We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View”
Review of Hotel Napolitano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Napolitano
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights in September. I got a room at the top over-looking the pool. It has an amazing view. I would definitely recommend. Breakfast was good there and I paid for dinner there every night. It was good also. My only cons to this place was when it was raining, the rain got in somehow through the walls. It leaked really bad and there was a puddle which got the bed sheets wet, since they were hanging off the bed unto the floor. The window was definitely closed while it was raining. You don't want to wake up and step in a puddle like I did. After a phone call to the receptionist, they came to mop up the water. Other than that everything else was great.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floor overlooking the pool. Do not stay in these room during rainy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccL6091KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeydiAlcantara2, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Napolitano, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017


Dear ccL6091KR

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your comment, we are happy to know that you have been able to enjoy our wonderful sea view. Thank you for your visit we hope to see you again, we have corrected the problem of filtered water, so that during your next visit you can enjoy your stay without worries.

I reiterate to your orders for what you need

Best regards :)

Leydi Alcántara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Just to remember old times when they used to serve cassata, peach Melba and helado Napolitano.. no anymore but still serving chocolate ice cream and you eat it looking at the "rompeolas" watching commercial ships in and out of the port occasionally.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Guarionex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeydiAlcantara2, Director Comercial at Hotel Napolitano, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017


Dear Guarionex d,

Thanks for the visit and your comment,
We are full of satisfaction and it is very nice to know that our faithful clients relive wonderful moments in our Terrace.

We will be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Leydi Alcántara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

I have been in this hotel in november and the experience was amazing: great and friendly staff, large rooms, very good pool and a magnificent view on tha ocean. Also it's only a walk away from the biggest casinos and the colonial zone of S. Domingo. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank enginebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeydiAlcantara2, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Napolitano, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear enginebeast

We are honored by your positive review!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with the TripAdvisor community. We are here to serve you, thank you very much from staff of Napolitano Hotel.

Sincerely,

Leydi M. Alcántara
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Seems that hotel Napolitano has formerly been a great hotel... but it was years ago, now it needs a full renovation, because NOTHING works there.

Few comments:
- interior is out of date;
- most of the days we did not have hot water, water pressure was non existing all the time. It was a challenge to take a shower;
- hairdryer did not work;
- our shower corner was leaking, our bathroom was like a pool after a shower;
- we paid for "quiet room," but we did not get it. Our room was on 6th floor, facing the sea and road. Windows are so poor that street noise was huge in the room, even on night time. 2nd floor restaurant was playing so loud music in the evenings, that we heard it in the room clearly, even then windows were closed. Air conditioner was also very noisy;
- some sockets did not have electricity;
- room had a lock box, but without a key;
- one day one of our beds did not have linen after the room was cleaned;
- very poor wifi quality;
- not enough towels in the room, we had to ask for more every day;
- poor room door, we heard every step from the corridor;
- lack of towels in the pool area;
- pool area toilets did not have working water supply during our whole stay;
- there was some problems with elevators, we took stairs most of the time;
- poor breakfast;
- scary neighborhood - lot of dirty streets and empty buildings nearby;
- no beach nearby.

There are also few good sides:
+ location near the sea, amazing views;
+ private pool area;
+ friendly service;
+ clean;
+ free parking.

In conclusion I do not suggest this hotel, it is out of date.

I do not suggest visiting Santo Domingo and Dominican Republic at all - its dirty and not safe. Our trip highlight was motorcycle police that stopped our car without a reason and blackmailed us. Traffic is a disaster, I haven't seen such mess ever before. There are annoying "sales men" on every corner trying to get your money, selling you rubbish. There are very few sightseen places worth visiting. I feel sad for this country.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Rait R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, perfectly located. Breakfast and views are amazing!
We didn't have time to use the pool or dine but others did. We enjoyed some evenings on the terrace, it's beautiful.
The hotel should update the decor.
I'd return for a short stay.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank PebsCu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeydiAlcantara2, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Napolitano, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Hello PebsCu,
We are glad that you had a good stay, we work to make the next visit a wonderful stay,
thank you for your comment,
have a great day!

best regards,

Leydi Alcantara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#24 of 79 in Santo Domingo
354 reviews
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
498 reviews
W&P Santo Domingo
#21 of 79 in Santo Domingo
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 79 in Santo Domingo
972 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
708 reviews
Dominican Fiesta Hotel & Casino
#18 of 79 in Santo Domingo
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napolitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napolitano

Address: Av. George Washington 51, Santo Domingo 10208, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#10 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $126 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Napolitano 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the Caribbean Sea, just a few steps from the Colonial City. Facilities: Terrace-Restaurant, swimming pool, live music, free Wi-Fi, parking and taxis. All rooms have ocean view and are fully equipped. The closest beach to Santo Domingo is 34km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Napolitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napolitano Hotel And Casino
Napolitano Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing