We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,366)
Filter reviews
1,366 results
Traveller rating
504
499
196
87
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
499
196
87
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eden beach clothing optional beach nude beach garden bungalow sea grapes beach superior sea view tamarind tree air conditioning rex resorts main beach ceiling fan honeymoon beach laid back repeat guests beach bar sugar mill sand flies
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 1,366 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2018

This was a return visit ,something we never do. We were so looking forward to this wonderful location. We still had a brilliant holiday but things are not as they should be, you cannot excuse things by saying it's how things are in the Caribbean all the time.
I have delayed this review ( we have been home a week) just to research if other hotels in the area are suffering from the water shortages that Hawksbill seem to ,two days without water in our room, could not even flush the toilet, expecting us to use alternative showers and facilities at other places on the resort is not acceptable. There is no mention on any other hotel reviews of a water shortage, as it has to tankered in it must be down to bad management not keeping on eye on things. It is wrong for guests do have suffer when we have paid good money for the best rooms on the resort.
As we found before some members of staff are excellent ,David on reception, the hardworking David the barman along with Christabell it was the only time that service was anywhere near as good as you expect from this standard of resort.
The service the rest of time was just not acceptable some of the time you get the feeling they are doing you a favour by serving you.
The evening meals were generally of a good standard but the portion size was varied sometimes not much at all other times just about adequate . Breakfast was a bit of a joke really ,they seemed to have saved the most miserable staff for that . Most of the time your were not even told what was on offer, could be a policy to kee the expense down.
Last year's buffet breakfast worked so much better.
Lunch was not much better, again the barbecue lunch seemed to work so much better last year . The excuse is it's ala carte...
I don't like to moan but a bar that runs out of beer and ice is not much use on hot Caribbean beach.
We still love the location it is beautiful ,the goats wandering through are not a problem,the cats that sit politely waiting for titbits all add to the charm.
The few members of staff that work hard to make sure we get the holiday we have paid for ( including all the maintenance and landscape) are being let down badly by a lack of management and the laziness of the rest of the staff some who have been there a long time and really should know better.
We would love to return again but it is just not going to happen without a lot of changes.
We will return to this wonderful island but sadly not to Hawksbill.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank hilgaydn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts. I do apologize for all of the challenges that you experienced during your stay with us, we would have wanted nothing more than for all of our guests to have the most seamlessly beautiful holiday. We do intend to make a lot of improvements over the upcoming months as we seek to better meet the requests and expectations of our guests. It is truly regrettable that your experience this time fell below the standard we aspire to and we would encourage you to consider Hawksbill again as we continue to make improvements. It was our pleasure taking care of you both and do hope we will get to welcome you back someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We’ve just moved on to another hotel having stayed at Hawkbill for four nights. Overall we were very disappointed with the resort and what was on offer.
We had no water for two days, instead of moving us to a room where there was water we were required to walk to the other side of the hotel,take a shower and return the key, totally unsatisfactory.
With only 10 residents there was no atmosphere, the majority appeared at meal time and disappeared straight after eating.
Drinks were served in flimsy plastic cups, even at the restaurant bar I had to ask for a glass for our gin and tonics I the evening.
The resort is clearly being rundown and on the verge of closing.
The lovely David, barman/waiter was the saviour of our stay.
Other than the fantastic location there’s nothing else to recommend

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
11  Thank hilarywalker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Hello Hilary, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts. We truly value the feedback we receive from our guests and use the constructives given to improve the guest experience. I do apologize that your experience this time around was not as wonderful as we would have wanted it to be. Since then we have been implementing improvements to ensure that such disappointments do not reoccur. We do hope that as we continue to improve that you would consider Hawksbill, as it was our pleasure taking care of you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Hawksbill is incredibly peaceful and we had a lovely beachfront room which was spacious and the ensuite was clean but in need of updating. Hate shower curtains - yuk!
Staff on the whole friendly and helpful but sadly one young waitress was extremely sullen and non communicative to the point of rudeness! We were there in low season and everything seemed to grind to a halt - the first week we had pancakes and omelettes on offer for breakfast - second week - none first week had a daily lunchtime bbq - second week none - first week entertainment - second week only once. Food ok but nothing to write home about .
There was nothing to do at the resort other than snorkel and read so it made for a long couple of weeks! We had a relaxing break but will not be going back.

Date of stay: July 2018
6  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Hello Claire, thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hawksbill by Rex Resorts. I do apologize for the challenges that you have experienced during your stay with us and for the seeming lack of enthusiasm of the staff you mentioned. We all love what we do and it makes us happy knowing that our guests are happy, we would have wanted nothing more than for you to have had an amazing holiday. Thank you the constructive points mentioned and we will be making every effort to make improvements to better meet our guests expectations. We do encourage you to consider Hawksbill in the future as we make improvements over the next few months. It was our pleasure taking care of you both and do hope that we will get to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We have promised that we won't go back to revisit holidays and have stuck to this for years. However the quirky charm of Hawksbill mean we broke that pledge within 11 months of leaving, last year.

This is a delightful laid back and relaxing resort that lets you feel that you're really experiencing the Caribbean. In 2017 we arrived 5 days after Irma. At that time we forgave the lack of entertainment on any of the evenings and the slightly haphazard food menu as we assumed they were recovering from the storm. We weren't worried about the dated accommodation and Retro design as these made it feel more authentic. However this year the same problems arose. With only 20 to 30 guests the mnagement seemed to have decided to curtial any of the promised evening events - not that I wanted much, but that;'s twice I've missed the beach barbecue. They also cut back to two front of house at dinner time, so if the waitress was busy ther was a long wait at the bar while the bar staff hepled her out, and vice-versa when the bar was busy, with a long wait to be served dinner.

All in all a huge shame. We love this place and returning was like putting on a comfortable pair of slippers and we felt really at home. However it began to fell that no-one really cared about the guest apart from the dining and bar staff and that management were either running the place down to get a revamp, or a sale. Maybe thay just thought with so many repeat guests they just can ignore fulfilling their part of the holiday experience and rely on us to just keep coming back.

As we left I felt that I was saying goodbye to an Old Friend who might not be around next time ...

Date of stay: August 2018
5  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Hello Paul and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts. I must apologize for us not meeting your expectations and for the challenges that you experienced during your stay. We do appreciate you letting us know your concerns as it gives us an opportunity to improve. You stand assured that we are committed to making every effort to improve our product and our guests experiences. We thank you for visiting us again and would encourage you to consider Hawksbill in the future as we continue to make improvements over the coming months. It was our pleasure taking care of you both and we do hope that we will get to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay at hawks bill.
As there were few guests when we arrived, we were upgraded to a beach bungalow, only a few steps from the beautiful calm sea.
The staff were very friendly, they always made sure we had enough to drink and had friendly smiles.
We had a la carte every evening due to low amount of guests. Had a number of options to choose from, the meals were very nice.
The rooms were always clean, had fresh towels and bedding every day.
We had a family of goats around, they were no trouble and the paths were always kept clean.
Every morning we would feed the birds with sugar the came to visit.
We went to Shirley on the Sunday, great atmosphere with local steel band and bbq. The views were amazing.
We also went horse riding, the guides give you a tour near hawks bill they were really friendly and helpful.
One evening the assistant manager introduced herself to the guests to make sure we was all ok and she even arranged to open one of the gift shops out of hours for us.
Only negative was the mosquitoes, you need to get some strong spray as some guests were getting bitten.
Apart from that the location was beautiful, very peaceful and relaxing, great holiday with the family.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank lottieprickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Hello to the Prickler three, and thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Hawksbill, we appreciate that! We are all so very pleased that you had a great time with us and had some interesting and enjoyable experiences while you were in Antigua. We just love when our guests have had a great time and that we could help make their vacation as relaxing and wonderful as possible. It is very important to us here at Hawksbill to take good care of our guests, and it pays off as our long list of repeaters who come back for many years keeps on growing. I am confident that we will be welcoming you back and it will be our pleasure to take very good care of you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews