We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We ( a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers) stayed 2 nights in this hotel.
It is located right in the center ( yet quite calm )of the colonial Santo Domingo so all the main attractions of the old city are at walking distance. It is also some 30 meters away from the El Conde pedestrian shopping street where one can find all sorts of cafés and restaurants for breakfast/lunch and dinner if you do not wish to eat at the hotel itself (there is even a supermarket nearby).
The hotel is an old colonial house . The decorations ( both in the rooms and the common parts) , the patios and the plants give a very warm and relaxing atmosphere to the building.
They even have a small open air swimming pool on the roof top which is quite nice to cool down after a long day visiting the area.
The rooms are quite big and clean.
To sum things up , I would recommend this hotel for a short stay to discover the Dominican capital .

Room Tip: Bon rapport qualité/prix en plein centre du St Domingue historique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JEAN MICHEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking your precious time to comment about our Boutique Hotel Palacio , we are flattered, grateful and very pleased that you feel good in our hotel and feel proud of our effort to maintain quality in our services and facilities. We are waiting for your next visit to Santo Domingo to continue as usual, provide a good service. Best Regards, Bianka Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

The hotel is located at Zona Colonial. The hotel is not ver y impressive but very clean. The room was spacious. The bed mattress not a very good quality hard, clean. They offer buffet breakfast very nice. They staff very attentive to all your needs. If looking for a hotel to have fun this not the place. But looking for peace and quiet excellent. Is very colonial needs updating. Somethings to be careful front desk offer a walking tour service don't use it, you could do by yourself. They charge to much for mediocre service. I learned to late. But to use chu trolley that goes around for 500 pesos worth it.

Room Tip: Back side rooms front maybe little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Enid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking your precious time to comment about our Boutique Hotel Palacio, we apologize for the impression that some of our staff show you is not our politic be unfriendly . We are waiting for your next visit to Santo Domingo to continue as usual, provide a good service and i want welcome personally to show you we really are. Best Regards, Bianka Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We attended a special gala celebrating Canada's 200th birthday last month. Normally when visiting the capital, we stay in highrise hotels that quite honestly, could be anywhere in the world...and we pay a high price for that! We decided this time to locate in the city center...the Colonial Zone, Like many buildings in the area, the outside appearance is somewhat non-descript. Once entering, we were taken back in time from a building point of view. This place is what many whom come to the CZ are looking for....history! Check in was a breeze and we were taken to our room on the 2nd floor. The room was large and comfortable, with an inside view of the inner courtyard (who really looks out the window more than once?) Once settling in, we went to the local grocery store (1 minute walk) and picked up some beverages and cheese, bread etc, to enjoy the courtyard prior to departing to our function. Shower was great...hot water and pressure. Bed was comfortable. TV had a good selection of local and international channels. Internet worked well. Air conditioning kept us comfortable. What more could we expect! Returning back to the hotel, we ventured out to a local restaurant (as recommended by the front desk) and enjoyed the food, ambiance and history once again. Returning to the hotel,we had a late night rum and wine on the terrace before retiring for a good night's sleep.

No mosquitoes...no bugs...nothing to take away from our night in the CZ.

The breakfast is what I would expect from a place like this. Not certain what some expect! LOL

As someone in tourism in Punta Cana, I have recommended Palacio to my guests whom are considering a night or 2 in Santo Domingo.

We plan to bring our young daughters back to this hotel in the near future. For the price paid (regular online rates), Palacio exceeded our expectations. After this stay, I do not foresee us staying in another prefab highrise national chain again in Santo Domingo.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PuntaCanaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

I stayed at this hotel because of the great reviews and affordable price,but my expectations were not met.The worse part of my stay was the mosquitos,roaches and the unsightly mold in the room.The best part was the rooftop pool,friendly staff and being located in the heart of Zone Colonial.If you like learning about history and being able to select from a variety of eateries while on vacation,this area of Santo Domingo is perfect.However,I'd choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerJuly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking your precious time to comment about our Boutique Hotel Palacio, we apologize for the mosquito but you know tropical place when rai they enter to the room as much you open the door . We are waiting for your next visit to Santo Domingo to continue as usual, provide a good service and i want welcome personally to show you we really are. Best Regards, Bianka Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

I had the most wonderful stay at this hotel. I want to first thank all the staff (Yasmin Arias, Julio, John...I apologize if I forgot names) for all their help in making our stay wonderful. The pool, breakfast, clealiness, friendliness of staff, room layout was all perfect. This is such a cute hotel right in the center of everything. I really felt like I lived there. Its walking distance to historical sites, beautiful park, super market, night life and many more. I am huge on reviews and customer service. I promised to leave this feedback because I think the entire staff deserves it. Thanks again and I will be sure to recommend this hotel to family and friends!!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank QB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking your precious time to comment about our Boutique Hotel Palacio.all our staff say hello and thanks. We are waiting for your next visit to Santo Domingo to continue as usual, provide a good service. Best Regards, Bianka Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
W&P Santo Domingo
#21 of 80 in Santo Domingo
301 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#25 of 80 in Santo Domingo
354 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 80 in Santo Domingo
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 80 in Santo Domingo
980 reviews
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#31 of 80 in Santo Domingo
256 reviews
Billini Hotel
#18 of 80 in Santo Domingo
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Palacio

Address: Calle Duarte 106 | Colonial City, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#17 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $117 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Palacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio, located only two blocks from the Cathedral Primada of America and right in the center of all historical and cultural attractions of the first city ever built in the New World. The monuments, museums, classical and modern art exhibits and concerts will add interest to your stay in this magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Hotel Santo Domingo
Palacio Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing