We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Red Lion(Llangadog)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
24
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat foodevening mealfree wificooked to perfectionpubcharlieshowercomfortportionsbeacons
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

We arranged to meet a long-lost friend at this little pub in Llangadog. We did not know this area of Wales at all so we chose our meeting place solely on the info provided by their website. It did not disappoint. We were welcomed in by Luke, a most charming gentleman who served us with not only a wonderful lunch of Welsh beef pie and great beer but with a professionalism that any Public House proprietor would be proud of. Polite, friendly and everything came with a smile and good grace. Thanks to Luke, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and were able to chat at length with our old friend in a relaxed and extremely hospitable setting. If you are looking for good food & beer, a comfortable and friendly pub atmosphere, then I can highly recommend The Goose & Cuckoo.
It is exactly what a good pub/restaurant should be.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

A good all round pub!! Good meals friendly staff and a nice pint!! Wooden fires in lounge and bar ample beer garden, when the sun shines. All welcome see Luke for a good Welsh welcome. A pub that is on the famous Towy valley scenic route

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank eifionjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015

This is an excellent pub. Good home-cooked food, well-kept beer, friendly staff and a good atmosphere - at a very reasonable price. We went there on the advice of the B&B where we were staying, and were not disappointed.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank JontyMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We stayed for one night and although we arrived early, the landlord was more than happy to show us round. The room verlooking the square was large and clean with a huge comfy bed! We ate in the restaurant that evening and had a fantastic meal - can thoroughly recommend the Drovers pie! We were the only people staying that night and were asked what time we would like breakfast which was also substantial and tasty.
Luke and his team provided great friendly service and would really recommend a visit. We'd certainly go back!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square are still quiet despite the road outside
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Have visited as couple, with family and with friends. We are more than satisfied everytime. The menu is great and the food is consistently good. Nice ambience and you can tell a lot as the locals use it. Thank you.

Room Tip: Can only speak about the food
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank valdareeWestWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews