We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time at The Reefs, still the best!”
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

This was our 2nd trip to The Reefs, and it was just as good as the first, if not better...

FROM THE AIRPORT: We booked transportation through The Reefs this time, and they were incredibly accommodating for us and our 6-month old. They arranged a private car with a car seat, and we were met immediately at the airport after baggage claim. The driver was really friendly, and since we booked through the hotel, we simply tipped the driver.

TIP: Have transportation arranged through The Reefs - it's easy, they communicate well, and 1 less thing to worry about.

CHECK-IN: There are 3 check-in desks (one serves as concierge as well), and everyone working is so friendly, so professional, and so quick to get you into your room if possible. We arrived early, but only had to wait about 20 minutes for our room. They also put your name in a framed picture of everyone checking in that day - a nice way of welcoming you.

ROOM: We booked a cliffside room again. The views are incredible, the room is spacious with a king bed, sleeper sofa, table, LARGE open shower w/small jacuzzi tub, and a beautiful balcony.

NOTE: The Reefs requires a lot of hilly walking from room to beach/pool/lobby/etc. - come prepared. We did find some difficulties pushing a stroller up the hill to get to the lobby, but it got easier each day. For those with kids, bring a light-weight stroller.

THE HOTEL: The hotel is beautiful. Amazing sunrise/sunset views, a private beach, infinity pool, and so much more. There are tennis courts across the street, a grocery store (about a ten dollar cab ride) nearby, and a bus stop right near the entrance to the hotel. As stated, the hotel is fairly open, so you do a lot of walking and there are definitely steps and hills. It may be difficult for someone with issues walking.

RESTAURANTS/FOOD: We signed up for the breakfast/tea-time which just about tided us over every day. We did have dinner twice though at Aqua Terra, the restaurant inside the hotel. We also ate there last year. Every time, I had one of the best meals I've ever had.

THE STAFF: The staff are second to none. Everyone is SO friendly and professional. They knew our names immediately and never forgot them. They said hello to our baby every day, checked in on her for us, and we couldn't be happier.

OVERALL: If you come to Bermuda, you HAVE to stay here. It doesn't get any better. Sure, it's not all-inclusive, but trust me, from someone who has stayed all over, this is OUR go-to place from now on.

Room Tip: Book the cliffside rooms. We have stayed in #350 (Ocean Cove) and #351 (Edgewater) and both were exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstrctrlprgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefs-Management, Manager at The Reefs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear mstrctrlprgm,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and detailed review. We are delighted that your second visit was such a hit! We know that it can sometimes be stressful traveling with little ones and as such, we want to do everything we can to ensure that we make things as seamless and easy as possible with arrangements like the transportation, so we are glad that it worked so well for you. It is great to hear that you loved the Cliffside room, the beach and Aqua Terra dining experiences. admittedly there are some hills involved, but we appreciate that you took it in stride! Most importantly I am pleased to hear that you found the staff so friendly and warm. Our team truly loves what they do and they see our guests as family. The personalized touches at check in and attention to detail throughout your stay are important to us and we are glad that our team was such a positive part of your trip.

Thank you again, we are delighted to hear that you will be back to see us soon, and we look forward to seeing your little one grow with each visit to The Reefs as you are now officially Repeaters!

Warm Regards,
David Dodwell Jr.
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

Just got back from the Reefs last week with my wife for our 17th anniversary and second time at the hotel. A wonderful small hotel on a cliff with it's own amazing beach. Several great restaurants to choose from, along with a few bars. Can't say enough about the staff. The friendliest people who address you by name and make you feel important. This hotel prides itself on service and friendliness. If smaller hotel with personal service on it's own private beach. See you next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on this cliff offer more privacy than one near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlbourgault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefs-Management, Manager at The Reefs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear rlbourgault,

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us: welcome to The Reefs Repeaters Club! It is wonderful to hear that you loved the beach, the food and especially the staff. They really are our best asset and we always do everything we can to ensure you have personalized and memorable experience. I look forward to sharing your comments with them.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again for trip #3 next year!

Warm Regards,
David Dodwell Jr.
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Our trip was a long weekend getaway and since Bermuda is a quick hour and a half flight from NYC, it made it feasible. We stayed in a Cliff Room with full view of the ocean. From the moment we arrived, until the moment we left the staff made sure our stay was perfect. The attention to detail was unbelievable. Our dining experiences for breakfast, lunch and dinner were just perfect. The band that was playing after dinner on Saturday evening was amazing... We danced the night away! Getting a cab to leave the premises for shopping and sightseeing was made so simple for us. The spa was incredible. Massages were even better than in the US. The pool and beach were incredible. We really hated to leave... but will be returning next summer for a week! Can't wait!

Room Tip: The Cliff Rooms overlook the ocean and have incredible views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ajgreen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefs-Management, Manager at The Reefs, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear ajgreen19,

I was delighted to read such a great review and so pleased that you had such a great long weekend that you'll be back for a week next year! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your room, the views, the dining experiences and the entertainment. More than anything though, I am proud of our team that they delivered such personal and helpful service. They truly are our biggest asset and I look forward to sharing your comments with them.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next summer!

Warm Regards,
David Dodwell Jr.
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed at The Reefs on our wedding night. The hotel is beautiful and the food and staff are amazing. A big thank you to all, especially Erin on Reception for taking care of our booking, a very professional and lovely lady who took care of our booking and Roydelle at Coconuts for such amazing service at our wedding reception. A big thank you to all.

Room Tip: We booked one of the suites down by the water and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vlbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefs-Management, Manager at The Reefs, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear vlbaker,

Thank you for your kind review and congratulations! We are delighted that you chose to spend your special night with us and look forward to sharing your kind words with Erin, Roydelle, and the rest of the team.

We hope to see you again to celebrate future anniversaries at The Reefs!

Warm Regards,
David Dodwell Jr.
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We celebrated our wedding at The Reefs just a few weeks ago and we couldn't have been happier with our choice of venue! The venue was breathtakingly beautiful, the food was phenomenal, our wedding planner Emily, our wedding coordinator Emma, our waitstaff were fantastic, all of our guests were incredibly happy with every detail. Thank you to The Reefs and it's staff for making our special day seamless. Really really fantastic place!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vlada M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefs-Management, Manager at The Reefs, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Vlada M,

Congratulations on your wedding and we are honored that you chose to celebrate it here with us at The Reefs. We take great pride in ensuring that the experience of a bride and groom are incredibly special and were so pleased to be a part of your celebration. Thank you for your kind words for Emily and the entire service team, we will be sure that they receive your praise.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back for many anniversaries to come!

Warm Regards,
David Dodwell Jr.
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
6.8 km away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
843 reviews
16.5 km away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
702 reviews
6.3 km away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,076 reviews
7.2 km away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,136 reviews
4.0 km away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range: $366 - $1,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing