We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Nearby Hotels
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$115
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$250
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Presidential Suites by Lifestyle(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$297
US$170
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$122
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$344
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,631)
Filter reviews
3,631 results
Traveller rating
1,297
1,124
645
318
247
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,297
1,124
645
318
247
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya doradablack pantherentertainment staffsnack barbeach vendorsdominican republicchickena la cartenightly entertainmentorange marketrecommend this resortresort staffpicky eaterlobstergreat triphave a good timerum factory
Filter
Updating list...
1,222 - 1,227 of 3,631 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was the first resort that we went to in Puerto Plata. The rooms were gorgeous, the best that I have seen in the Dominican thus far. Ours was a basic room, yet it was a loft-style equipped with a kitchenette, two separate bedrooms, and a nice bathroom. The blankets and sheets were comfortable, clean and modern. The resort layout was simple and easy to get around. The food was decent, lots of selection and always warm. We loved the swim-up bar! The drinks were strong, as with any resort, but the selection was great and the service was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful! The beach is not the greatest though. There were lots of debris from the water washed up on shore and the sand isn't very clean. Overall, it was a great trip!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAT_M21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear KAT_M21,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

Its a pleasure to know that we were able to offer you a great vacations. We feel more than glad that we've exceeded your expectations.

We all hope to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Best regards from all of us,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our trip was excellent. The entertainment staff were fantastic. Manny and Janet Jackson were outstanding!! We will definitely go back and enjoy the resort again. The food was not bad and overall the resort was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennyren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Jennyren1,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It's a pleasure to know that you took some of your valuable time to let us know about your experience in our resort. We're more than glad to know about your great experience.

We'll transfer your feedback to Janet Jackson & Manny for their great performance.

Hoping to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Best regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

For us this was a quiet, clean, comfortable, hot retreat. If we wanted to stay up late, there was always a show to watch or people at the bar. We went during the second week of Sept. so there weren't extreme amounts of tourists there, but, enough to make friends or just keep to yourself. The weather was perfect. The food was good, just enough selection to have choices. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The beach was beautiful, yet always breezy. The vendors on the beach will harass you the minute your foot crosses the resort boundary line.(I call them raptors) But, a firm NO THANKS and walk away. If they follow, and they may, a louder NO works too.

Room Tip: Many rooms face the pool, which happens to be where they do most of the entertainment, so you hear everything. Just remember, everyone is on holidays!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2patient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear 2patient,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to welcome you in our property for your vacations.

We all hope to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a 3-night Groupon, and that is what made it okay ($50/person/night). You can go to Sosua and eat & stay on $50 for two with a similar room and more food selection, but we enjoyed our stay and had no real complaints (except for the air conditioning smelling a little moldy). I might've extended our stay one or two more nights, but that would've been enough. The food was okay (nope, not much variety) and the drinks were also limited in variety. It was nice to be able to stay steps from the pool, beach, and food - though staying in one place might've gotten old after a while too. Again, not bad for a few days, but I would never stay longer than a week! And obviously you don't see any Dominican culture this way. To get anywhere in town you have to walk a lot to a main street for a bus (and nobody walks), or pay extreme prices for a taxi or tour.

People were complaining about families coming in on the weekends. The hotel offered us a private buffet for longer-term guests on Friday and Saturday, so I didn't notice any issues. If you don't like having kids around at the pool or beach, choose an adult-only resort! Or if you want something really high-class, pay three or four times as much! Lifestyles is on campus and wants to sell you their packages. That seems closer to North American "luxury."

For our style and the days we stayed, this was fine. We'd probably do it again, but like I said, you can achieve the same thing for less money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graziNatalija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear graziNatalija,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We thank you for honestly about your comments and for choosing us for your recent visit. We appreciate that you took some of you valuable time to write your experience.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We are very pleased with our vacation. We recommend the Grand Paradise Puerto Plata with no condition. We remember the cheerful service of Eduardo at the breakfast, Ruth at the dinner and Manny who kept us very happy. We wish there was a fitness room. We would love to see the people at the desk warmer in their service. It was a great vacation and we will be back definitely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatriciaHdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear PatriciaHdez,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It´s an honor to know that you had a delightful stay with us, We feel more than glad to know that we've exceeded your expectations. We will congratulate our crew for their marvelous job.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews