We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INEXPENSIVE AND CENTER CITY SANTO DOMINGO BUT CLEAN”
Review of Maison Gautreaux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison Gautreaux
Ranked #64 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed 19 January 2017

This is a guest house that is inexpensive, but right next to the Malecon of Santo Domingo; and also next to the Centurio 500 or 50 Centurio Hotel. There are no special amenities but the rooms have air conditioning and are clean. There is a place around the block that serves good breakfast and lunch; also inexpensive. And you are also in Santo Domingo and not far from the Colonial District so you dont' have to worry about a taxi. There is a place a bit west on the malecon that has frosty iced cold Presidente beer that they keep cold in bamboo chutes. I can't remember the name, but it is something like "La Sinisa".

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rudy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2016

The hotel has free parking on the street, which we had no problems with. The room looked very bland, but everything worked. The breakfast consisted of fruit and a ham and cheese sandwich, which was minimal but filling. The passion fruit drink was delicious. The hotel is on a waterfront strip with lots of hotels and casinos, but think twice about driving in the city, it's quite a challenge.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ted U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Manager at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Thank you for your review, we look forward to see you again at our place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

The accommodations were fine. The building is beautiful, and the employees were very nice. Complimentary breakfast was satisfying. Wish we had time to explore the area a little more, but were off to Jarabacoa the next morning. Would recommend to savvy travelers.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you for your reply!!!!
We hope to see you around again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

The manager made a special treat for everyone on Easter, they took really great care of everyone, moved me into a room with working AC. Gave lots of does an don't regarding the city. Clean, nice, very central location near the sea.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiversionUTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you for yopur reply, we hope you come again and notice the things that we have done to get better

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Overall the Maison seeks to serve you and take care of your needs in any way possible. The overall hotel is fine. It is clean and usually when I am in the Dominican, I am out early and back to the hotel late. I use it as a place to sleep. Regarding sleeping, bring ear plugs. You never know what rooster will be up, or dogs barking, or sirens going off. The hotel is in the city and there are a lot of noises. Each room is a little different, but I recommend a first floor room. The water pressure is excellent on the first floor, fair on the second floor, and poor on the third floor. Plus you don't have to walk up the stairs then! The breakfasts are nice and the coffee is always hot and ready. Breakfast is simple, usually some toast, fruit, yougurt, coffee and juice. The internet was spotty because the line broke and the hotel brought in different wireless tech for us to be able to use the internet while we were there. Like I said, they will serve you and want things to work out well.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Thank you for your review Mr. Brian
We look forward to see you in our place the next time you come to Santo Domingo.
The issue with the water pressure will be solve in the next week and also we have contract the internet with fiber optic cable to reduce possible damages. we will be getting stronger our network with better equipments and access points to increase the wifi level in all the premises.
Thank you again for your review and like you said, we always try to give the best to our visitors.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hostal Parque
Hostal Parque
#46 of 79 in Santo Domingo
30 reviews
Royal Palace Hotel
#69 of 79 in Santo Domingo
13 reviews
TAU Casa Conde
#28 of 79 in Santo Domingo
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gazcue
Green House Aparta Hotel
Green House Aparta Hotel
#45 of 79 in Santo Domingo
13 reviews
Hotel Plaza Del Sol
#35 of 79 in Santo Domingo
33 reviews
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#31 of 79 in Santo Domingo
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Gautreaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Gautreaux

Address: Gascue C/ Osvaldo Baez - Felix Mariano Luberes 8, Santo Domingo 10207, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $50 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Gautreaux 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maison Gautreaux is the house of a highly respected and well known family of Santo Domingo, was converted into an hotel in 1994 by the Gautreaux Family, the hotel has a very nice decoration and you can breath a familiar atmosphere when you are in our acomodations. You will feel like you are in you own home when you spend your days with us. We will feel very happy to have you here. We will be waiting for all of you!!! The Maison Gautreaux Your Home in Santo Domingo!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Gautreaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Gautreaux Santo Domingo
Maison Gautreaux Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing