We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do!”

Captain Cook Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 391 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$45
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Before i got to DR this was on my mind and they did not dissapoint. If you are a sea food lover I would this is a must do. A bit pricey but its usual caribbean price so please dont expect to get a wowing bill of cheap. All I can say it is worth the experience the staff are good and the drinks are large so again I would highly recommend this here.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Evroy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

This is such a great place to enjoy seafood and the view is fabulous!!! The service is slow but you can’t complain the beer is ice cold the service is so friendly!!! If you in a hurry don’t stop here but let me tell you...if you don’t eat here you will miss a great experience!!! We have been here 3 times over the last few months and were never disappointed!!!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank christinegZ9299RH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Overrated for me. Food was nothing extraordinary. The service by one of the waiters was spectacular (he said he was from Perú). The other waiter was a little bit pushing. Extremely expensive for what they offered. Check you bill well because they include 18% tax for the government and 10% for tip. When he bring the bill he would not let us examine it and he stayed all the time next to our table. He said he was staying to answer any questions but it was very uncomfortable to examine the account with him next to us. Before checking the account, he said that the tip was not included. But it was. If you are staying at an all-inclusive hotel is not worth going out to spend at a restaurant like this.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank YKMGAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

This restaurant was tucked on the beach. We were seated right away. Great views, very modest. Restrooms were clean, with soap and toilet paper. Which was great considering you may not find those luxury items in other places in DR. They did take plenty of time to even ask what we want for drinks. We ordered “Coco Locos” thinking that they would be served on coconuts with the coconut water and rum. But the contrary it was a coconut milk drink, heavy cream and rum. Not what we were expecting. They did take the drinks back and ordered beers. Our server “Cuba” was so very busy and tried being everywhere st once. He was brightened up our night with his jokes and service. Funny guy. They began with serving what appeared to be fish sticks chips and salad. Very oily. Didn’t really like it but my kids loved it. Had the salad instead. Our main course was the lobster, clam, shrimp, crab dish which was HUGE, rice, beans and tostones. This dish is amazing! So very flavorful fresh and plenty for a party of 5. Cost was cheap compared to seafood here in the states. Seafood is never fresh and always so expensive. Although we encountered some issues, Cuba was great and the seafood dish we ordered was to die for! Will recommend!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Kennmari01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Everytime when we are in Punta Cana we visit this traditional restaurant. We had a nice table with ocean view. The choose of all kind of seafood is good. The lobster and crablegs were well prepared. The homemade patato chips and some green salate accompanied the well grilled fish ans seafood. The coconut ice was very nice. Everything is a little bit overpriced especcialy the wine. The view is a good compensation.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Peter-Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Cook Restaurant also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Captain Cook Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing