We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food, fabulous pub!”
Review of The Goose & Cuckoo

The Goose & Cuckoo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Goose & Cuckoo
Ranked #1 of 5 Llangadog B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2016

The Goose & Cuckoo is a lovely village pub. Luke and his staff are always friendly and very efficient. The food is awesome advisable to book ahead to avoid disappointment, caters for special occasions, has a beer garden and is family friendly. If your passing through the village you must call in and see Luke and the friendly locals!

Room Tip: Lovely village pub fantastic food & service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

We arranged to meet a long-lost friend at this little pub in Llangadog. We did not know this area of Wales at all so we chose our meeting place solely on the info provided by their website. It did not disappoint. We were welcomed in by Luke, a most charming gentleman who served us with not only a wonderful lunch of Welsh beef pie and great beer but with a professionalism that any Public House proprietor would be proud of. Polite, friendly and everything came with a smile and good grace. Thanks to Luke, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and were able to chat at length with our old friend in a relaxed and extremely hospitable setting. If you are looking for good food & beer, a comfortable and friendly pub atmosphere, then I can highly recommend The Goose & Cuckoo.
It is exactly what a good pub/restaurant should be.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

A good all round pub!! Good meals friendly staff and a nice pint!! Wooden fires in lounge and bar ample beer garden, when the sun shines. All welcome see Luke for a good Welsh welcome. A pub that is on the famous Towy valley scenic route

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank eifionjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015

This is an excellent pub. Good home-cooked food, well-kept beer, friendly staff and a good atmosphere - at a very reasonable price. We went there on the advice of the B&B where we were staying, and were not disappointed.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank JontyMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We stayed for one night and although we arrived early, the landlord was more than happy to show us round. The room verlooking the square was large and clean with a huge comfy bed! We ate in the restaurant that evening and had a fantastic meal - can thoroughly recommend the Drovers pie! We were the only people staying that night and were asked what time we would like breakfast which was also substantial and tasty.
Luke and his team provided great friendly service and would really recommend a visit. We'd certainly go back!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square are still quiet despite the road outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Goose & Cuckoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goose & Cuckoo

Address: Queens Square, Llangadog SA19 9EE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llangadog
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Llangadog
Price Range: $123 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Goose & Cuckoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing