We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIEVES!”
Review of Carey House Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carey House Hotel
Ranked #59 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed 28 January 2015 via mobile

Do NOT stay here, unless you want your shoes and headphones stolen out of your luggage. Three people, including myself, collectively had 2 pairs of Nike's and a pair of iphone. Headphones removed from our luggage. When we called about them and returned to inquire about our belongings, the manager acted as though he knew nothing. Besides, the rooms are also in very poor conditions with holes in the walls and ceilings and rips in the comforters. Please, do not stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kiersten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2014

This is a small, no frills hotel. The rooms were clean but small. The gentleman at the desk was very pleasant and accommodating. It served our purpose. The restaurant upstairs was delicious. Will definitely stay there again. Wifi and cable.

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dqbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I got plastic surgery and was sent to this quaint hotel rite off the beat n path of " the presidential white house"....gorgeous tropical flowers that grow wild everywhere...most of the staff are bilingual and they make sure their guest are well takin care of...they made my horrible clinical experience with CECIP around the corner from hotel a forgettable one because they were so attentive...*****

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Godsbestmiracle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Upon our arrival, parked in the 4 spot parking lot. Our room was right behind the reception desk and that worried me at first, but it turned out to be no problem. Unlike other hotels that require that you pay cash or they charge you 5% more if you use a credit card, The Carey House Hotel accepts mayor credit cards.
When we entered the room there was no fridge but as soon as I called they brought one right away. Asked for an ironing board and iron, which they also brought rather quickly but unfortunately, the board was too flimsy and one of those that you hang up in your closet when you're done, and the iron was just too old, it ruined a pair of white pants because it stuck on the fabric rather than just glide.
The room was clean but rather outdated, the curtain dusty and needed a good wash, the shower curtain with some mildew, the hot water, the air and tv worked well.
The guys at the reception were always kind and eager to help with whatever issue I had. Many thanks to all in particular to Brian and to the fellow that works the 3-11pm shift.
The location is really ideal if you plan to go to the Colonial Section, you will find lots of little restaurants and shops. Always be mindful of not showing money, jewelry, cameras etc. It's not a dangerous place by any means, but it's always good to avoid problems. It's within walking distance to the Italian Embassy and a 10 minute cab ride to the U.S. Consulate.
The restaurant upstairs was really nothing to write home about. I looked at the menu and just had breakfast every morning, (Continental, 4 toasts and jam, coffe and juice 220RD$ apx 5.00US$ and American breakfast, 2 eggs, toasts, coffe and juice 240RD$, apx 6.00US$)
All in all the Carey House Hotel is a good place to stay, I think I would go back should I need to visit the capital again in the future

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Giovanni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean, albeit slightly old fashioned. Doors lock well, bathroom has warm water, power stays on. It's in a slightly out of the way area in Santo Domingo so either make sure you know where you're going/ have a tour guide that knows where you're going. The Colonial District is about a 5 minute walk and the churches and everything are about 15-20 minutes. It's quite the heavy walk and watch out for cars! There are no ideal restaurants situated by, and I found everything in the room basic. There are no windows in the rooms and the air is a bit stuffy and the room is a bit outdated. For the Dominican Republic, it's pretty good. Compared with the rest of the world, especially the US and much of Western Europe, it's on the lower end of the scale. You'll save big time though.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ameraroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
TAU Casa Conde
#26 of 79 in Santo Domingo
18 reviews
Gazcue
Green House Aparta Hotel
Green House Aparta Hotel
#45 of 79 in Santo Domingo
13 reviews
Royal Palace Hotel
#69 of 79 in Santo Domingo
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Discovery
#65 of 79 in Santo Domingo
58 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hostal Parque
Hostal Parque
#46 of 79 in Santo Domingo
30 reviews
Barcelo Santo Domingo
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carey House Hotel

Address: Calle Cesar Nicolas Penson #12A | Gazcue, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Plaza De La Cultura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $58 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Carey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing