We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calme, Luxe et Volupte...”
Review of Royal Westmoreland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Westmoreland
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2011

This is unique place in Barbados, the beauty of the beaut... The house was luxurious,
the view superb, and the services just perfect. You feel at home at the first place,
it's brilliant place to meet famous people. The swimming was gorgeous, you just wake up the morning, saying good morning to the small and funny monkey on the road, and if you do not have you own car, the shuttle bus is already waiting for you to drive you to the most beautiful beach. The team was great, friendly and paying attention to every details.
The only thing with this place, is that it is just so hard to leave it...!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leadbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Royal Westmoreland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2010

the first visit to royal westmoreland in nearly ten years was to celebrate a special occasion.
Everything about the place looks good at a first glance but the veneer is rather thin and it hides a clear lack of investment both in people and assets.
The golf course is the classic that it always was but needs a real renovation it is scruffy in every way and the beach club is no more than a lounger on a busy, noisy beach.
The royal villa was very tired and that is how many of the staff appeared, though the clubhouse bar staff were the exception.
Sandy Lane for us next time

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveller12370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed at no.28 Cassia Heights in Royal Westmoreland for the 1st week of November, 3 couples in total.
What a wonderful villa! Amazing views, spacious and felt like home from home. I have previously stayed in hotels in St James but the freedom of self catering and being able to have BBQs on the decking with the wonderful views has changed our minds from now on!
Leann, our cleaner did all our washing so we came home with clean clothes - yet another luxury!

We ate in the wonderful Lonestar (next to Alan Shearer!) which has to be the best restaurant on the Island!! Our friends at in the Cliff and Tides.

Royal Westmoreland is truly aspirational.........very slick yet unpretentious.......we need to get saving for a place there now!!

The only negative was that the Beach at Mullins Bay gets quite busy and can be noisy by the road.......but this is a tiny tiny negative!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lau_Jonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Royal Westmoreland is an absolutely first rate place to stay, we have been each year for the last 5 years and wouldn't keep returning if we didn't get it! From the day you arrive nothing is too much trouble for the Conceirge Team (special mention to Chris the manager) and they looked after us well once again on our most recent visit.

You see the thing about Royal Westmoreland is the complete privacy you enjoy when you stay on the estate but you still have access to all the facilities of the Island Bit like an exclusive members club without the formality.

Great selection of restaurants in nearby Holetown, both for formal dining or just relaxing, so you really are spoilt for choice. Neither my wife nor I play golf but we really enjoyed the early evening atmosphere in the Clubhouse watching the fabulous Caribbean sunsets. So there is a dress code, but then there is a most golf clubs here in the UK.

Fabulous Villa with it's own pool which would have slept up to 6 guests, friendliest housekeeper you could ever meet, serenaded by the singing frogs each evening and no more bugs than you would find on your family pet.

Will we be back - yes for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank trevorandlinda_bls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

stayed in apartments 3 bed villas and also a bigger villa in Coconut Grove for some of the trip(The Royal ones are the newest and have often Bose hifi & TVwide screens ) agree with other comments on Clubhouse as over stuffy and dress code stupid and not open for evening meals - the Rum Shack is open SOME nights otherwise you have to cook in or drive to HoleTown - we really liked Groots fish n chips and curries - dont judge a book by cover - Tides the best for us too -VERY GOOD FOOD AND SERVICE AND SETTING NEXT TO WATERFRONT but note everywhere is expensive - Spago next to ocean nice also - prebook for best seats - having not visited Barbados we didnt realise no AC in any rooms in most apartments,villas ONLY BEDROOMS so it can get VERY HOT in the kitchen or watching TV late at night - this time of year there are lots of VERY noisy bugs and most bedrooms (worth checking your residence pre arrival or booking) DO NOT HAVE SEALED WINDOWS so if you are a light sleeper like me you get no sleep as its like sleeping in a tropical jungle !

Bugs everywhere frogs,mosquitos,lizards,some monekeys none threatening etc and birds seem to fly into the houses often - suggest DONT FEED ANY animals as we were pestered by cats and birds that appeared to have been fed by owners or previous residents ! - keep kitchen surfaces clean to keep flies away and always keep everything chilled - we ve holidayed a lot especially in FLORIDA this is very different and appreciate its not fair to make a like for like comparison - we liked the Bajan people very much......

but Mullins Beach bar part of Westomreland was VERY dissapointing and we were like other reviews HASSLED on the beach for rides and my teenage daughter was offered a massage - probably not appropriate - The Westmoreland need to up their game with the Beach area it is VERY SHABBY as its the bar......we probably wont come back - the people were nice but we DONT GET IT despite being a seasoned and well travelled family.....We also didnt know our fault that there are no private beaches in Barbados - we drove to THE CRANE and it looked like a shabby tenerife resort we turnaround and drove away - yes the beach was nice - but that was it ....At Westmoreland they should also have a jogging track in my view for those of us in a mid life crisis ! No bar at night meant lots of trips to the supermarket where you can top up on Gin 150% of the price in UK and Waitrose Houmus if you are missing it !We had a nice break for about 2 weeks but will that was all - expect to pay for dinner without going mad 250 to 250 per night for four people -- when it rains - it really rains so you can get stuck in the house with no AC for hours with kids - so be warned ! There is no proper shopping like in Florida or elsewhere - we went to Sheraton Mall and that was dire. Sorry to be negative but we hope some of this helps you have a better holiday than we had !! Enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SleepyEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
15.7 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,082 reviews
4.1 km away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
624 reviews
1.9 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,078 reviews
3.9 km away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
2.1 km away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Westmoreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Westmoreland

Address: St James, 24023, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: $231 - $776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Westmoreland is an exclusive Barbados estate and country club, a gated community of luxury homes and holiday villas with exceptional facilities, including the world-class Royal Westmoreland championship 18 hole golf course. Spread across 750 acres of lush tropical landscape in the Parish of St James overlooking the Platinum coast, Royal Westmoreland offers the ultimate Caribbean lifestyle, for a holiday or for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Royal Westmoreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Westmoreland Hotel Saint James
Royal Westmoreland Saint James
Royal Westmoreland Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing