We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Nearby Hotels
US$324
US$253
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$293
US$171
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$391
US$274
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$346
US$270
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$253
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$433
US$254
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$512
US$471
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$305
US$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TRS Turquesa Hotel(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$197
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (10,613)
Filter reviews
10,613 results
Traveller rating
7,430
2,032
805
220
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,430
2,032
805
220
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillentertainment teameddie murphyla rivieramilky waybaopreferred clubthe lazy river pooljuan manuelpool barbig papispaghettiour honeymoonsexy chocolateswim up roompreferred poolunlimited vacation club
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 10,613 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We just got back from our trip. We had a great time! The food, staff and resort was excellent. We had a great time with Spaghetti and Eddy Murphy! If you are thinking about Punta Cana think about staying at Secrets Royal Beach! It is excellent!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marcie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eConcierge N, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Marcie M,

Thank you for honoring us at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana for your holidays. It is a pleasure to learn about your "excelente" experience, from which you remark the food and staff attentions. We will congratulate Spaguetti and Eddy Murphy particularly for providing you with memorable attentions.

Best regards,

Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arrival, we were greeted with drinks and had an easy check-in process. We were granted our wishes of a 1st floor room without any issues. The hotel is clean and the rooms were comfortable. We had an issue with the toilet overflowing, but that was fixed quickly. We also had to call for towels because they did not leave us clean towels on one day. The safe required new batteries one day, which was inconvenient, because we were on our way to breakfast and it wouldn't lock without new batteries.

The food was good. It wasn't great, except for the calamari, it was delicious!

Mery at the front desk was wonderful as was Emely from guest services.

Sea Pro at the beach, who runs the kayaks, hobie cats, and paddle board service, sold us an excursion. They were not truthful in all the details of the excursion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lazy river.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank teacherbrown15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eConcierge N, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear teacherbrown15,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and left your impressions. We appreciate your remarks about the easy check- in process, the accomplish or your request, the food quality and cleanliness through the resort. Nonetheless, we are sorry about the aspects which prevented from having a more pleasurable experience. I'm transmitting your feedback to the proper departments.

Best regards,

Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The whole resort was beautiful! The rooms are very spacious, including the bathrooms. The lazy river was a favorite for everyone! Perfect for relaxing with a swim up bar in a larger pool area for the louder crowd. Met a ton of great employees such as Eddie Murphy!! Definitely recommend this resort!!

Room Tip: swim up to the lazy river rooms
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Brianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eConcierge N, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Brianna M,

Thank you for honoring us at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana with your visit. It is pretty significant to confirm you had an "excelente" experience, besides you remark the rooms, comfort at the lazy river and pool area. We appreciate you also recommend our hotel and underline the performance of Eddy Murphy.

Best regards,

Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family loved this resort mostly for its lazy river. We brought lots of rafts and spent a lot of time floating in the sun. Would definitely recommend bringing your own rafts! Rooms were spacious and comfortable. The main pool had a swim up bar, but if you choose to hang out by the lazy river, servers will come around to take your drink orders. All of the workers are very kind, and they have activities all day to participate in. Play some of the games and win fake money to use in an auction. We won T-shirt’s and hats to take home with us. Our favorite worker was Eddie Murphy. Would definitely recommend this resort!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eConcierge N, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Brittany M,

Thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana for your family holidays destination. We feel glad that you prefer our hotel because of the ambiance provided by the lazy river, and the kindness of the team. It is an honor, that you also recommend others travelers to visit our property.

We can't wait to receive you again for another memorable experience.

Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve just come back from 10 days here. This was my first trip as an all inclusive and first trip to the Caribbean generally.

Firstly the good bits, the hotel is clean and tidy and the pool and common area is a nice place to be. Though you’ll need plenty of mosquito spray. The service in general is very good and people want to help.

The bits I was less impressed about naturally spring to mind more so than the above. The restaurants are rather underwhelming, not only do some of them share identical menus (Capers and Portofino) but the food I had from Himitsu, Capers and Portofino were less appealing than the buffet which isn’t something I thought I would say. Himitsu was never going to compare to a decent London counterpart but the whole experience took about 30 minutes (a theme with everywhere we went) and the only way to make an evening of it would be to stagger ordering or just sit there long after you’d eaten. I found the cooking lesson at Himitsu particularly annoying. Staff in general were very loud and shouting all sorts of chants and animal noises. This might appeal to some Americans but I found it irritating, misjudged and frankly, a bit depressing that the staff feel the best way to connect with their common guest is through making duck noises (more on this in a second)

The clientele - a fair amount of people drinking like they may never see another drink. Smoking in the pool. Nearly everyone you saw had an enourmous ‘gulp’ cup with them which meant the bar ran out of stuff pretty quick as everyone was drinking cocktails by half litre measures. The St Patrick’s day green foam party summed it all up really, crass, cheap and embarrassing.

The staff - as I say, mostly really good. However certain things really did wind me up after a while, not least the waitress at breakfast that would say/shout “yeah baby” at anyone and anyone every few minutes with seemingly no idea as to what she was actually saying or for what reason. It seemed that some of the staff had started behaving like children as presumably it’s what they felt resonated best with the majority of their guests and got them tips. I found it embarrassing and a bit depressing for them and even more so the grown adults who would join these college football style chants around the bar. It made me think brits abroad were not quite so bad. (They still are). I also found the stock response to asking how someone was of ‘excellente’ a bit hollow.

Food/drink- I found the buffet to be the best of the bunch really, fair amount of choice and it was mostly pretty good. I may have missed a trick with the drink in allowing them to use whatever they pleases to make cocktails etc. However, the wine is awful. Like really very bad. The beer is ok but nothing like as nice as what you can get outside the resort (Canita was nice in other local bars). The prosecco/champagne (the Italians or French would be insulted by either) was borderline drinkable. Especially when compared with the white wine. The tonic water from the gun was really quite bad and turned even branded gin into something undrinkable. We generally really resorted to buying wine out of the brochure. The vouchers that were supplied (as with the spa) lessen the artificially enlarged prices (41 dollars for a £4 bottle of Sauv Blanc) just about.

Rooms/cleaning/room service

Rooms were good generally, make sure you do your best to kill any mosquitos in there early on as you’ll be destroyed otherwise. The cleaning was well done but I found the random knocks on the door annoying. Twice the door was knocked at around 8am to ‘check on the room’. I also phoned reception for more beer once which took 8 calls and a raised voice to get anything done. A general theme was fairly difficult conversations in English and considering 90% of the guests spoke it, it made some simple requests seem quite painful.

Lastly - not sure who is responsible really but most of the Sunbeds are ‘reserved’ with a thrown towel by about 8am so if you want one with a nice position be sure to be up early.

I might well have expected something totally out of kilter with what I was going to get with this trip but I feel much of the above is fairly basic stuff. We spent the last 3 nights getting cabs out of the hotel to other places nearby, these nights were the most enjoyable of the stay for me. While some guests were total car crash of course many were very pleasant along with the staff who have a tough gig on their hands and were mostly great.

Stayed: March 2018
5  Thank 11Rob11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eConcierge N, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 11Rob11,

Thank you for visiting our hotel and left your impressions detailed in your comment. Thank you for firstly highliting the cleanliness in our property and the comfortable ambiance.

Aside from the above said, we are sorry that your experience was not completely as your expectations. I have noted your impressions about the food and drinks and the service related to these aspects, as with the housekeeping service. Our main objective is providing a memorable experience, this mean we are willing to work on improvements.

Nevertheless, I feel compelled to make some clarifications about your review. We have an extensive and continuos spraying program in our entire property. Besides, we lend repellent to our guests in determine areas. For those who may be more sensitive, we recommend to bring their own. Related to our team, as you can see in the majority of the comments we receive, their attentions and friendliness are the most mentioned aspect. Nonetheless, we will verify closely the terms in which they interact with our customers.

We reiterate our apologies.

Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews