We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$109
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$131
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Villa Colonial(Santo Domingo)
US$99
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Island Life Backpackers' Hostel(Santo Domingo)(Great Value!)
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Shakey(Santo Domingo)
US$130
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casas del XVI(Santo Domingo)
US$313
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
12
17
7
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
17
7
4
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

The accommodations were fine. The building is beautiful, and the employees were very nice. Complimentary breakfast was satisfying. Wish we had time to explore the area a little more, but were off to Jarabacoa the next morning. Would recommend to savvy travelers.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you for your reply!!!!
We hope to see you around again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

The manager made a special treat for everyone on Easter, they took really great care of everyone, moved me into a room with working AC. Gave lots of does an don't regarding the city. Clean, nice, very central location near the sea.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiversionUTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you for yopur reply, we hope you come again and notice the things that we have done to get better

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Overall the Maison seeks to serve you and take care of your needs in any way possible. The overall hotel is fine. It is clean and usually when I am in the Dominican, I am out early and back to the hotel late. I use it as a place to sleep. Regarding sleeping, bring ear plugs. You never know what rooster will be up, or dogs barking, or sirens going off. The hotel is in the city and there are a lot of noises. Each room is a little different, but I recommend a first floor room. The water pressure is excellent on the first floor, fair on the second floor, and poor on the third floor. Plus you don't have to walk up the stairs then! The breakfasts are nice and the coffee is always hot and ready. Breakfast is simple, usually some toast, fruit, yougurt, coffee and juice. The internet was spotty because the line broke and the hotel brought in different wireless tech for us to be able to use the internet while we were there. Like I said, they will serve you and want things to work out well.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Thank you for your review Mr. Brian
We look forward to see you in our place the next time you come to Santo Domingo.
The issue with the water pressure will be solve in the next week and also we have contract the internet with fiber optic cable to reduce possible damages. we will be getting stronger our network with better equipments and access points to increase the wifi level in all the premises.
Thank you again for your review and like you said, we always try to give the best to our visitors.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Everyone is fixed on staying at the big chain hotels, but before those it was the small hotels that existed and gave the area and the town the Historic look. The Maison has what you need: great location, Wi-Fi, clean towels, water, air condition, comfortable bed, breakfast to start your day (even a Jacuzzi) and a staff that is ready to address your needs! You are close to all the casinos, discos, restaurants, beaches (Boca Chica, Juan Dolio) Colonial Zone, etc. You are always close to everything and can rely that you have a place to rest. For the price, you should not have any complaints because you can use your savings to spend on the restaurants, casinos, movies, etc.
Further, I believe that the staff, Jorge, Anderson and Wilson will take good care of you!
Enjoy!!!!!!

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what you require to make your stay an enjoyable one! Have rooms on 1st floor.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Thank you for your review!!!
We look foward to see you again in our place.
You are welcome!!!!!
Visit us again soon!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015

I am a salesman who has worked the Caribbean for roughly 30 years. About 17 years ago, I found Mason Gautreaux . It is a small hotel located in a better part of the capital. It is owned by the Gautreaux family.

It is a simple hotel. It is very clean. It has wifi, air conditioning, 24 hour electricity, and plenty of hot water. Most of the staff is bilingual . They go out of their way to be accomodating. In all my years staying here, I have never heard of a theft. A decent breakfast is included with your room.

The location allows you to explore the city or go to your business appointments without delay. As they know many taxi drivers personaly, you can be assured to arrive to your destination without overcharge.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone who needs well pirced hotel located near all of the major attactions or business locations of the capital.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the top floor. There is a roof top patio with an excellent view of the sea
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisongautreaux01, Manager at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Thank you Sr.
We feel very happy to read your comments and that comments make us to be better everyday with the friends that visit our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews