We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino
Nearby Hotels
US$335
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$125
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$205
US$128
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$330
US$218
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$337
US$223
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
NH Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$809
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (11,574)
Filter reviews
11,574 results
Traveller rating
6,165
3,222
1,196
555
436
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,165
3,222
1,196
555
436
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplatinum loungebella pastaplatinum packagebungalow suiteplatinum beachplatinum sectionjustin bieberel pescadormain lobbylobby buffeta la carte restaurantsthe lion kinganimation teamseafooddominican republicsteakmake reservations
Filter
Updating list...
5,987 - 5,992 of 11,574 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2007

We brought a large group to this resort and found it to be "overbooked" as described by the front desk. Our travel agent booked my wife and I a king size bed but we were offered two "twin size beds" by the representative at the front desk. I was second in line to check in and had to wait with 25-35 people behind me for 45 minutes until the language challenged person at the front desk took care of the two couples in front of me. Due to the fact that the resort was SEVERELY OVERBOOKED, we waited in line wherever we went whether it was for the buffet breakfast or drink line or even the information line at the front desk.

The bathrooms leaked in most of the rooms and the floors were flooded when we checked in. A quick response was delivered to the room in 48 hours to fix the leaky fixtures in the TOILET of all places. Imagine just might have been leaking into the room? Made several complaints to the General Manager who took care of most of the issues by the end of our stay and offered a "special dinner" for us the lat night.

Maybe this week was just a tough one to be there. Moral of story; Book a high end resort when traveling to Punta Cana and avoid this place at all costs until they get some help. Customer Service rating was a 3 on a scale of 10.........

Massachusetts.. 12/30/06 to 1/6/07

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Papi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2007

We spent the holidays at this resort our vacation started on the 19th of Dec and continued to the 2 of January. It's our 4th time to Punta Cana and we'ed all agreee that it was an okay experience. We travelled in a group of 6 including 3 children. For me the resort was too big with so much time being spent travelling to and from breakfast, the beach and the pool. For my children the pool was the largest disappointment. It was dirty, and although we saw pool boys cleaning each morning with the amount of people at this resort it should have been done at least three times a day. The children were content with the kids club and actually particpated in most of the events. Bella did a wonderful job including the children, especially in the lion king show. The evening entertainment was enteraining!!
Our vacation last year was at the LTI just up the beach and for us we would all go back there in a flash, the food was nothing to get excited about, however the bar b que chicken and fries were to die for. I believe it all depends on what your expectations are. I want a safe beach, no roaches, and no illness. There is only so much a resort can do to make your trip enjoyable, you have to make it what it is. Your travel companions, realistic expectaions, and the desire to have a great vacation.
In regards to the staff, just like at home if you treat them with respect, and attempt to communicate with them they will do anything in their power to help you. I speak limited Spanish and my husband who is Portuguese helps out, and our children who speak French all made an effort to communicate. I believe in tipping and we had no problems with the bar, the restaurants, or the front desk, and Freddy who books your reservations for the Al la Carte was just amazing. Over all I would be honest when giving a reference for this hotel, for us it is to big, the pool could have been a lot cleaner but the staff are great ,there were no BUGS in our rooms, and the food was what it is.
Travelling at this time of the year would not be my first choice again, it's still winter so the days are shorter, it was very windy, and it rained at least once a day during our two week period. No fault of the resort though.
For families that like everything close at hand, clean, and regular staff who basically become your individual host then I recommend the LTI.
Where ever you may end up on your vacation just remember it is a vacation sit back relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank louiemiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2007

We had a group of twelve people (eight adults, four children) and not one of us was satisfied with the resort. Although the beaches and pool where very nice the rooms, food and service where terrible.

The Rooms: Our group had four rooms. Three of the four rooms smelled like mold. We had to demand a new room for one of the families in our group due to ants in the bed. The water pressure in the showers was very bad and the "hot" water was luke-warm at best.

The Food: The resort has a reservation system for all the restraunts except one buffet. Of the seven nights we where there we had to eat at the buffet all but two due to the lack of open tables at the other restraunts. To make reservations you must be at the front lobby at 8:00 am the day before you want the reservation (I don't know about you but I enjoy sleeping in on vacation). We did not have any meals at this resort that would be anywhere near five star. Most of the time we ate the fresh fruit and noodles from the pasta bars.

The Service: The best way to sum up the service at the Bavaro Princess is that the staff just does not care. At meals it was hard to get served drinks. At most meals there was not enough silverware on the tables. Of the two times that we did have reservations they messed one of them up (they tried to make us eat at 10:00 pm instead of 8:00 pm). They charged $24 US for a two minute local phone call from the room. When we complained about the smell in the rooms they did nothing about it. There where times of the day when you could not get anything to eat. The bars and restraunts hours where not convienent. The entertainment was not very good. The only pool was closed from 7:00 pm until 8:00 am for chemical treatment. The public restrooms where not clean.

Overall the best advice I can give you on the Bavaro Princess is DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iowa_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2007

Jan. 9, 2007
My family and I wanted to treat ourselves to a Christmas trip so we researched Punta Cana as much as possible. It was a choice between the Princess Bavaro and another - Grande Bahia Principe. We had heard great things about both. In the end, we picked the Princess. We went from Dec. 16 -23.
We have been to many other resorts and always go for the 5 star variety. We were leary of the comments on the food. We read so many reviews, but everyone has their own level of expectation and they varied too much.
We knew that we would be very picky as Canadians, we have come to expect a certain standard.
Although the resort offered several restaurants and buffets, we were disappointed with the food overall. There was a tremendous selection at the main buffet and eventually we found items we could live with, many dishes were unrecognizable and tasted weird. the bread selection was great and tasted good, so did the French fries, burgers are not the greatest but okay.
The resort itself was lovely, our rooms were clean and the marble bathrooms were impressive. On closer inspection, our bath drain worked poorly and we had a small leak in the corner that the maid would address each day by leaving a towel rolled up in the corner.
I would greatly advise buying the upgrade to the Platinum pkg. This allowed us our own check in/out service, computer access and premium brand drinks wherever we went.
We had our own lounge area that we could access drinks and some pastries, buns, cold breakfast, coffee and tea. It was great. There was also a large screen TV that showed American movies so you could sit in there if you wanted to.
We were also able to check out of our rooms and then come back and use a shower before our late night flight home.
The beach is gorgeous, no worries of stepping on something in the water -it is absolutely clear with no debris (except for a bit of seaweed that would roll in at times with the waves)
Boogie boarding is great, the waves were not too high, but enough to give you a good ride. the pool was okay. Grounds were spotless and well looked after. We left a dollar or two every morning for the maid along with some small treats such as crayons/books, Christmas books, candies etc.
As careful as we were not to drink the tap water or over-induldge, we all ended up with Turista, meaning we were scrambling to the bathrooms a few times a day. It was annoying but not enough to ruin the vacation. Make sure to bring as much Immodium etc. as you can.
Entertainment: each evening was not great, sometimes downright hokey. The best night was the disco beach party. There was a disco at the entrance by the casino but we never made it as we were too tired by eleven o'clock and most of the discos didn't open until midnight. Our 22 year old complained that the entertainment wasn't great, but he ended up going to bed before midnight because the days were so hot and long.
Although we have been critical of the food, we realize that our standards are very high, so do not go expecting to get the same quality you are used to at home. On the other hand, for us, food makes the holiday, so although we gave it an above average rating because the place really was nice, I doubt we'd go back.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Travel_lassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2007

This hotel is a five star resort. The rooms are fabulous. The beach is fantastic. The service is excellent. The food is fresh and the choices of food is diverse. We will definitly go back next year.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank nilou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews