We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa All Inclusive(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$353
US$306
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$342/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$161
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Divi Heritage(Saint James Parish)
US$111
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Seasons Resort Europa(Sunset Crest)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beach View(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$217
US$205
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angler Apartments(Saint James Parish)
US$60
US$44
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$484
US$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$624
US$570
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$519
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
573
76
22
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
573
76
22
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne breakfastice creamjet lag massageafternoon teacleaning your sunglassesrum punchcold towelsthe cliffnothing is too much troubleour honeymooncherry annfresh fruitwelcome drinkegg stationeggs cooked to orderwhole teamreception desk
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Hubby surprised me with a night here after our two week luxury cruise with Seabourn through the Caribbean. Wanting to keep the theme of luxury & romance going i’d say he did a great job.
Cherry-Ann greeted us upon arrival & provided a temporary room for us as we had arrived too early for our room to be ready yet. We were able to store our stuff & change for the beach while we waited.
We managed to grab some breakfast too as it wasn’t quite yet cleared up.
Beach chairs & towels are very nice. Beach is shallow so not a lot of room between us & the surf & beach can be a bit rocky but still really nice.
Rooms are well appointed & bathrooms have everything you could need.
A massage is also included in the package. Which we were both able to take advantage of even in just an overnight stay. The massage is 1hr long & very relaxing.

Overall this resort is fantastic but I only gave it 4 stars as I think it is a bit overpriced even including the massage & champagne breakfast.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank YNWATravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear YNWATravelBug,

Thank you for sharing such lovely comments regarding your one night stay at The House. It was an absolute pleasure being your hosts, and we are so glad that your romantic two weeks at sea were able to continue at our hotel. From the time spent on our beach, being pampered by our 24/7 ambassadors, to the beautiful accommodations you resided in, it does sound like you had a spoiling 24 hours. It is wonderful that you relished in our complimentary jet lag massage and champagne breakfast, as well.

We are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you again at The House, whenever your travels bring you back to our beautiful island.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

The House works hard to make every guest feel welcomed and that they have a fabulous vacation. It starts at check in sitting comfortably on sofas and having a complimentary rum punch or glass of champagne. Our room was a one bedroom and separate seating area with 2 balconies overlooking the pool and beach. I loved sitting on the balcony in the late afternoon and watching the sunsets and listening to the waves.
The staff are terrific all day long - attentive at breakfast where they serve outstanding made to order omelets, helping to set up your beach chair, serving you afternoon tea and handling any kind of drink order. They were engaging and fun to chat with and made us numerous dinner and golf reservations.
The room itself was fine but not luxurious. It was a great place to stay and I would definitely return again due to the service, staff and location.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top floor (3rd) with a balcony facing the beach to listen to the waves and see the wonderful sunsets.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JLL1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

What a fantastic hotel from the minute Ricardo welcomed us with my first glass of champagne we were looked after so well. We spent the last 3 nights of our holiday in Barbados at this luxorious retreat. Our room was excellent. We were upgraded to an oveanview suite with 2 bathrooms, a walkin dressing room, bedroom, sitting room and 2 balconies. The hotel is adults only and quite small so you are made to feel at home. There are plenty of sunloungers. Champagne breakfasts have a great choice in a buffet. We had an issue with restaurant next door which Ricardo resolved instantly. The ambassadors can find you restaurants, taxis, just anything you could wish for. We will be back next year for longer.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank carojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear carojs,

Thank you for granting us the opportunity to host you! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay; it is with pleasure to note your satisfaction with our team and facilities as we aim to exceed our guest's expectations. We are delighted that you were spoiled with champagne throughout the duration of your stay and found your upgraded accommodations to be of your liking. Hopefully you had the opportunity to simply relax and unwind on our white sand beach, or lounge by the pool whilst being pampered by our ambassadors.

We appreciate your five-star review and look forward to seeing you again on your return trip to paradise.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We spent a very enjoyable time away from the UK winter at ‘The House’ in the first half of December.
All of these reviews are subjective ,reflecting the writer’s experiances and expectations. In our case although we enjoyed our stay at ‘The House’, it was not an exceptional, based on other experiances during our travels.
We enjoyed :-
Our room - suite on the top floor facing west over the sea, so that we were able to enjoy the fabulous sunsets from our balcony. If a little dated, the room was spacious, with a good seating area, altough the ensuite would benefit from a separate shower and bath, rather than the very short bath and shower combination. My wife found the lack of hair drier plug in the bathroom, mentioned in an earlier review, irritating.
The staff who were extremely friendly and helpful. This includes the beach staff and taxi drivers, who although not employed directly by the hotel, are recommended by the coceirge.
We were disappointed by:-
The beach which had been destroyed by the hurricanes and was in the process of being rebuilt by nature, with a little help from imported sand. The result was a narrow strip of sand, with lots of small rocks and difficult access to the sea. Once in it was lovely, but getting in and out was a bit of a challenge. This was not helped by the presence of the ‘northern swell’ for four days which made for a rough sea and stopped sea swimming. The narrow beach also restricted the beach walks, which I had been looking forward to.
The difficulty in getting lounger chairs, unless you were prepared for an early trip to the beach/ pool area. Although the hotel claimed to manage this problem, unless you got down by 7am you were unlikely to get a lounger as they were ‘reserved’ by fellow guests, through the depositing of towels, magazines, sunscreen etc. Although this is a worldwide problem the narrowness of the beach and small pool area made this particularly irritating at ‘the house’.
I personally found the absence of a dedicated reception area uncomfortable. Whilst you could talk to any of the ‘ambassadors’, there was a lack of continuity to the response to queries, plus on a number of occasions the assistance telephone went unanswered, requiring you to leave a message, which was unsatisfactory.
The welcome. We arrived at the hotel in the middle of a late afternoon monsoon downpour, after a delayed airport entry due to the rain and BA incompetence in leaving the immigration forms at Gatwick! We were tired and frustrated, and after being delayed at the hotel entry gates in our taxi for 10 minutes we just wanted to get to our room. Unfortunately the hotel were more interested in going through their welcome procedure, and getting our signatures, than understanding our needs. When we did get to our room the introduction followed a set procedure, rather than responding to our questions. All of this made for an uncomfortable start to our stay.
Would we return to ‘The House’. Yes for the room, although we thought the hotel was expensive for what it is. We did visit the ‘Fairmont’ to see friends during our stay. The beach there was excellent and expansive, offering oportunities for walking, with lots of lounger chairs on the beach and around the large pool.The rooms have recently been upgraded and so are very modern. Although larger we will consider this alternative as well as ‘The House’, if we return to the Barbados west coast.

Stayed: December 2017
6  Thank Spencer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Spencer007,

First and foremost, we wish to extend our gratitude for choosing to stay at The House during your December escape to Barbados. Thank you for taking the time to provide a comprehensive review on your holiday.

We are glad to read you particularly enjoyed the comfort of your room and its amenities, even witnessing the famous West Coast sunsets from your balcony. We are also delighted to note your satisfaction with all of our dedicated ambassadors. It is always a pleasure to know that the exceptional service offered to our guests contributes to a successful and memorable stay! We do hope that you were able to leave The House and head home more relaxed and refreshed due to their spoiling nature.

However, we are disappointed that your time with us was not worthy of five stars. Due to the unforeseen and more active than usual hurricane season this year, our beach has eroded, contributing to a lower number of lounge chairs being put out. Please note that we are working on fixing this issue in the nearest future and we are very sorry that this impacted your stay. Additionally, it is unfortunate that your experience with the lack of front desk was not the best, and that your inquires were met with an inconsistency in communication. This feature is one of the most celebrated aspects of our resort by guests and we are saddened that your experience was not the same.

We sincerely hope that you will consider staying once again at The House, as we look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

I will start with saying from the Management through to the staff this has to be one of the friendliest hotels I have stayed in and this is without comprising from the superb service well done! Great position right on the beach, champagne breakfast, afternoon tea and canapés at happy hour what more could you want. We were treated to sunset cruise for being returning guests and it was excellent. I don’t believe there is a better hotel in Barbados which would not be achieved without the great staff especially Andrew, Alana, Kerry, Teddy,RIcardo, RIchard I could go on but the list would be too long ! We are looking forward to a visit in the future

Room Tip: All good higher floor rooms provide a better view
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peterandcaroline09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews