We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with Great Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Owners Harold and Caroline, along with Joshua, Daniel, Tom and Anna were great hosts. This small gem is located in the Punda area of Willemstad, and fronts the Caribbean. Swimming and snorkeling is available on the property. Though I didn't try it because of food allergies, breakfast is provided at the Lodge.

Higher end restaurants Fishalicious and Rozendaels serve fantastics meals (dinner only for both) and are located within 5 minutes walking distance. For local Curacao food, you must try the open air food market next to the floating market.

I recommend renting a car to explore the island. A must is the Bocas along the north coast near Westpunt. But go on a windy day to experience the oceans power and fury. And stop by Jaanchies in Westpunt for a great meal amongst a bird sanctuary.

Your hosts can recommend some nice beaches to visit along the south coast. My favorite was Cas Abo because they had shade palapas, lounge chairs, and food was also available.

My only negative about the Lodge is sleep can be difficult if your room is at the front of the property because of road traffic, but that's no fault of the owners. Just bring ear plugs. AND BRING MOSQUITO REPELLENT.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonAlpharetta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 366 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2010

We stayed at the Lodge from the 26 to the 30 of August. Our room #6 was very clean,the air conditioning was great, the bed confortable, the breakfast awsome ( bread, chesse ,coffee , meats, egg, yougurt, fruit , juice in a basket) the employees are very helpfull.
The Lodge is very close to downtown so you can walk if you want . If you want to relax they have a good bar with chairs in the sand looking to the ocean, also a small but nice pool area, you can rent all your dive gear on site.
We will recomend to rent a car , the driving in the island its a little complicated the first day but after you figure out the bridge you can't get lost, do not leave valuables in you car and roll your windows down if you park at a deserted beach.There are so many beautifull coral beaches *need your beach shoes* we went to almost every one , 2 each day.
We found a good place to eat , made from a shipping container less than 5 minutes drive from the Lodge one of the bartenders recomended to us they will give you directions to get there.
The place is so nice, the employees are very friendly but our room was noisy at night because it was close to the road. it was not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wvbeachbum_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This place is so great. The staff are amongst the friendliest people you'll ever find, they are very well connected and tuned in to what is happening on the island, and they will assist you in any way they can to make your time in Curacao whatever you want it to be. If you are looking to sanitize yourself away from true life on Curacao, go to an all inclusive and forget it. But if what you are looking for is a peek behind the scenes of what the Dutch people do on their little paradise island in the Caribbean, this is it.

You'll be tipped of to where all the parties are every night of the week if you ask, you'll be assisted to find a great deal on a rental car if you need it, you'll be given tips on where to eat, where to dive, where to go, what to do, and most of all, you'll feel right at home from the moment you walk in the door. The sense of community felt amongst the staff and the guests is simply spectacular.

I came to the island committing to 2 - 3 nights, not sure if I'd want to stay all 9 nights here or not. By the end of my stay I was partying on the beach with at least 25 new friends, all of whom knew my name, and I laid my head to rest one last time at Scuba Lodge, hoping to return some day soon. Yes, they got all of my business, every night, because the place felt to me like the Hotel California. I was free to check out any time I liked but I could never leave.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schnikis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My wife and I take a 10 day to 2 week adventure vacation each summer. We prefer to stay in small private hotels or lodges, and to mix with the local population. This summer we hit the jackpot as far as the ideal place for us!

On arrival (from airline hell) we were greeted by the Scuba Lodge staff and quickly made to feel like part of the extended family of owners, staff, and fellow visitors. As it was late in the evening, after a bit of food and drinks from the lodge bar, we were settled in our room. The next morning a great breakfast was served on the patio overlooking the beautiful beach and Caribbean.

Owners Harald and Caroline, and wonderful staff, Tom, Daniel, Annalise, and Joshua were able to advise us on every aspect of our stay, whether it involved diving, sight seeing, shopping, transportation, or restaurants (never intrusive but always available when needed).

Summing up our experience: If you enjoy the thrill of world class SCUBA and snorkel diving, along with freeport shopping, a variety of super dining spots, and the company of the most accommodating hosts, you will enjoy the Scuba Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gator161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Scuba Lodge during our honeymoon. The place was quaint, quiet and relaxing. The hotel is Dutch owned and you frequently see and get to visit with the owners Caroline and Harold. Their staff is friendly and attentive; Tom and Daniel were specifically wonderful.

Our room was clean, quiet and just what we needed. The shower had great pressure, they had many TV channels and a hair dryer was even offered! With only 14 rooms in the hotel itself, I don't think you could go wrong with any of them. The ocean is steps away and you can hear it from inside all of the rooms.

Located at the hotel is a pool, a small beach with many lounge chairs and a great landscape. Each morning we had breakfast outside overlooking the ocean. It was wonderful and the food was great too!

There is a bar that most of the guests attend each evening before going to bed, very relaxing and a neat atmosphere to visit with everyone. There was only one other American couple other than us, which made things even more unique. We left with so many new Dutch friends!!

The hotel is in an area that is being restored. The street is lined with Coloniel mansions, some are occupied and others are not. While we were there three were in the process of being restored, so I am sure that within a year or two the street will be looking wonderful!

It takes about 7 minutes to walk to the nearest ATM and 10 to walk into Punda. They have a very convenient location. There are several resturants close by that have amazing food. Just ask the staff and they will point in the right direction. We rented a car for three days and had wonderful daily adventures seeing the sights, this is highly recommended!

Overall a big thumbs up for this place, we hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrynnFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
3.1 km away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
3.7 km away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.1 km away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
6 km away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#11 of 32 in Willemstad
347 reviews
1.8 km away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 32 in Willemstad
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Lodge & Suites

Address: Pietermaai 104, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $157 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scuba Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scubalodge is the premier ocean front boutique hotel in Curacao. Made of in total 5 monumental buildings, every room and apartment are different! And so is the staff! With a very relaxed and personal atmosphere guests are like staying with friends! Relax in one of the two swimming pools, in the ocean in our house riff and enjoy a cocktail at the Ocean Bar. Scubalodge has a PADI Dive School and shop and the well known breakfast basket and weekly barbecue! Laid in the "quartier Latin" of Curacao, many restaurants and bars are walking distance, as is the city centre, the cruise terminal and all musea and shopping center. Explore the real Curacao in Otrabanda, the "pontjes brug" and the fruit and local market. Or take your rental car and explore the Island and all of its 70 beaches!!! Scubalodge, welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scuba Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scuba Lodge And Suites
The Scuba Hotel Willemstad
Scuba Lodge & Suites Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing