We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ty Newydd Bed and Breakfast(Llangadog)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Lion(Llangadog)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cawdor(Llandeilo)
US$127
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
24
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat foodevening mealfree wificooked to perfectionpubcharlieshowercomfortportionsbeacons
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Thankyou Charlie and your staff for such an excellent experience. Our rooms were beautifully appointed, our beds were comfy and the showers were hot. What more could we ask for after a long day's walk... lovely food? Yes, that was there too- an interesting menu, well cooked with good service. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SueBertenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Having just completed the Beacons Way walk over a week, we just wanted to say a massive thank you to all at The Goose and Cuckoo for our stay the other night. The rooms were wonderful with excellent showers and comfortable beds, and the meals were all delicious; all in all it was the best accommodation we enjoyed along the walk (and it was all good). Best of all was the warm welcome we received from Charlie and everyone at the Goose and Cuckoo; nothing was too much trouble and your kindness in offering drop-off and pick-up from Llandeusant was sooooo much appreciated! I can't recommend your wonderful hospitality highly enough, and, for anyone hiking the beautiful "Beacon's Way", then The Goose & Cuckoo is an absolute must!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Once again our Classic Car Club Run organiser picked a cracking pub restaurant we had booked 16 places but in the end 20 plus of us descended upon them they coped admirably. We were offered some great starters of generous size & an equally varied range of main courses again of generous size with a range of vegetables. Some of our stalwarts even managed a dessert! A great restaurant with friendly helpful Host & staff certainly recommend them. Only slight downside is that there is no off street parking & it is a fairly narrow road but that said we had no problem with our cars parked on the street.

Room Tip: We only used the Restaurant so unsure about the Hotel rooms
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

The Goose & Cuckoo is a lovely village pub. Luke and his staff are always friendly and very efficient. The food is awesome advisable to book ahead to avoid disappointment, caters for special occasions, has a beer garden and is family friendly. If your passing through the village you must call in and see Luke and the friendly locals!

Room Tip: Lovely village pub fantastic food & service!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

We arranged to meet a long-lost friend at this little pub in Llangadog. We did not know this area of Wales at all so we chose our meeting place solely on the info provided by their website. It did not disappoint. We were welcomed in by Luke, a most charming gentleman who served us with not only a wonderful lunch of Welsh beef pie and great beer but with a professionalism that any Public House proprietor would be proud of. Polite, friendly and everything came with a smile and good grace. Thanks to Luke, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and were able to chat at length with our old friend in a relaxed and extremely hospitable setting. If you are looking for good food & beer, a comfortable and friendly pub atmosphere, then I can highly recommend The Goose & Cuckoo.
It is exactly what a good pub/restaurant should be.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews