We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,315)
Filter reviews
2,315 results
Traveller rating
643
877
428
205
162
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
643
877
428
205
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarri piercarib barpier restaurantarawak terracepoolside roomaqua aerobicsdickenson baythree starshirley heightsbeautiful beachsome tlcgreat holidaycoconut grovea bit tiredsteel bandsister hotelfruit punch
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 2,315 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

This is marketed as old-style resort, and old it is... Has certain character for sure but all structure is tired and a bit old-fashioned. Even if kept clean and functional. However, it is ultimate failure to inspire with anything than drives this hotel down. Staff is friendly but will not make you feel any more than tolerated guest, certainly no more than local day-visitors (that do not make it feel any more special than being on a public beach). We were booked as honeymooners with special welcome promised but obviously nobody paid any attention to that (we got sparkling wine on day three after our travel manager intervened). Water-sport equipment promised in the description was nowhere to be seen either. Beach-front apartment was good size with nice view but aircon was not functioning with remote missing (staff hardwired it ultimately to sort-of-working state), it took two days to open safe and one could pick the room door lock with a plastic knife. Beach is Caribbean nice but not tended to, so a fair amount of broken glass was picked every day (wear beach shoes when walking). Grass and plants were not watered and burnt-out although some interesting species were abounding - plants, birds and lizards. Food was good and some inspiring drinks made at the beach bar. No drinks in the room however despite all inclusive package. One picks the cooled water from a bar but you need your own bottle to take it with you. When we were here, there was few guests (more during the day - locals buying day-passes) and the place was quiet, now crowds on the beach. Relaxing holiday if you can overlook above mentioned...Ultimately, however, seeing Sandals resort next door with nice green plants and parks, clean pristine beach and torch-lit tables on the beach, abundancy of boats, etc. made you wondering if spending just some more to be there would not be justified... After our overlooked y staff honeymoon occasion (and resort has London-based wedding and honeymoon coordinator I contacted before travel) I would be worried to suggest any special occasion there. BTW, tried to contact the hotel by email few times - never to receive a response.

Stayed: July 2018
3  Thank Marabut199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Execellent accomadations and service were provided by the staff of Halcyon Cove by Rex Resort. A well kept beach with loungers and cover made a beach visit very relaxing. The weekend entertainment was great.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LAWRENCE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlene M, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Lawrence P,

Greetings from the Team at Halcyon Cove by rex resorts, we appreciated the opportunity to serve and thank for choosing our resort and for posting a review on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure having you with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Antigua.

Kind regards
Arlene Marsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel and its views are simply amazing. Stayed here for a family vacation commencing July 1st. You are welcomed by friendly faces and a rum punch. During our stay the staff were extremely friendly and they ensured that you were well taken care off. Hats off to Fenton,Magretta, David, Jessie and the front desk. Would definitely recommend this hotel. And if you were to visit be sure to ask for the driver Adrian. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank kriselle16ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlene M, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Dear Valued Guests,

Our Team at Halcyon Cove thank you for choosing our resort for your recent vacation and for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and do look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

This was my second time in Antigua but 1st at Halcyon. Really loved the atmosphere and the beach was perfect! Food was quite good but was excellent on a particular night...kudos to chef Arnold (hope I got it right). Breakfast seemed a bit repetitive but was delicious all the same. The view from the Warri Pier was perfect!!!
Staff??? Excellent!!!!!! They made us feel so comfortable and were so kind! Katharina at the front desk, Fenton who kept us laughing and everyone else were really pleasant.
The room however, with some upgrade wld be better. The mini fridge did not function at it's best. However it was nothing to complain about. Whatever the hotel lacked, the staff made up for with their attitudes.
Oh quick mention, Taxi driver Adrian was the absolute best to get around the island with...so definitely ask for him.
I will definitely recommend anyone to stay at Halcyon. The price is great and the atmosphere was very relaxing and peaceful!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank shenzyards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlene M, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Dear Shenzyards,

It was a pleasure having you with us, thank you for the opportunity to serve and for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Our Team sends very best wishes, we are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Arlene Marsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Have just enjoyed yet another lovely week at Halcyon Cove. My room was just fine, always clean and very comfortable (no interest in watching TV whilst on holiday - that was never turned on!). The staff are always lovely, always happy to chat or help if there's a problem. There are two things that stop me giving an 'excellent' for this particular stay - one was the invasion of school children on 3 of our 7 days at the resort, they were very nice children but the noise was just too much (I like to relax by the pool and this wasn't possible on two of these days due to children taking the pool over for the whole day), and secondly, 'The Party up the Hill' - now that was more than noisy!! A special mention for Fenton and Margaretta - they're great!! Despite the issues on this visit - I will be back!!

Room Tip: Garden view or pool view rooms are obviously nicer than standard rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank nannymarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlene M, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear valued Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having you with us once again, thank you for the opportunity to serve and for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

Our entire Team sends their very best wishes and do look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Arlene Marsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews