We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Nearby Hotels
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$248
US$155
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$185
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$305
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$250
US$217
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Playa Grande(Puerto Plata)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,529)
Filter reviews
3,529 results
Traveller rating
1,224
1,106
641
313
245
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,224
1,106
641
313
245
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya doradabeach vendorsentertainment staffsnack bardominican republica la carteorange marketnightly entertainmenttennis courtslobsterresort staffrecommend this resortpicky eaterno graciassmall resorthave a good timegreat trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 3,529 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited during easter with my brother and I only have positive things to say. Very good service, staff, food and hotel :)

The best thing was the entertainers working at the hotel. They were very funny and friendly :)

Roberto, Jancarlos, Kelvin, Pantera and Taino, thank you guys for everything ;)

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very for your positive comments regarding the services of the hotel, we can assure you that our staff appreciate very much the praises and acknowledgement from our visitors of a job well done.

We be looking forward to welcoming you back once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came to dominican ropublic with my famely and i had a great time in grand paradise resort.

It was wonderful i was very happy. The restaurant was fantastic. The pool the beach the show from animation team...amazing we was with the black panther you are good guys thank you my brother. Taino. Roberto. Jeancarlos. Kelvin. Jeison.. good guys from animation team we will come back to see those guys...thank you for make my vacation happy....

From the bar...hugo.jonathan. juan ramon.carlos. marcelino. Mesia. Juan. Horlando...all of them thank you

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Norma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us how much you enjoy your vacation. The entire staff is very appreciative when they received praises for their efforts in ensuring clients satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went on vacation with a friend and had a really nice time. The people were really nice and helpful, the beach were amazing. They had funny entertaiment day and night.
The buffé at the hotel was perfect, they had really good food.
The animation entertaiment were really funny.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Yasemin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very for your positive comments regarding the services of the hotel, we can assure you that our staff appreciate very much the praises and acknowledgement from our visitors of a job well done.

We be looking forward to welcoming you back once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently returned from 10 days at this resort. The resort itself is very nice and very clean. The beach is beautiful. Highly recommend the Select club, the extras you get are well worth it,
ROOMS - small but adequate. Would be nice to have two comfortable chairs for relaxing in evening. Only place to sit was bed. Pillows were horrible, but they replaced them upon request. SHOWER - if you like cold showers you will be fine. Out of 19 days we got one decent shower. The rest of the time it was cold or barely warm. We gave up complaining as they did nothing.
BUFFET was horrible. Choice of good was very limited. You had to line up for 20 mins to get pasta. Would have been nice if cooked pasta was available to serve yourself. Out of 10 days we enjoyed only one meal at the buffet. The staff in the buffet only served those who tipped. If you want a coffee forget it. We felt the food in the buffet catered to Europeans. Other negative is that it is outside. We had a couple very cool nights so sitting st the buffet freezing was not enjoyable. Spoke to several people who were disappointed with food. One couple been there three years ago and said food was great then. This time they hated it and said they won't return.
BRAZILLIAN - this restaurant is also outside, so was not comfortable to eat a meal in the wind and cold. Food however was good but got cold fast being outside.
ITALLIAN - nicest place to eat of all, it is totally indoors, staff was great and food was good. ALL THE RESTAURANTS NEED TO BE INDOORS
SELECT CLUB - wifi is free with select club. Can't always get it in room but can get it outdoors. Safe is also included. The staff at the Select club bar were all amazing and the bar service on the beach was great.
BEACH plenty of chairs and shade. Select club has its own section which is quiet.

It is unfortunate that food was horrible as this could easily be a 4.5 star resort. The grounds are beautiful and so is the beach.

Room Tip: We had oceanfront and loved it. Highly recommend Select Club.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank heather8111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest.

We have read very carefully your comments which we are grateful for you taking the time to evaluate the overall services of the hotel. We certainly are happy that you were generally satisfied with the room accommodation, and our beach facilities. Nevertheless, we regret to have read that you were unsatisfied with the food services. Although, your evaluation of our food services not representative of the overall positive commentary of the majority of our visitors, we assure you that your observations will be taken into consideration to be included in our everlasting efforts in pursuing 100% satisfaction from all of our visitors.

Thank you again for your comments, and we assure you that we will work very hard to improve on the observations you made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

En room, food, drinks, staff, service and hotel in generel was all great. I would recommend this to others. Some things could seem a little old. The select reception was hard to find, maybe some signs would help. The morning breakfast lack some opportunities that should be basic in the buffet. Great service - they gave us another room because the bed was small.
The evening show was great with the black panther Kelvin, Juan Carlos, Roberto. And the staff in select area Jonathan, Jesus, Juan.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Dlair Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding the hotel and all its facilities. It is very encouraging for us to receive positive acknowledgement from our guests. We assure you that each time we receive these feedback it enhances our strong commitment toward excellent services.

We'll be looking forward to welcoming you once again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews