We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sunset Bay Beach Club is a terrific escape from the daily grind.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roseau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center
Ranked #4 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We arrived in Dominica at 7:30 p.m., local time after traveling for 18 hrs. The trip from the airport in the dark and falling rain was not for the faint of heart, especially considering that we were tired and hungry.

We were happy to see the lights of the resort from a distance. We expected the tedium of the check-in and to have missed dinner, but, to our amazement, we were greeted by Marcella, one of the owners who suggested that we eat first and complete the check-in in the morning. The food was great that night, as it was for an offered 3 meals a day every day. It took a couple days to realize that we would be consistently offered more delicious food than we could eat, prepared in a style with Belgian and Caribbean influences. Roger (Marcella's husband and the other owner), was a chef in Belgium before moving to Dominica 13 years ago.

The rest of the week maintained the feeling of the first night. The owners were consistently visible and very hospitable. The food was consistently very good to excellent. The beach was very secluded and picturesque, though the small to medium round pebbles made walking barefoot a challenge (scuba boots would be handy for swimming at the beach). The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The room was spare, but comfortable. We were very happy with the lack of a TV.

The roads were a challenge throughout the island because of the potholes, curves, and narrow width. We did not run into problems with crowds from the cruise ships that dock in Roseau, though we knew to ask about that before planning trips.

Our biggest challenge was the arrival of a toddler in the next room a couple nights before we left. The open window nature of the resort meant that we didn't sleep unless the toddler did. That was a minor annoyance, but only minor, since were in an island paradise with great food and an open bar on our all-inclusive package.

I'll be very happy if my travels take me back to the Sunset Bay Beach Club.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you for visiting us at Sunset Bay Club. We appreciate your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2011

My wife and I travelled to Sunset Bay Club with some friends for a week in February. The grounds were amazingly well kept, the rooms were clean and well maintained. We stayed in the Suite, which is a separate little building. It's a large room, with a large bathroom and a big walk-in shower large enough for two.
As I saw in another review, the water is cold in the morning. All of the water heating that I saw on the property was accomplished by solar, so obviously it will not be warm early in the morning. By late afternoon, there was plenty of warm water for a shower.
SCUBA training was accomplished by an outside contractor, who was very professional and patient. I got exactly the amount of training that I wanted and needed for a short dive, which was all I wanted to accomplish, and the price for this was reasonable.
Dining was outstanding, the Restaurant offers a wide variety of local and international foods, all of which were great. There were usually several choices within the "all inclusive" menu, so if you didn't want to try the local meal you could always have something else that was good. The all inclusive plan includes alcohol, which is a great deal. Beer, wine and several types of mixed drinks available anytime the restaurant is open, which is basically all day every day.
The staff is very helpful, and knowledgeable of the local area. They offered to arrange for transportation, for sightseeing tours, for SCUBA, snorkeling and whale watching.
There is a nice pool and a Sauna, which I did not use.
There is no internet in the rooms, but there is free WIFI near the reception area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hawkpilot64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you for your review. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

We enjoyed staying here because it was a nice break from the very basic local food and simple accomodation we had found elsewhere. The meals were really fine. The proprietors are Belgian and there were lots of European people staying here so the atmosphere in the restaurant was relaxed and elegant. Staff were friendly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klimazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

While looking for a dive package to Dominica we found this location through our travel agent. The website shows a pretty little beach front property and has some photos and information about the meal plans and packages. Unfortunately it does not accurately describe the room accommodations which are simple to say the least. Our room also had no air conditioning and we woke to no hot water. The resorts excuse was that it was all on the website. The property caters to larger families and very small children could be seen and heard at all hours. When we booked we paid for boat diving, after we arrived they informed us the dive operation would be closed one day. We were told we could shore dive instead, which is free and unlimited. No credit was ever offered or received for the cancellation. We travel and dive extensively and never have we been so disappointed and felt more cheated after a vacation. The accommodations were not as advertised and were entirely unacceptable. If you are paying for budget you expect budget. In this case you pay a premium and leave feeling completely cheated.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CaboSeaHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Sales & Marketing Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2009

As the new Sales & Marketing Representative for Sunset Bay Club, I was very concerned regarding the bad reviews we were receiving regarding our "all-inclusive plan". I have worked with the owners and we have now added many more daily choices to our all-inclusive menu. We will also be offering daily specials, including more local food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

We stayed 8 nights in this hotel. It is definitely a place that grows on you the longer you stay. The owner/managers are very sincere in their dealings with the guests, ensuring you get to do what you want. They have their eccentricities [imagine running this place for 12 years!] but they are mostly positive ones. As for the hotel itself I would summarise it as follows:
Positives
1/ Value for money is outstanding. So we were thinking of things in £ terms but even so, for a family of 4 on full board basis, we paid £110 per night.
2/ Sincerity of the owners - in a quirky way they will help however they can. You only feel this as you get to know them better!
3/ Location is great. Okay, so you do not have a golden beach but instead you get a real experience - grey sand, pebbles and small rocks just offshore - all of which means it has not been manicured and prettified, but does mean lots of tropical fish if you take a look.
4/ Wildlife: great to have the lizards and iguanas roaming around as well as the humingbirds [3 species], bananquits and the bullfinches coming to the tables. [No doubt some will not like the occasional "iguana pooh" on the walkways...]
5/ Rooms and cleaners are excellent. Even the waiting staff, at first morose and crotchety, become more friendly as time went on. By the end we found them very decent indeed!
6/ The lobsters we ate. Yum. We had them twice [took a bit of pestering to get them twice as they are no so much rarer than before]. You would pay £20+ for one fresh[ish] lobster in the UK. At Sunset my wife and I ate 8 between us each time.

Things to work on:
1/ The meal / manu variety needs more input. We heard many complaints [mainly from the guests from Martinique nb French] that the meals were not up to it. I have to say chicken drumsticks were in abundance - where the breast meat went I do not know!
The evening meals do need a bit more variety / imagination, but I will say that what I ate was always tasty and good quality.
2/ Swimming pool was just about ok. Not that clean and one or two sharply cut tiles made for a hazard.
3/ Rooms nice and clean but could have been a bit larger and more sympathetically made [more use of local timber / set diagaonally to give a more individual feel].
So on balance I would give the place a thumbs up.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Valueseeker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you for your review. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
5738.5 km away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
876 reviews
5740.2 km away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
5740.1 km away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5730.6 km away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
5713.0 km away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
5744.0 km away
Rosalie Bay Resort
Rosalie Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Rosalie
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center

Address: Batalie Beach | P.O. Coulibistrie, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range: $121 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, beachfront hotel conveniently located in the center of Dominica's west coast. We offer all-inclusive or bed & breakfast plans to suite your needs. Our dive center, located on our private beach, offers morning boat dives, snorkeling and whale watching or relax at our pool and sauna located in our tropical garden. Come and enjoy a relaxing experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Bay Club And Seaside Dive Center
Sunset Bay Club & Seaside Dive Hotel Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing