We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VIK Hotel Arena Blanca
Nearby Hotels
US$335
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$355
US$249
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$252
US$128
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Memories Splash Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$523
US$383
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$328
US$218
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
NH Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$908
US$809
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,562)
Filter reviews
3,562 results
Traveller rating
719
1,525
780
319
219
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
719
1,525
780
319
219
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscayena beachhot dogssmall resortseafoodother resortsocean viewa la carte restaurantsfrench friesgreat beachpasta stationanimation teamfamily suitebeach barstayed in buildinghamburgernightly entertainmentwhite sand
Filter
Updating list...
933 - 938 of 3,562 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We were there from April 18th to the 26 this year and the place was wonderful.
Our room needed some updates (which they started to do) but who cares, we were only in our rooms to sleep. They beds were hard but I slept like a baby and enjoyed my stay.

The food was awesome! Lots to eat and variety. Staff was great! And the best of all Banana Mama drinks were going down really good.

the 2$ per day charge for the safety box was nothing compared to most resorts, and the internet...who cares about facebook when your on vacation right?

here's my story.... bfast+beach+lunch+beach+dinner+ entertainment....every day, now I feel refreshed and I would go back! Oh and the all inclusive IS ALL INCLUSIVE... the 2 bottles of water were big bottles and they were replacing them each day, plus it was free anyways if you needed more all you needed to do is call and in 2min they were at your door with a smile.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Manny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear client,

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays in our resort and we will be happier to give you a warm welcome for one more time in our Vik hotel Arena Blanca!
Thank you so much for all your good comments about our food, also about our staff. We want you know that we really appreciate your positive opinion about our resort!

Best wishes,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My boyfriend and I check every detail before picking a destination and resort. We read the reviews for this hotel and we were kind of nervous after booking. All I can say about those reviews is, those people are clearly expecting a 5 star Sandals experience! If your not looking for every scuff and flaw your going to have an EXCELLENT time! I have no complaints at all, the service was amazing, the hotel was beautiful, food was pretty good, beach was spectacular, the grounds were immaculate, and the rooms were cozy!
When we booked we payed extra for ocean view, we got ocean view but two double beds (which we requested a king). We called and informed us of this mix up and they did everything they could to fix it. A room with Ocean view and a king wasn't available till the following day, so my boyfriend and I sucked it up for one night. The next day they moved us to building 5 (closest to the beach) and our view was the best i have ever experienced in the years i have traveled, our room faced the ocean and thats all we saw looking out our sliding door.
The people working at this hotel went above and beyond to give you the best experience. We left with no complaints at all about this resort! When we visit Punta Cana again we will be returning to this hotel. Again, if your not looking for something wrong with something and someone and arnt expecting a 5 star sandals experience you will have a Fabulous time!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Brittney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear client,

Thank you very much for having preferred our Vik hotel Arena Blanca for the enjoyment of your holidays and also for taking a moment of your precious time to write this review about our resort.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacations in our hotel and we will be more than happy to welcome you again here in your Vik hotel Arena Blanca, we are grateful for your positives comments about our beach, food and our facilities. We are always happy to work with our guests.
We really appreciate that you are thinking to come back to our resort. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Warm regards from Punta Cana,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
Tel: (809) 221-6640/331-6640
Fax: (809) 221-464

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

It was a decent hotel, not the worst , but I have stood in better.
The "all inclusive" only give you 2 bottles of water in the fridge, lol( what a joke). When we arrived my girl and I were given a room with 2 twin beds attached, WTH!?!
We told them to please swtich it and they did with no hassle to a Queen size bedrm.
Just be aware that for safety box you must pay 2 dollars a day and internet is 4 bucks for half hour, yikes!!
But like someone put it , "you get what you pay for" I wouldnt go back there if I had my choice next time, since there are plenty of resorts in Punta Cana to choose from, but Its an OK place if you just wanna get away.
The beach, well....Its Punta Cana Bavaro beach, so thats just grade A-Mazing!!
Be ware of the ppl who stand around breakfast eating area offering to show you their "VIP", its a type of time share thing...

Room Tip: Don't know....I guess building #2 and 3 on ground floor is good since they are centrally located to evrything...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Agezito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear guest,

We really appreciate that you took a moment of your precious time to share with us your vacation experience in our Vik hotel Arena Blanca.

We are always happy to know the opinion of all our clients because it is the way for us to develop and grow, and this way we can implement actions that leads to improvements our services and therefore satisfying you for the next opportunity. Thank you for your comments.

Warm regards,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
E-Mail: f.amancio@vikhotelarenablanca.net
Tel: (809) 221-6640/331-6640
Fax: (809) 221-4649
www.vikhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

If like me, you find yourself spending too many hours poring over reviews of this resort in trepidation that you have made some terrible mistake then STOP WORRYING! You can and should have a wonderful vacation at the VIK Arena.

Now comes the warning.

If you are an extremely fussy and picky person that demands instant personal attention every time you click your pampered fingers, expect all inclusive resorts to have master chef quality food, insists on 5 star facilities and Marriott Resort standard rooms and bedding quality then GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!

For those of you with more reasonable expectations and presumably those that understand the basic proinciple of 'you get what you pay for' this is a great vacation resort.

Let's deal with some of the common complaints from a number of reviewers;

The rooms are very basic - TRUE. But this really isn't an issue everyone. Don't feel like your vacation will be a disaster if you don't get one of the refurbished rooms. We had an older style room in block 2 and it was fine.

The room reservation system is poor - TRUE. This was the one bad experience for us. On arrival our booked family suite (we are a family of 5 with 3 growing boys aged 9, 12 and 15) turned out to be a standard room. We spent the first night crammed into 4 single beds pushed together. It all got sorted the following morning and they pretty much admitted that the reservation system needs fixing.

The drinks are weak or watered down - TRUE. I suspect that there is a management policy to be light on the alcohol but it's not that difficult to deal with. My wife had rum and coke most of the time and an extra side shot of rum did the trick. And yes, the blended coctails are of the pre-mixed variety. The one let down for me though was the wine. The white is barely acceptable but the red is of the 'hold your nose' and poor down the sink variety. Where do they get that stuff from? If high end brand, high quality coctails are an important part of your all inclusive experience then you should probably think of going somewhere else. The beer is also of the lighter variety but was fine.

The service at the a la carte restaurants is very slow - FALSE. The service was great and if anything a little too quick. And the food is pretty good.

The international a la carte restauarant is very poor - FALSE. Ate there twice and it was fine. The calamari are really good!

The resort is full of smokers - FALSE. Well sort of. Given the high number of guests from Europe, there are more smokers than you see in the US but it wasn't a spoiler - just move a couple of yards away if you have to and there is no smoking in the eating areas of course.

You will get constantly hassled by traders - FALSE. I really don't understand this complaint from a number of reviewers. On the occasions that you get approached which isn't constant, a firm 'non gracias' does the trick. They know when you are not interested but they will be persistent if you show any interest in what they are selling.....of course! This really was a non issue for me.

The beach beds get reserved early - TRUE. If you want anything with shade, be prepared to get up really early. If you are a sun lover you wont have a problem at all - there were always unshaded beds available.

Things I loved about this resort.

The beach. The one thing that has consistent reviews is the beach. Too die for! Absolutely stunning!

Resort Size. You can walk anywhere in 5 minutes or less and the grounds are very well kept. I also like the fact that the number of guests are very proportinate to the size of the resort. We stayed over Easter so it was pretty busy but we rarely had to wait for anything and there were always plenty of tables in the buffet areas.

The diversity of guests. It's nice to feel that you are somewhere other the the US when you travel overseas. If you want to be amongst Americans on your vacation got to Florida! There was a great mix of naionalities - my boys made friends with other kids from a leage of nations including Germany and Argentina. I also liked the fact that there was a real mix of guest types.- younger couples without kids, families with kids, the odd group of single friends and older couples too. Made for a nice atmosphere.

The burger bar - a great place for the lunchtime snack or meal.

The coffee machine in the lobby- good quality coffee with a variety of choices. But why does it only open at 7.30 AM. What's that about?

Not having to make reservations at the A la carte restaurants.

So, all in all, we hjad a great time. Would we have booked at the VIK Arena knowing what we know now? Absolutely!

I've stayed at some very top end resorts where the location was nowhere near as nice as this. Yes you get better facilities but this place is all about the location, location , location.

Go with an open mind and you will have a memorable time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Statsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear client,

Firstly, we want to thank you for having preferred our Vik hotel Arena Blanca for the enjoyment of your holidays and also for sharing with us your vacation experience in our hotel.

We really appreciate all your positives comments about our resort and our facilities, we are always glad to know the opinion of all our guests because by this way we develop and grow.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be glad to welcome you again, here in your Vik hotel Arena Blanca!

Best regards from Punta Cana,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
Tel: (809) 221-6640/331-6640
Fax: (809) 221-464

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

A friend and I stayed at the VIK the week of February 13th. We read the reviews and went with an open mind. Considering the cheap price we paid, we were not disappointed. We had a very relaxing week and the beach was clean and beautiful.

I agree with others, this resort is a 3 Star, not a 4 Star so people shouldn't expect a huge resort with 4/5 Star amendities. Our hotel room was basic but was clean every day. We didn't care as we weren't staying in the room much but I know there were some families we spoke with that were disappointed by the basic rooms. Again, it's not a 4 or 5 star resort.

The food was good, nothing fancy. There was a lot of variety to choose from and I think after a week, you'd likely be pretty bored of the food. The servers did the best they could to be accomodating considering the number of tables they have to serve. Obviously, if you tip, you will likely get better service. We were greeted every night by the hostess and they were very friendly! We ate at the Italian restaurant a few times and enjoyed it.

The evening entertainment for the kids looked great and the shows for adults were okay, granted we only saw a few shows. The disco at the resort was empty, perhaps during spring breaks, etc it may have been more lively.

The resort is small, simple and clean. The people that worked there were friendly and we didn't have large issues with the language barrier. Overall, considering the cheap price, we got exactly what we had expected and had a great vacation!

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 2 but apparently Building 4 and 5 are more modern and closer to the beach. The resort is smaller so the walk from building 2 was max. 10 minutes.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TorontoTravelchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with us.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacations in our Vik hotel Arena Blanca. Thank you for the positive comment about our beach, thank as well for recognizing the work of our staff, we are always striving for excellence and best service.

We always take the comments seriously and implement new things that help us to improve the quality of service. Once again, thanks for your comments.

Warm regards from Punta Cana,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
Tel: (809) 221-6640/331-6640
Fax: (809) 221-464

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews