We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
US$179
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Shakey(Santo Domingo)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Villa Colonial(Santo Domingo)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$237
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Island Life Backpackers' Hostel(Santo Domingo)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$31
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$123
US$119
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casas del XVI(Santo Domingo)
US$333
US$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
12
17
7
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
17
7
4
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2016

The hotel has free parking on the street, which we had no problems with. The room looked very bland, but everything worked. The breakfast consisted of fruit and a ham and cheese sandwich, which was minimal but filling. The passion fruit drink was delicious. The hotel is on a waterfront strip with lots of hotels and casinos, but think twice about driving in the city, it's quite a challenge.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ted U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Manager at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Thank you for your review, we look forward to see you again at our place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

The accommodations were fine. The building is beautiful, and the employees were very nice. Complimentary breakfast was satisfying. Wish we had time to explore the area a little more, but were off to Jarabacoa the next morning. Would recommend to savvy travelers.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you for your reply!!!!
We hope to see you around again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

The manager made a special treat for everyone on Easter, they took really great care of everyone, moved me into a room with working AC. Gave lots of does an don't regarding the city. Clean, nice, very central location near the sea.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiversionUTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you for yopur reply, we hope you come again and notice the things that we have done to get better

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Overall the Maison seeks to serve you and take care of your needs in any way possible. The overall hotel is fine. It is clean and usually when I am in the Dominican, I am out early and back to the hotel late. I use it as a place to sleep. Regarding sleeping, bring ear plugs. You never know what rooster will be up, or dogs barking, or sirens going off. The hotel is in the city and there are a lot of noises. Each room is a little different, but I recommend a first floor room. The water pressure is excellent on the first floor, fair on the second floor, and poor on the third floor. Plus you don't have to walk up the stairs then! The breakfasts are nice and the coffee is always hot and ready. Breakfast is simple, usually some toast, fruit, yougurt, coffee and juice. The internet was spotty because the line broke and the hotel brought in different wireless tech for us to be able to use the internet while we were there. Like I said, they will serve you and want things to work out well.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Thank you for your review Mr. Brian
We look forward to see you in our place the next time you come to Santo Domingo.
The issue with the water pressure will be solve in the next week and also we have contract the internet with fiber optic cable to reduce possible damages. we will be getting stronger our network with better equipments and access points to increase the wifi level in all the premises.
Thank you again for your review and like you said, we always try to give the best to our visitors.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Everyone is fixed on staying at the big chain hotels, but before those it was the small hotels that existed and gave the area and the town the Historic look. The Maison has what you need: great location, Wi-Fi, clean towels, water, air condition, comfortable bed, breakfast to start your day (even a Jacuzzi) and a staff that is ready to address your needs! You are close to all the casinos, discos, restaurants, beaches (Boca Chica, Juan Dolio) Colonial Zone, etc. You are always close to everything and can rely that you have a place to rest. For the price, you should not have any complaints because you can use your savings to spend on the restaurants, casinos, movies, etc.
Further, I believe that the staff, Jorge, Anderson and Wilson will take good care of you!
Enjoy!!!!!!

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what you require to make your stay an enjoyable one! Have rooms on 1st floor.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Thank you for your review!!!
We look foward to see you again in our place.
You are welcome!!!!!
Visit us again soon!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews