We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Be Live Collection Marien
Nearby Hotels
US$160
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$158
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$244
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$119
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$121
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Viva Wyndham V Heavens(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$124
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$111
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$148
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,484)
Filter reviews
4,484 results
Traveller rating
1,523
1,568
762
339
292
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,523
1,568
762
339
292
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand mariensnack bardanny boygourmet restaurantspaghettientertainment staffdominican republica la carte restaurantsocean viewkids clubgreat resortrecommend this resortwater polopunta canaother resortsbeach volleyballa lot of fun
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 4,484 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We are presently at the Be Live Marien. Upon arriving Monday night we were somewhat apprehensive about the week to come. The resort itself is lovely, but the rooms are in desperate need of an overhaul - very old and worn. The lock on our door was broken so we had to place a chair behind it all night. A request to have it repaired that first night was ignored although we were assured someone would be there in “5 minutes”. (This seems to be the empty promise of many staff in regards to any issues.) The lock was promptly fixed the next morning, however.

There is a $3 US per night charge for the use of a safe which is very old-school and hardly seems very effective.

Towels and especially facecloths are hard to come by and not always stocked properly.

The food at the buffet the first night was also disappointing but it has since picked up in quality. They could still use a bit more variety. The Mexican restaurant was very good as was the Brazilian. Lining up each morning to make reservations is a bit of an inconvenience, though.

The very best feature of this resort is the entertainment staff. They work hard all day to keep the guests entertained and take the time to meet with many people personally. Spaghetti, Bladimir, Mosquito, all the ladies, and our very favourite - CESAR - keep the games and the dancing going until late at night. Their nightly presence at the disco, and last night’s beach party are much appreciated . Although some of the nightly shows are a little cheesy, the staff does try very hard to put on a good production. Well done entertainment staff!

The beach is not the greatest as it doesn’t have the crystal clear blue waters everyone desires, but you can walk quite a ways along the shore.

We have a few days remaining and hope the resort will continue to keep up the service and entertainment despite it being Holy Week when a good part of the Dominican Republic shuts down.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank sunandsandinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Entertainment staff 5/5
Night time entertainment 5/5
Food service 4/5
Cleaning 4/5
Front desk 3/5

I believe your holiday is what you make it. Overall we had a great holiday here. We enjoyed the daily pool entertainment with all of their energy and encouragement every day to get involved.

When we arrived we had an issue with or room. My boyfriend and I received a room with two double beds instead of the king that I’d book. I immediately went down letting them know and asking to switch, where they told me to come back and talk to the manager at 9am and my name/ room was writer down. Meanwhile...I went back at 9am the following day and was then told to talk to two different people and that the manager wasn’t there and to come back at 4pm. At 4pm I was addressed saying the manager was in a ‘meeting’ and they didn’t know where to put us and to come back at 6pm. To not make this any longer...I just waited at the desk until they found me a room with a King. I found it very frustrating that the manager was never there...and the one who initially told me to talk to the manager the next day was the manager! Along with the girls speaking in Spanish about what was going on. After the room issue, i didn’t have to deal with the desk again until checkout.

In your room you have a safe, however you need to RENT the lock from the front desk for 21$usd. Things do have a tricky time drying in the damp. So in the day we rung things outside.

We had a basic king room- not at all like the pictures. Friends of ours had the Superior room (something I would recommend getting if you want a newer room and plan to spend some time in your room). Our room was very basic, the maid did a beautiful arrangement of flowers daily and supplied lots of water. They were great. Friends who had the superior room had a beautiful new bathroom/ door/ flooring/ etc.

As much as we enjoyed the resort, my boyfriend and I both got very ill one night. Both throwing up, followed a few days later by him having another issue. A few other couples we talked to had this too. We 100% don’t blame the retort as they cook so much food, that you never know where there could be contamination. It could also be that they wash vegetables and things in tap water, where as we cannot drink any of the water in Dominican.

For a resort hotel, they had a great fitness/ gym! Lots of weights and space to workout.

The day and nighttime entertainment were the best! They made each day fun, and you could win prizes. Whenever we played a game or darts/ ping pong/ basketball, we were always having fun. It’s wonderful to see the staff enjoying their jobs too. The entertainment staff that truly stood out were Luis, Spaghetti, And Caesar. I truly commend their energy as they work hard non stop, and we saw a few of them at nighttime in the show!

Overall a good experience!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaclyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

I was here for 3 days, checkin starts at 3pm, if early you can use facilities with no problem, check in was painless no issues, rooms are ok, bathroom needs to be updated, when we shower water leak all over the floor, food was good, buffett was good, they have a la carte restaurants, need to be booked in advanced, ask for the safe, $3 a day not big deal, don't know why wi-fi is not free, they give you an hour a day, and if you want they have a paid service expensive, if you can get internet service from your carrier at home...att usa only $10 a day, pool was good, beach nice, check out was smooth, use uber from and to airport..only $7 usd if you take local taxi is $35 usd..yes i can't believe the difference...overall we like it..will be back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank quintero231999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

First of all, food exceeded my expectations! Grounds are well kept and clean...ok so lots's of leaves on the lawns ..no big deal! Beach is cleaned daily! Housekeeping is excellent! VIP worth the money if you hate standing in line for restaurant reservations , Mexican and Brazilian are well worth it. VIP area on the beach with your own bar...Thanks Jeffery...and comfortable lounging beds...and also no lines at the VIP bar at the beach! Also VIP lounge and beach bar serve top shelf alcohol. VIP lounge also has snacks available all day. Buffet has a lot of food options and also VIP area. VIP lounge has free wifi and you get 15 hours of wifi to use during your stay. One and only complaint is the dated rooms and poor quality mattress....but remember you get what you pay for! This resort is good value if your not picky about your room or mattress!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hickchickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Teenagers had a lot of fun on the beach, at the pool, at meals, and at the dance lessons with Mosquito, Spaghetti, Luis David, Vladimir, Caesar, Ricky, Camacaro, and Luis Liriano! The only real issue for teenagers was the limited WiFi, but that forced them to enjoy the other entertainment and not spend so much time on their phones!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank abpatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews