbu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Greetings from the magic island of Bali, from which we hope you, have returned safely, after an enjoyable vacation here on the island of Gods,

Once again thank you very much for dining in Bumbu Bali and the time you have taken to give a review, to express your feelings on our food and beverage service standards.

We very much hope that sometimes in the near future we will be able to welcome you and your friends back to the world’s greatest island for another Balinese cultural and culinary experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This establishment is very good looking its a stylish and equally traditional designed. Bery representative to bring guest and business partner to dine. Display of food served considered very 4-5star. But in terms of taste it is just so so as this review's title.

Thank kartono_huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rumahb4li, Manager at Bumbu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Greetings from the magic island of Bali, from which we hope you, have returned safely, after an enjoyable vacation here on the island of Gods,

Once again thank you very much for dining in Bumbu Bali and the time you have taken to give a review, to express your feelings on our food and beverage service standards.

We very much hope that sometimes in the near future we will be able to welcome you and your friends back to the world’s greatest island for another Balinese cultural and culinary experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment you walk through the door you are immersed in amazing welcoming experience. From the chefs calling out a welcome, to the attentive waitstaff and the most amazing meal nothing has been overlooked. Highly recommend this to everyone visiting Bali.

Thank Delene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rumahb4li, Manager at Bumbu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Greetings from the magic island of Bali, from which we hope you, have returned safely, after an enjoyable vacation here on the island of Gods,

Once again thank you very much for dining in Bumbu Bali and the time you have taken to give a review, to express your feelings on our food and beverage service standards.

We very much hope that sometimes in the near future we will be able to welcome you and your friends back to the world’s greatest island for another Balinese cultural and culinary experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

From the moment one enters Bambu Bali to a welcome from the kitchen staff and a frangipani placed behind one's ear, one knows they are in for a pleasant experience.
Once seated, the friendly staff present the menu and a plate of crackers with a chilli dip and take any drink orders.
While we pondered the menu the helpful waitress explained that the serves were quite large and two main courses would be more than adequate for a couple to share. Following this advice we ordered a seafood sate that comprised minced seafood on sticks of lemon grass together with a chicken curry in coconut milk.
The dishes arrived on an attractively presented wooden platter with side dishes of 3 different rice choices (steamed, brown and rice cake), pickled vegetables and some tasty salad sides along with sate and soy sauces. The presentation was superb and an explanation given for each component. While, in our case, the comment that the whole chillies and the lemon grass stalks were unnecessary, it is reasonable given that some may be experiencing these for the first time. I shook my head when I read a review where the writer took offence at the comment.
The balance of the flavours was of the highest quality and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience and the friendly service. We were given a complimentary icecream to complete or meal - a nice touch.
The whole dining experience, which included 3 bears and a soft drink, came to around A$45 - great value. I can only assume that the reviewers complaining about the cost probably only dine at McDonalds when at home.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rumahb4li, Manager at Bumbu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Greetings from the magic island of Bali, from which we hope you, have returned safely, after an enjoyable vacation here on the island of Gods,

Once again thank you very much for dining in Bumbu Bali and the time you have taken to give a review, to express your feelings on our food and beverage service standards.

Comments such as yours are extremely important to us, in order to maintain and improve our culinary standards for which we would like to be known for. Regardless whether good or negative, those comments are a valuable part of our daily employee’s briefings and become a most imperative tool in streamlining our training sessions.

We very much hope that sometimes in the near future we will be able to welcome you and your friends back to the world’s greatest island for another Balinese cultural and culinary experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bumbu Bali also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Bumbu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing