We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Secrets in Punta Cana is Excellante!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Secrets in Punta Cana is Excellante!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This by far was the best all inclusive we have ever experienced!! We have stayed at Palace Resorts, Iberostar, Barcelo and Dreams but from here on out I will do my best to stay at a Secrets Resort.
From the minute we got to the resort till the minute we left we truly enjoyed ourselves. This year my wife had invited her 2 sisters and spouses to join us and they too were very impressed by the great experience they encountered at The Royal Beach.
We stayed in the 5300 building which we would recommend. You are close to the restarunts, pool and beach and don't really have a far walk to the lobby and the Now resort.
Food was excellent at all the Secrets restaurants. I would definately recommend the Royal Beach Caribbean Dinner they have every Friday night right on the beach. This was our last dinner at the resort and it was great! Lobster tail and steak as much as you wanted. All you need to do is make a reservation with the concierge. The Now restaurants were ok. It was like staying at the Four Seasons and dining at Ho Jo's when we ate at the Now resort.
Pool were great especially the lazy river we floated around it everyday making friends with everyone with the swim out rooms, delivering them drinks and sharing laughs. The pool bar was great also! Carlos made the best drinks and did some jugging tricks in the process. My wife and sisters wanted to take him home with us they loved him so much!! The wait staff around the pool were also great Junior was always making sure your glass was never empty.
The beach was great! A nice mix of cabanas and palm trees for shade and plenty of sun as well. Make sure to do the non-motorized water sports that are free. You can go down to the beach at 9:30 every morning and they teach you how to use the small catamarans and you can take it out any day for 30 minutes per room. It's a great time we only wished we had done it earlier in the week.
Rooms were great! Nice sized and really clean. The first floor ones smelled kind of musty but they had plenty of insence burning to help with the smell. Maids did a great job with making up the rooms and turn down service with rose petals on the bed and everything!
The buffet was great every morning for breakfast. We had a party of 6 and every morning they would make us a table up outside no problem. Zamora and Gregory were awesome making sure we had everything we needed. From mamosa's to coffee, to OJ. Our glasses were never empty.
Best mommy and daddy getaway ever!! We will definately be back again to this Secrets and other Secrets in Mexico and Jamacia! Thank you to the whole staff for making our stay excellente!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Thrill511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,646
    1,502
    588
    163
    90
See reviews for
685
5,567
149
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,171)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at SRB Feb 16 - 23, 2012. First and foremost, every single one of the employees was just so unbelievably gracious, cheerful, professional and attentive. I can't say enough about the guys at the pool bar where we spent most of our time. You've heard all their names on previous posts. They really are just awesome. The hostesses and waiters at the buffet, all of the guys who keep the entire grounds sparking, our housekeeper, the front desk and conceirge, all of them, just the most wonderful people.
The hotel was beautiful and our room was very comfortable. I think we had the absolute best room in the hotel, #4178, which was a swim up, right across from the pool bar. In fact, once I laid down on that bed, I was out like a light, it was like sleeping on a cloud. Of course drinking all day and being out in the sun for 10 hours probably helped. My only gripe about the room was the shower. The shower stall is only separated from the rest of the bathroom by a glass partition. It took up to 15 minutes to get hot water so the entire floor usually ended up all wet. Oh yeah, and the tile in the rooms, don't make the same mistake I did and run in from the pool soaking wet. That tile gets wet, it's like wet ice. I went flying and landed on my arm and butt, had a huge bruise all week.
We hung around at the pool just about all day, every day except one day when we went on the Bavaro Runners excursion. The beach was fine in front of the hotel but if you walked either way, it was pretty disgusting. Garbage floating in the water and all over the beach. Wild dogs roaming the beach, not to mention that the seaweed is just so thick you don't even want to go in the water.
We found the food to be severely lacking at the buffet. There was tons of food but nothing really looked edible. It took a couple days to get the need to experiment and we wasted so much food because something that we thought might taste good was just.... well, icky. The buffet is the only place for breakfast and I actually lost 3 pounds on the trip because I couldn't find anything that I liked besides fruit and toast or bagels. We found the grill on the beach to be the best place for lunch. You could get an awesome hamburger, steak, grilled chicken, grilled salmon. Five stars for the grill on the beach. It would have been nice if they had a small niche where you could get snacks like, pretzels, chips, slice of pizza, but they didn't.
The men have to wear pants for all of the alacart restaurants which really pissed off my husband. He had some really nice dress shorts but had to go in wearing his only pair of jeans instead every single night. In fact, they would allow guys in with crappy looking ripped jeans and obnoxious T-shirts but not if you are wearing a nice pair of shorts and a poloshirt.
We won't be returning to the DR because of all the garbage. When we went on the Bavaro Runners excursion, it just blew our minds that nobody puts garbage in any kind of receptacle. You would think with the millions that the DR must take in from the $10 entry fee at the airport, that they could pick up the garbage. It's everywhere and it makes what would be a beautiful place to visit, a very ugly place to visit. It's the mindset of the people; we stopped at a school on the Bavaro Runners tour and somebody gave the teacher a bag of suckers for the kids. Right away, the teacher opens the bag, rips off a wrapper and lets it fly away and jams the sucker into her mouth!!! This isn't a reflection on the hotel, just something you might want to keep in mind if you haven't made up your mind about going to the DR.

Room Tip: #4178 best room in the entire resort!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Secrets Royal Beach is one of the best resorts in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. It is an adult only resort. The rooms are beautiful and the food is great!! On top of this there is great service all allowing for a very relaxing vacation. Special thank you to the best bartender ever Carlos, and very helpful manager (boss) Alejandro. A great trip would not be possible without their kindness and great service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This review is for my stay in June of 2011, right after the hotel switched over to Secrets. First I want to say that the entertainment staff is superb. They made our stay very enjoyable. The hotel very clean and comfortable and we had no problems with getting a lounge chair at the pool or on the beach. The food is great in the Secrets side of the resort and if you want top shelf drinks visit the lobby bar. Its definitely worth paying extra to stay on the secrets side of the hotel. This is definitely more of a place for couples, or if you are looking for relaxation and less of a party.

My main complaint with this hotel is how they wasted our vacation time with trying to sell us a timeshare. If you are not over 40 you are not eligible anyway, so don't bother showing up for the "lunch" presentation. By lunch they walk you over to the buffet and you eat while they try to sell you something. I thought the manager who came over to try to close the deal was creepy and rude to us and I just wanted to leave. Who cares about the free gift when you are at an all inclusive resort - big deal! If it had not been for that experience I would have given it 4 stars.

Also, they will tell you to go see the travel agent to schedule your shuttle ride back to the airport (assuming you prepurchased with the hotel stay). Don't show up when they tell you to, you will just end up standing in line because they tell everyone to show up at the same time. The travel agent is there during regular buisiness hours so you can just stop by and show your voucher any day before the day you have to leave. Also, this is also where they try to sell excursions but I have a better suggestion. If you want to parasail or go on the party boat (highly recommended) there is a stand on the beach in front of the hotel that schedules these water activities and they were very reasonably priced and professional.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for the pool side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lee353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife and I came here for a once in a lifetime 10 year anniversary vacation and we absolutely love it! The staff is very friendly and the service is amazing. We want to especially thank our favorite juggling bartender Carlos as well as Speedy, Martinez, Junior and Barbie. Thanks for making this a wonderful vacation and for the memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
23.0 km away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#3 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,175 reviews
5.2 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
27.3 km away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
3.7 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
3.7 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Av Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price range (per night): $419 - $973
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing