We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$472
US$349
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$399
US$210
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$395
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Catalonia Royal Bavaro(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$216
US$168
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$387
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Portblue Le Sivory Punta Cana(Uvero Alto)(Great Value!)
US$381
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$331
US$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$707
US$535
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,610)
Filter reviews
3,610 results
Traveller rating
727
1,539
797
322
225
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
727
1,539
797
322
225
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot dogsseafoodsmall resortother resortsocean viewfrench friesa la carte restaurantsgreat beachanimation teampasta stationbeach barfamily suitestayed in buildingnightly entertainmenthamburgerdance lessonsboth directions
Filter
Updating list...
959 - 964 of 3,610 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

A friend and I stayed at the VIK the week of February 13th. We read the reviews and went with an open mind. Considering the cheap price we paid, we were not disappointed. We had a very relaxing week and the beach was clean and beautiful.

I agree with others, this resort is a 3 Star, not a 4 Star so people shouldn't expect a huge resort with 4/5 Star amendities. Our hotel room was basic but was clean every day. We didn't care as we weren't staying in the room much but I know there were some families we spoke with that were disappointed by the basic rooms. Again, it's not a 4 or 5 star resort.

The food was good, nothing fancy. There was a lot of variety to choose from and I think after a week, you'd likely be pretty bored of the food. The servers did the best they could to be accomodating considering the number of tables they have to serve. Obviously, if you tip, you will likely get better service. We were greeted every night by the hostess and they were very friendly! We ate at the Italian restaurant a few times and enjoyed it.

The evening entertainment for the kids looked great and the shows for adults were okay, granted we only saw a few shows. The disco at the resort was empty, perhaps during spring breaks, etc it may have been more lively.

The resort is small, simple and clean. The people that worked there were friendly and we didn't have large issues with the language barrier. Overall, considering the cheap price, we got exactly what we had expected and had a great vacation!

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 2 but apparently Building 4 and 5 are more modern and closer to the beach. The resort is smaller so the walk from building 2 was max. 10 minutes.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TorontoTravelchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with us.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacations in our Vik hotel Arena Blanca. Thank you for the positive comment about our beach, thank as well for recognizing the work of our staff, we are always striving for excellence and best service.

We always take the comments seriously and implement new things that help us to improve the quality of service. Once again, thanks for your comments.

Warm regards from Punta Cana,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
Tel: (809) 221-6640/331-6640
Fax: (809) 221-464

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

What can i say don't read bad reviews i have stayed here twice once in june 2008 then again in may 2011 the weather is much better in june than may though we came back with great tans both times there was just more rain in may apparently the people that own the time share properties don't go in may as they know its like that but it would be hot every day until about 3pm then it would rain which i found nice with 2 children it was a nice break from the heat.

The first time we stayed we were in block 3 i think the room was ok a bit dated but very clean and we never had a problem we did notice that when we stayed the first time they would put bottles of coca cola and sprite as well as water the second time we stayed we only got water not that it was a huge problem also the second time we stayed we were in the refurbed block i think its block 4 the rooms are lovely in these blocks couldn't fault it one bit we didn't have a view though but didn't mind as the room made up for it my mother in law was put in block 5 she requested to be in block 4 near us they were going to charge but she refused and the next day she had a gorgeous room in block 4 she got all the sun on her balcony i was very jealous.

The food is fantastic lots of choice all fresh it can be a bit repetitive but its the same in any all inclusive the bbq/pizza station at lunch is lovely and much more convenient with 2 young children be warned there will be ques for the pizza though.

The property is kept really clean and tidy the beach is AMAZING and the sea is so warm and calm, when we go back we will certainly be coming back to the vik. Also i came with 2 young children and they had a great time there isn't a lot of activities but they were young so happy with the pool and beach the night time entertainment was okay if the circus is on you have to see it they were brilliant.

The coffee machine in the reception is lovely, i also went to the spa and they were brilliant my skin felt amazing afterwards, it was my birthday whilst i was there last time and the guys that sing in the buffet sang happy birthday to me which was nice. Also for anyone taking young children my daughter got an ear infection the first time we went so we saw the onsite doctor his english was perfect and he was really good.

Also the shop is very expensive so i would say bring extra of everything if you don't use it leave it for the maids though the first time we came we ran out of nappies and the shop didn't have my daughters size so someone went to the local town for a pack of nappies for me which i thought was lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank christina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with us.

We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in our resort and we will be more than happy to welcome you again here in your Vik hotel Arena Blanca. Thanks as well for recognizing the work of our staff; we are always striving for excellence and the best service. We are grateful for your positive comment about our beach, they inspired us to work harder keeping our beach and ground areas well maintained.

Best regards,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
Tel: (809) 221-6640/331-6640
Fax: (809) 221-4649

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We are young family with 4 and half year boy. Comming from SLOVENIA - Europa.
We spend a nice holiday between 21.03 - 03.04. This is our fourth travel to Punta Cana. I trust Trip advisor. I read a lot of revius from other people when we choose that resort. (Always the same resort.)

I have only positive (+++) words for VIK Hotel Arena Blanca resort. The stuff are great, always funny and friendly. Rooms are clean and nice for Dominican standard. Our room number 5214.

THE RESORT have a nice green garden with amazing flowers and huge coco palms. Especial I wonder the tree Frangipania. In resort you can find red and white color flower.

SWIMMING POOL is nice, always clean and the water quality is good. There is always enough place to swimm in it.

Our 4 and half year son love to swim in svimming pool with the other kids. He was in mini klub in resort and we have no problem about care, because Melanie take care for the children. Melanie exactly know how to do with children. She"s like mammy....

But we have also a lot of fun. The ANIMATOR TEAMS were fantastic. I give them 10 points, because they love to work and doing the right things.BRAVO... Show time at 21:30 you can not be missed...

FOOD is fantastic. Especely the soup for dinner and eggs for breakfast. A lot of fresh fruits...
People who works in the restaurant is verry friendly and always helpfull. NICE... 10 points too.
We also make reservation in EL CANO restaurant - sea food restaurant. The dinner was great and romantic... people friendly...

We will wisitting VIK Hotel Arena Blanca also next time when we travel to D.R. We like sun, white sands beaches and pure clean wather.

We take 2 TOURS.
First we go to discover the land and how do the real people live. Good expirience... name of the tour Indiana Jones tour. The second trip we take to see Catalina island. This is a small island on caribbean side where we have enjoy a rich bath with eating a fresh lobster... The boath trip value the money!!!!

I hope this information help other people, who want wisittig VIK Hotel Arena Blanca. Fun 100% garanty and DON"T FORGET " Dominican has it all"....


Therefore you should do reservation... soo we see you next time in Dominican Republic.
Robi, Natalija,Maj.

Room Tip: Rooms in a four block have a nice view to Atlantic ocean and swimming pool...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roberto0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear client,

We want to express you that we are very grateful for all your positives comments about our resort! Also we really appreciate the time that you took for writing this review.

Always, we love to do our best to satisfying all our guests’ needs making their unforgettable stay in our hotel, for that reason we are happy to know all our clients opinion.

We want you know that we will be more than glad to welcome you again in our Vik hotel Arena Blanca!

Best wishes,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at VIK Arena Blanca from 1 April to 6 April 2012. We took to heart the advice we read and are glad we did. When you get there, be sure to demand, politely, that you get a room that is not musty, and get a room in building 3 or 4. Don't take no for an answer, tell them you have time to wait until they get you a good room. They will get you one, but it may take 30 minutes. Have a drink and wait in the lobby. We wanted a king bed, but lived with pushing two double beds together, because the room was very clean and fresh smelling.

We love to snorkel, and would not return to Punta Cana because the snorkeling was second rate. They take everyone to the same couple of spots, and some have caged, non-native sharks and rays with stingers cut off. We want a natural experience, not nets with imported species. The "natural area" with no nets, had 200 snorkelers in an area the size of a basketball court, and the horrible behavior - walking on reefs and such - was enough to make you want to scream. The snorkeling just off VIK was OK, and we saw some interesting fish. But they insist you stay withing th ebuoys, which are too close to shore, as the bots zip up and down just beyond the buoys.

VIK Cayena Beach Club next door is very nice, but is a time share. They will try to get you to listen to the pitch. Don't. We did, because I wanted to see the rooms, as we almost booked there. Wish we had, as every room is a suite and has an ocean view. But the staff are relentless in trying to get you sign up for a time share, and my wife wondered if we would have been more harassed if we stayed there. I'd say just say NO when approached by anyone with a Cayena shirt. The main Cayena guy Fernando is rude and really pushy. Stay away from him. So, skip the free BBQ at Cayena, or go and skip the tour the next day.

I read that vendors on the grounds were a problem for some people. They were fine, except that once I saw a vendor cat calling, not to bad, but bad enough, to a group of young ladies.

The food was so-so. The egg maker in the moring is a great guy. Actually the staff overall were pretty good. But most food was not great. Definitely take all your meals in Restaurants, not the buffet. Stick with meat, as the pasta is bland. Salads were good everywhere. Stick with the padded chairs in the middle section, as the wood chairs are too uncomfortable.

The snack bar is OK, but not great. Don't think of it as pizza, but as cheese bread and you may enjoy it. The hamburgers are best right off the grill, and if you ask, they will give you one that way.

The drinks were about the worst we have had at an all-inclusive. The beer, Presidente, was good, and the Mama Juana was excellent. But they put zero effort into having good mixed drinks. Often the premixed slurry was watery, not half-frozen as it should be. They were stingy with the rum, so you need to add a shot on the side to mix in to be able to taste the rum.

I saw the crime problems mentioned in some reviews, but all seemed safe to us. Be sure to get a room safe, $2 a day and worth it.

I saw complaints about the towel station in other reviews, but it was always staffed during the posted hours and by a very friendly guy.

We only really tipped when we sat in or near the lobby, as we had table service. I'd give the lady $5 when we sat down and then she doted on us for the next two hours. Bring small bills or ask for change at the bar if you want to tip, which is very optional. If the bartender broke a $10 or $20 for me, I'd give him $1 and he seemed very happy.

The beach shops nearby (past Ocean Blue, where many Americans stay) were worth a stroll. Bargain hard, and expect them to act like they are upset you paid so little. That's just the game. We started at $35 and bought for $7. If you don'tt like tension, at least say it is too much once, and you'll save 1/3 to 1/2 and they will be happy.

If you expect ocean view, you need to be on a high floor.

Best of this place: Beach is great, water is nice, pools are clean and large, walks along beach can go on for miles, friendly staff, immaculate grounds, lots of activities and nightly entertainment.

Worst of this place: SMOKERS! Everywhere. Yuck! (But they can be avoided if you don't ming moving as we did when we smelled the smoke). Cheap mixed drinks. If you want shade on the beach, claim your spot by 6 am, no water sport rentals until 10 am, food is generally substandard, but edible and you'll find something OK with effort, harrassment by Cayena Beach time share employees, Almost no guests speak English (most are from Quebec or Germany), no good natural snorkeling trips unless you want to spend 3 hours getting there.

Advice: OK, if you want to save money and don't expect to make new friends (unless you speak German or French). We went with Apple Vacations, and it seemed to us all the other Apple people were at Ocean Blue next door. They raved about the food there.

Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Demand a room that is not musty.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VBFROMBUFFALO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here May 24th for a week. We had 6 adults and 3 kids 8, 9, 12. Fun was had by all! Go to this resort with an open mind it's is a 3.5 * resort.

Drinks were fine, beer was great. Mamma Juanna is awesome!

Food: We never had a bad meal. You're not going here for the food though the Omelettes are good and the stir fry is out of this world at the buffet.

Entertainment staff is great. They work hard to keep everyone happy.

Do yourself a favor and skip the AM buggies. It was horrible! Do the catamaran ride to isla sonna. A really good time.

Don't be cheap! Tip people. 1$ us is worth 39$ Dominican. Tips get you good service and besides these people work very hard for you.

Watch out for rude, messy, ignorant and pompous French speaking people. I have never meet people like this. They give people from Canada a bad name.

This resort is priced right and I would go back here again. Thank you for taking care of my family and friends. We created some great memories here.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boston-Rebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews