We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,509)
Filter reviews
8,509 results
Traveller rating
6,762
1,180
342
125
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,762
1,180
342
125
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family concierge gabi club kids zone hydro grill main resort dinner reservations gabi beach angela mercedes andy constante juan tiren private garden bedroom master suite real resort blue agave personal concierge family vacation yhi spa
Filter
Updating list...
5,610 - 5,615 of 8,509 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our stay at the Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real was almost perfect. We stayed from 02/19 - 02/26 in a one bedroom master suite. The room was very nice, clean, and furniture looked very new. The pool was very nice however more seats are needed at the Reserve pool where kids swim

We had the following issues which were disappointed
1. Making diner reservations is extremely frustrating. The concierges that assist to make the reservation always have excuses why something is booked. We arrived at the hotel at 4 PM and were told the reservation window for the day was closed/everything was booked and we had to eat in the buffet. After telling them we did not pay thousands of dollars to eat in a buffet they were able to get us a 6 PM dinner reservation and was told every other time slot and restaurant was booked. This was a LIE. We ate at the restaurant from 6 – 7 (1 hour). When we left there were 15 tables empty with only 4 customers. We then went for a walk and every other restaurant at 7 PM was EMPTY, less than 20% seated. We received our reservations from the concierge the next day for the rest of the week and the times were all over the place 6 PM, 9 PM, 6:15 PM, 9:30 PM, ect. After getting nowhere with two concierges we went and spoke to the hostess at each restaurant who said it would be no problem and all changed our reservation to 7 PM each night. Only Passion was seated at 80% capacity at every restaurant we ate. I would recommend not dealing with concierges and talk to the hostess.
2. The TV service and internet service was spotty at best. Most of the time the TV was static and internet was slow or did not work. They never fixed it. But hey we were in Punta Cana not for TV/Internet but don’t go their expecting to be able to work if you need these. My Blackberry was faster than the hotels internet
3. Much less of an issue was the room cleaning. It was never done in one part\time of the day – sometimes at 9 AM and other times at 4 PM. The same was true about turn down service, it was either 7 PM or 10 PM or never. We had a 2 year old with us so it would have been a great service for the hotel to ask what time we wanted these services.

The Good and the Great
1. The food at breakfast is awesome. They have the best bacon I ever had; I must have eaten a pound. The variety at breakfast is great – American, Spanish, fruits, almost everything.
2. The fresh fruits are awesome at every meal
3. Passion restaurant is the best with Market Grill the coming in a close second. The fish is great at Market Grill but steaks are a bit fatty for different types we tried.
4. Beach was awesome. The resort purchased a machine to clean the seaweed from the sand so it was much cleaner than in the past.
5. The Reserve at night was very quiet. We heard no noise or music. The Palma Real is very loud at night with music and performances until about 12 AM.

The staff
1. Most of the concierges are rude and don’t go out of their way to help you. We never heard from them after getting our diner reservations. In my opinion fire them ALL.
2. The golf cart drivers are great. Fernando Santana should be made a manager to train what customer service is. Every time he drove us he helped us on/off with bags and gave recommendations and info of events.
3. There are only male waiters in the restaurants (except breakfast) which is something my wife picked up on. Don’t know why but it annoyed my wife that they did not treat women equally
4. Pool guy at the SMVC/Reserve Pool by beach is great guy. Always got us fresh towels and asked if we needed anything. Being asked if you need anything is 75% of customer service.

Overall we would go again. However the parent company needs to put more attention on detail and training their concierges. You can tell most did not work their way up from bell hops/maids. Most are graduates from college that think they are too good for the job. At my company we promote from within and those are always the best employees. Some people might consider these things petty and happen at most hotels, but if you don’t give feedback they can’t say they did not know!
http://www.thereserveatparadisus.com/

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joe_cast_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPPRL, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Dear Joe,

I regret that you could not experience a perfect vacation due to some small inconveniences you had encountered during your stay.

I apologize if our dinner reservation system, TV and Internet service, and Concierge department did not meet your expectations. I appreciate your observations in these respects and I have forwarded your comments to the corresponding departments.

In other hand, I would like to thank you for your compliments towards our staff, grounds and facilities.

Sincerely,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We love the Paradisus Reserve and just spent a week there (Feb 11-18/12). HOWEVER, we were horrified at the noise/music that occurred almost every night till about 1am coming from, we were told, a hotel nearby (Secrets?). We were told this hotel had changed hands during the year (there was certainly no problem when we were there in Feb/11) We had returned because we loved it in '11 but we will not return to the Reserve unless guaranteed a good night's sleep...at least from 11 pm or so on. A/C and closing of windows was NO help.The pounding base and yelling was unbelievable and we could not understand that guests would not be complaining. For us, that ruins this gorgeous resort. We love the beach/food/people but a good night's sleep is crucial. We also did not like the approach of the so-called consierge who on the first day last year turned on the hard-sell time-share barrage. This year we just said "no".

Room tip: See above!
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shar967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPPRL, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Dear Guest,

I truly appreciate your constructive observations about our property, and I highly regret that your experience was less than you and we expected due to the noise coming from our neighbor resort. As you know, guest satisfaction is our top priority and therefore we are very concerned with the fact that we did not impress you with some of our services.

Hearing that you will not be returning to our hotel saddens us a lot do to the fact that we work very hard everyday to make our guests return home satisfied and that instead of being seen as guests at our hotel, start to join our wonderful family composed by our incredible and friendly staff.

Best regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel facilities are great, one of the most beautiful I've stayed. However, service was so bad that I'll never get back.
To start with, we had a reservation at the Reserve, but when we arrived, the hotel was overbooked (!!??) and we had to stay at another Melia hotel. Worse: they couldn't undersatnd why we were not happy. Simple: the other hotel was much inferior and cheaper than the Reserve. By the way, that should be a very profitable strategy in the short term: they charge you for the Reserve, but let you stay at the poor cousin. After we complained a lot, they moved us to the Reserve on our 2nd day. There, we had problems every single day: lack of staff at the restaurants; concierge couldn't make a single dining reservation correctly; at Acqua restaurant, the food was so bad we couldn't eat; room service did not show up one day (and rarely came to make the room for the night) and some of the staff was very rude whenever we complained. Only compliments go to Domingo Beltre, guest service manager, who really tried to help.
Summing up, great facilities, but the bad service provided eclipse that fact. We'll never get back and we don't recommend it. Don't waste your time, money and patience at this hotel.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank JulianaSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPPRL, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Dear Juliana,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review about your recent stay with us. As a service-oriented company, our goal is not only to fulfil, but also surpass our guests’ expectations; therefore we put our greatest interest into your opinion.

I would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you have encountered during your stay. I regret very much if our cusine, and service in overall did not meet your expectations. Your constructive observations have been forwarded to the corresponding departments in order to take the appropriate measurements.

Ms. Juliana, once again, receive our most sincere apologies, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future to change your perception about our product.

Sincerely,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

An absolute dream destination, a true 5-star resort!
Rooms, grounds, pools, restaurants, staff, beaches etc all kept to the highest of standards.
Make sure you visit the H2O bar, close to the Reserve's reception area. An excellent bar, run by one of the BEST bartenders you will meet. He's nicknamed "The Cuban", his name is Luis. Not only did he do an excellent job to make our vacation great, but (without even knowing it) also made my proposal to my girlfriend more special, as well as celebrating with us after we were engaged :)

The Reserve is separated from the larger Palma Real, a little more private and exclusive, but close enough to the bigger resort that you feel included and connected. Easy walking distances and great "shuttle" service by golf carts whenever / wherever you need to go.

There was a lost bag at the airport and all staff at the Reserve were excellent in their assistance. They were making calls and every effort to get our bag ASAP, even having someone drive us to the airport to look for it. When the airport couldn't release it that night, someone from the Reserve drove back the next day, collected the bag and placed it in the room. Not part of their job description, but an important part of excellent service!!

Palma Real is highly recommended, and having gotten engaged here, it is a memory that will last forever!

Room tip: Our room faced away from the pools and was very private and quiet, yet very close to the reception, pools bars and reception. We also had a beautiful private garden from our room, with an outside jacuzzi, sun beds and a sweet cabana.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Private P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPPRL, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for the confidence placed in us to celebrate your engagement, and for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by Luis Garcia. I feel proud to know he provided you with an excellent service making your proposal more special.

Our commitment is to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. We do hope to have the pleasure to host your honeymoon in a near future.

Kind regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

we upgraded from the paaradisus to the reserve. we had no expectations and were pleasantly surprised. spa and casino crdit were a plus. we had a suit and comfortably slept three of us. everything was so clean and welcoming. the ground were meticulous. service was a phone call away. food was great and much to choose from. shows were fantastic. we never had to leave the resort. beaches and pool amenities were wonderful.

Room tip: second floor requires climbing stairs, may want to ask for lower level if you have strollers etc. our room at the reserve faced the pool and was sunny
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CmG41500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPPRL, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for extending us your valuable comments about our Spa, food, service, and grouds. At the Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal.

We await you soon at the Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real for a next wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews