We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vaikoi
Nearby Hotels
US$364
US$199
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$158
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$286
US$257
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Edgewater Resort & Spa(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$138
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$124
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Raro(Avarua)
US$116
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
42
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmata and kathyminute walkacross the roadscooter hireaccommodationislandprivacy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We had the 3 bedroom house and we were visiting Rarotonga for a family wedding.All the rest of the family were staying in resorts which were very highly priced so when they visited us they could nt believe our luck,the price,location and they didnt want to go back to their own rooms cause of the relaxed atmosphere,space and privacy.

Mata the host makes you feel so welcome and is always available for a chat.Yep,the best place to stay in Rarotonga in terms of everything by a country mile!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank churmybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We stayed at Vaikoi over Christmas period at 1bed bungalow and had a very pleasant experience. Upon arrival our host Mata greeted us and provided with all necessary stuff for the first few days to have a smooth start of your holiday.

Tidy rooms with high celling, kitchen with all the appliances you need for cooking meals (in case when restaurants are closed or booked out). From nice veranda you can enjoy your dinner cooked on a small outdoor gas BBQ whilst watching the sun going down.
There was a pleasant gift from our hosts on the Christmas eve - a hearty basket of sweet cakes and a couple of little bottles of sparkling wine.

Just 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach with good spots for snorkeling. Complementary kayak extends your options for water activities.

There were sometimes roosters waking us up in the middle of the night, but that's i think is a common issue throughout the island. The bungalow itself was also close to the road and sometimes you can hear local traffic passing by, not very loud or frequent though.

It's worth to rent out a car or a scooter for the whole duration of the stay, as the best restaurants and shops are located in a distance from this place.

If we are going to visit Rarotonga again, we will definitely stay at Vaikoi, highly recommend, very good value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovkiys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

This is a very reasonable accommodation, hosts Kathy and Mata go above and beyond, and it was just across the road from a wonderful beach! We wouldn't stay anywhere else if we ever get the chance to go again. Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank TheKovacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Vaikoi villa - we stayed here for a week with friends. we had a one bedroom villa while our friends (with children) stayed in the 3 bedroom house. was perfect! very short flat walk to beach - were the snorkling was the best and the beach was lovely - hardly anyone on it.
the rooms very clean and comfortable...complimentary snorkling gear shoes beach towls kayak ...etc lovely palm trees all around - private yet able to sit outside and enjoy a friends company. owners very lovely, interesting helpful people. When i go back to Rarotonga i will definately stay there again. Will recommend to anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explorer2010nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Vaikoi is the prefect place to stay. I had a holiday with my mum and sister so we stayed in the 3 bed house. There was more than enough room and we were more than comfortable. Mata and kathy were great hosts very friendly and nothing was a problem if we needed anything. The house was clean and private in a beautiful setting. The beach was close and one of the best beaches on the island. It was fun to have use of the kayak and snorkel gear. I would highly recommend staying here and hope to be back in a years time for my honeymoon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen00476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews