We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalonia Royal Bavaro(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$346
US$230
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$266
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$282
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$495
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$384
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Portblue Le Sivory Punta Cana(Uvero Alto)(Great Value!)
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,328)
Filter reviews
7,329 results
Traveller rating
4,956
1,338
528
297
210
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,956
1,338
528
297
210
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suitesports bara la carte restaurantsel bohiobavaro sectiontravel clubpublic relationsdominican republicjapanese restaurantadult poolbeautiful beachmake reservationsair transatjacuzzi tubgreat vacationocean viewsteak
Filter
Updating list...
2,138 - 2,143 of 7,329 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This was our first vacation in DR. The hotel looks amazing in brochures. However, it is all on the surface. The grounds are very nice indeed and the main areas are clean, but the rooms are very dated!!!
This resort consists of 3 hotels and we have stayed in the section that has casino, which is supposed to be the most upgraded.
Initially, we got the room on the first floor. It smelled awful, very moldy! We had requested a room on the 2nd floor and it was much better.

The showers are very old and literally falling apart. You could not even put a towel on the hook as it kept falling out of the wall.

Bed - very uncomfortable. Saw evidence of bed bugs on the extra pillows and covers in the closet. Did NOT use them.

Food - hit or miss. Asian restaurant - quite good. Brazilian - just ok.

The hotel allows multiple sales people trying to sell you all kinds of excursions everywhere - beach, lobby, etc. Everyone keeps saying that they have the lowest prices and sales people are very persistent and not very honest.

AVOID casino and DO NOT eat at the 24/7 sports bar.

Overall, I would return to Punta Cana as it was a nice beach, but would not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: AVOID rooms of the first floor.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Danilex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This was the first tropical vacation I couldn’t wait to get home (been to Hawaii twice, Bahamas once, and a 10 cruise to Puerto rico, Bermuda, st Thomas, and grand turk). There was 8 of us that went and everyone was ready to go. When we originally booked it, I thought 6 days wasn’t long enough. Don’t get me wrong, place is decent. They always have people all around cleaning up and landscaping and everything trying to keep it in the best shape possible but

Food was average at best. No one really found a meal they enjoyed enough to eat again except for the poolside burgers at the one pool. And we all ended up sick at some point and no 2 people were eating or drinking the same diet. The staff was ok. There’s people walking around trying to sell you things all day long even though you paid for all inclusive. When we went to breezes Bahamas we didn’t have this issue.

The rooms in the palace were very nice. Except for one thing. You need a key card to operate the lights and power (including tv, fridge, AND AC!). So with 3 people staying in a room with only 2 keys, one guys gets screwed a lot. It happened to us twice when someone was showering that the key in the slot was taken and the lights went out. And they won’t give out more than two key cards per room even though the room we had sleeps 6.

Im glad I tried punta cana. I’ve heard of better places down there but this island isn’t for me. I’ll be going to back Hawaii in the future for more money instead of coming back to grand palladium. And the Bahamas without a doubt, we’re already in the process of booking this year’s trip.

Room Tip: pay a little more money and stay at one of the better places in punta cana
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank wgourley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thank you very much for this review. We allways respect all opinions posted and this will help us to be better.
In regards to the food, it will be very helpful for us to receive more information about this. Despite we offer a lot of international types of food and a huge variety of restaurants a la carte, it could be something that can scape from our hands.
I kindly ask you to contac us, and help us in this way at acliente.bavaro@fiestahotelgroup.com
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Just got back a few days ago. We Spent Christmas and New Years here and it was a lot of fun. I will start we the negatives as they are few and pretty minor. Take your own pillow! We found the pillow to be terrible, like sleeping on a bag of flour! They just weren't our type so we did pay the 3.00 a night for a better pillow which really was only marginally better. We only had one problem with a staff member and he was with the Palladium Travel club, he kept trying to get us to take a tour to get free spa services and would just not take No for an answer, he got really annoying we just started using a different enter ace to the lobby to avoid him. Thats about it for negatives. We didn't find the people selling tours on the beach to be to pushy we just said no and they went on there way. The beach was beautiful and we found the pool areas to be pretty well kept, drink service was great.
The kids club was amazing. It open up Dec 8th and it is state of the art, movie theatre, dance floor, crafts, zip line, climbing wall it was amazing!! There is also a kids play pool only a few minutes walk from the Palace pool. The grounds crew where always cleaning the walkways so they were clean and not slippery, they did a great job of keeping things looking great.
The room was what we expected, pretty standard everything worked and was clean.
Food was perfectly fine, again it was pretty standard buffet food but we always found something we liked. We had a great waiter named Manuel and he was awesome, he treated our 6 year old like princess and took very good care of us, he deserves a raise!!
Overall we really enjoyed ourselves, we would recommend this resort to families with kids of all ages.

Side note: Do the Macao Surf Camp it was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My first feeling was a little bit negative despite this fabulous destination in the middle of the european winter because this hotel is actually nested in a very huge resort beside two other hotels. All this complex belongs to the Palladium group (ex Fiesta group)
After a first good night, you can discover and enjoy the surroundings of your bungalow among the beautiful gardens, it's really peaceful and full of color, as well full of little birds.
The first days, try to remember your way to your room and don't forget your map!!
You can of course enjoy a lot of restaurants with differents themes, a lot of swimming pools and of course an amazing" green blue" ocean with beaches like nowhere else!
This "all inclusive" way of life allows you to have your diner in a different restaurant each day!
The cathedral for buffet ( main restaurant beside the lobby) japanese, mexican, bresilian, spanish, bamboo, gourmet,...and a snack open 24/24!
My favorite was the japanese restaurant but should you want to enjoy the show cooking will ask you to make a reservation (only for the same day)
The other restaurants are very good as well and give you an other way to enjoy your diner.
For your lunch, enjoy two or three restaurants beside the beach, my favorite was the bohio, open air space between the beach and a swimming pool.
If you want to visit the Dominican republic, you can try many excursions but don't forget the situation of Bavaro (north east of the island)
A trip to Higuey takes about one hour....to go and the quality of the roads is not the same as in Europe but it's quite a good surprise with lot of people, impressive cathedral, market of fruits, vegetables, meat!!! Motorcircles repairs, traffic, ....
During our tour, a nice stop in school, coffee and cacao plantation as well cheese preparation (mozzarella type)
A tip for the divers, the club of the hotel, Dolin divers is not the best that I choose but they are friendly despite a bad organisation, you tell questions but the answers...
We booked a journey to Catalina island (the best place to dive in DR) to dive on two well known sites, the wall and the aquarium. The first one is amazing with a wall going down up to 300 feet and the second one, the aquarium, full of color, fishes and coral.
This one day journey costs about 190 us dollars and is all inclusive with transport, 2 dives with equipment and instructor, lunch on the beach and drinks. The only negative aspect is the duration of the transport, 2 hours to go and 2 hours to come back.
Finally, after a week, my feeling became positive as well for the resort even my choice goes first to little hotels.
To make a long story short, a nice resort with all the facilities, nice bungalow with spacious rooms, beautiful gardens and very friendly people trying to help you in any circonstance, free wifi in the lobby only for people who are internet addict...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank oliveerpent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We traveled the week of November 23,2011 and this has been our 3rd visit to the Fiesta/Palladium chain of resorts and fifth time to Punta Cana. As always the overall experience is above average. From the food, the rooms and the staff. We traveled with a group of 22, 8 of which being children under 5 ugh...lol....

Just a few notes and observations about the resort that seem to be most important to me when i use the forum......when planning future trips

The check in was great as a few familys with children were upgraded to loft suites free of charge. The line up was 22 people long but that was our whole party which only took about 20 mins or so.... canadian time not dominican..... :)

We all stayed at the Palace and the rooms were average when compared to other resorts in Dominican. "The rooms smell musty? All rooms smell musty in the tropics lol"
They were clean, comfy, each had a jacuzzi and mini bar! and the views ...oh.. 85% were Ocean and or Pool beautiful! But then again whos in their room?

Pools had WATER...lol they were great too especially the ones with the pool bars. The palace pool was a bit dated from what I remember a few years ago with a few missing tiles and such but really after noticing I didn't care as im in the Dominican and on vacation and if you have to worry about a missing tile or two youve got other issues.

Restaurants:
The buffets were better than I remember taste and variety wise... and as almost every negitive review out there for any resort about the food being the same well yes it is repetitive they all are!.... that being said if you want meat tonight eat chicken tomorrow and fish the following day don't eat everthing stupid you will get sick of it.
The Al Lacartes were excellent.... japanese show cooking being the best for us, the brizillian was great but the meat could have be leaner...the staff here seem to go far beyond the call of duty to serve you and make you smile...
The sports bar is 24 hours and awesome better popcorn chicken than KFC and you can order food which is prepared as you watch the game or play a game of pool.....\

Shows were great even though they dragged me up on stage a few nights...lol My wife didnt try to stop them lol www.youtube....lol soon enough you should see my Michael Jackson.

Bars are plentyful 3 mins in any direction and this is a huge resort. I love large resorts when they have the facilities and the staff to accomidate everyone and the Grand palladium complex does juat that.

Kids club and mini disco was great for the children even though they just went to try it out for an hour there young but wanted the playground...then the beach ...then the pool ugh can mom and dad rest?

Beach is awesome and beautiful postcard perfect !

Can't really complain about anything..Punta cana is great and the Palladium Complex was a great choice for both couples and families alike and everyone in our party would agree....

hope this helps

Room Tip: Secret*** Seemed the couples traveling with 2 children received a free loft suite upgrade excelent value for free
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whitehouze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews