We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The location was good, within walking distance of museums, restaurants, and the Catedral. The front-desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast on the roof was good.

The room was noisy, due to street noise. The door to the balcony left small gaps even when it was closed, so it failed to block out the street noise. On our first night, there was a free outdoor concert two blocks from the hotel. We were able to enjoy the music from our room, but we couldn't even think of going to sleep until the concert was over.

The wi-fi in the room did not work, since the router on our floor was broken, but the free wi-fi in the lobby worked well.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies have nice views, but are noisy, due to street noise. An interior room might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    82
    74
    25
    22
See reviews for
48
76
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Perfect place for a short stay, quaint, balconies overlook the colonial streets, good value. Breakfast quite good on the rooftop!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horacio18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The Europa has become our favorite hotel in Santo Domingo for many many reasons. The location is excellent. You are a few steps away from all the colonial zone and all it has to offer for you history buffs and shopping for you who love to shop. The restaurants are many to choose from and the location is very safe.
On Sunday nights they have a 14 piece band that plays outside of the one of the old ruins all lite up, awesome and free to the public.
The hotel itself is older but in excellent shape. The rooms are small but clean very clean, with a large TV/cable. WiFi is free and can be picked up in some rooms but all thru out the hotel.
The breakfast is good. fresh fruit, toast eggs and pancakes.
The best part of this hotel are the staff members. Starting with the warm welcome when you arrive at the front desk/ Eduviges, she always has a smile. Priscilla who is part of the managment team will do all she can do if you are ever in need. The guys who work all areas of the hotel are very helpful, from waving down a taxi, serving you coffee when requested and always willing to help you with information.
Great bar if you like to sitand enjoy some music and a cold beer. Most comfortable beds.
Would recommend to any of my family or friends and will be going back again in a couple of weeks. Enjoy your time there! We always do...

Room Tip: When we have stayed there our favorite rooms are 315, 215 large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winewine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

In the middle of El Conde in the Capital it is very noisy with traffic and people, but walking into the hotel you are met with a beautiful peaceful lobby, cool and nicely decorated... amazing personal service and we were given a choice of 2 rooms; one with windows onto street but warned about noise, and the interior room was quieter but without windows. Only staying one night as lay over and having lived here we opted for the one with windows but noise just typical of the country. Very clean well kept rooms, staff couldn't do enough for us and cable tv, wifi and very central.
No transport needed to get to the historical buildings, conde shopping and malecon... but taxi to bus station was very cheap.
Would definitely recommend for people wanting to see a bit of the capital for a short or even longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M_C_Del0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overslag
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed her just one night because I had to take the plane early the next morning. The hotel is located next to all the interesting places in the city, so you can walk to the most places within 5min. It is a really modern hotel, tv, fast internet and clean rooms. No windows but I didn't mind because I was there only during nighttime. The staff was really friendly and helped me to get a taxi to the airport at 5 in the morning. And it has a good price for such a loaction.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Portes 9
Hotel Portes 9
#25 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#13 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Naemie
#20 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#24 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Dona Elvira
Hotel Dona Elvira
#54 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiguo Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiguo Hotel Europa

Property: Antiguo Hotel Europa
Address: Arzobispo Merino 109 esq. Emillano Tejera | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price range (per night): $78 - $146
Hotel Class:3 star — Antiguo Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiguo Hotel Europa is a romantic hotel located in the heart of the Colonial City, in Arzobispo Merino Street, just 200 meters from the Cathedral of Santo Domingo American Primacy and the famous Calle El Conde , and 250 meters from the Alcazar Colon and a few minutes of major shopping malls. On the top floor of the building is our Terraza ideally setting for social events or just for individuals who want to suntan day time in the modern part of Santo Domingo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antiguo Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing