We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Portes 9

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Portes 9
Ranked #24 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Very clean room, great staff and breakfast was really good. Recommend hotel in Zona Colonial of Santo Domingo. I stayed one night at this hotel and it was a very good experience. No es tan costoso y el servicio es muy bueno.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Andrés Guillerm... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2017

We came in on the early flight to Santo Domingo. The hotel staff was great. They allowed us to store our bags while our rooms were being prepared, so we were able to get out into the old town and see the sights. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the plaza and the fort. Very cool place. The rooms were clean and nice with all of the essentials at a bargain price. Very comfortable. Good beds. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lisa777karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

We only spent one night, but it was a good experience. This is a quaint hotel in the Zona Colonial. Easy walking to all of the attractions and restaurants. The breakfast is delightful with pastries, fruits and cooked to order eggs. The staff is friendly and helpful and can point out good places to eat and explore. The rooms are basic but decent. Just don't expect it to be like the better chain hotels. This one still has its quaint charm and is actually a converted private home. I would like to spend more time exploring the area and will definitely stay here when I do.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here two times, one day at a time! The first room we got on the third floor was great! It was beautiful and didn't smell like mold compared to the room we got on the first floor. The room on the 1 st floor was dark and smelly. When we closed the door we felt like we were suffocating...

Ask for a room on a higher floor and you'll be Allright!

The breakfast was delicious

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank scubakaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

This hotel has good air conditioning in the room and the bed is comfortable and clean. It is in a very quiet street and very centralized location by Zona Colonial. It's a 6 mins. walk to a great restaurant Pata e Palo on Plaza de Espana.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 79 in Santo Domingo
173 reviews
Casa Naemie
#20 of 79 in Santo Domingo
203 reviews
TAU Casa Conde
#26 of 79 in Santo Domingo
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#31 of 79 in Santo Domingo
253 reviews
Maison Gautreaux
#64 of 79 in Santo Domingo
45 reviews
Hotel Aladino
#28 of 79 in Santo Domingo
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portes 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portes 9

Address: Calle Arzobispo Portes 9 | between Isabel La Católica y calle Las Damas, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic (Formerly Coco Boutique Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $79 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portes 9 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting little old town colonial style villa with only 4 rooms. Best location to explore the colonial zone of Santo Domingo. In front of the building is a little park which leads to the streets of 'Las Damas' and 'Isabel la Catolica', both of them leading to the most famous sites of 'Zona Colonial' like 'El Conde' (500 meters) and 'Plaza España' (800 meters) away. Everything in walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Portes 9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coco Boutique
Coco Boutique Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing